Columbus State Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 70 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work
Staff (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 31, 2017
Expectations of job output far exceed what they are willing to pay you. Definite good old boys club mentality among management. Benefits are decent, it is a state job. Consensus among a lot of employees is that we aren't working here because we like it. Most employees are in a "zombie" state because morale is at a major low. 9 years ago when I started I would have recommended people to come work here. Now I tell them don't consider it.
Pros
Healthcare, free college, paid leave
Cons
Management, pay, morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school & workplace
Aide in Criminal Justice/Safety department (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 15, 2017
Best community college in the state. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. I have always felt comfortable with whatever direction the advisor pointed me towards.
Pros
Excellent staff
Cons
Large classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 4, 2016
I enjoyed working with my coworkers and learning about the students. A typical day of work was spending one or two hours with assisting students with learning math.
Pros
helping people learn math
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with easy to get along with staff
Peer Advocate (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 28, 2016
My day will consist of educating myself on resources around the Columbus, Ohio area as well as meeting with students (clients) who are in need of assistance in anything ranging from wanting to know where to park on the campus to needing emergency shelter for the night.
Pros
Flexible schedule, Amazing supervisors
Cons
One meeting a month that is 4 hours long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct wages and irregular workload
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 13, 2016
Classes dependent on student attendance levels, which have been going down lately. It is a good contact hour wage however, the best in the state I believe.
Pros
Good relationships with departments and coordinators
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serene Work Environment
Student Liaison (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 19, 2016
I had a really good work experience here. My supervisor and manager were very helpful and supportive they made sure I knew how to do my job effectively and made sure we had a good line of communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 7, 2016
Great work environment, culturally diverse, work hours 8 am-3 pm, hardest part of the job is during the rush period the weeks before the start of fall semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great educational institution with faculty and staff that care, and at a great tuition price
Biological Sciences and Chemistry Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 4, 2016
great place to work over all
with great people and a hard work ethics atmosphere
but limited room for advancement
or training for new jobs and/or careers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun,
Student Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 10, 2016
Love working here! Easy going office environment where everybody does their job the best they know how. The team work here is amazing. Everyone communicates with one another and they love to bring snacks!
Pros
good co-workers, benefits and work environment
Cons
Angry Parents and Students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great app
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 2, 2016
very helpful, easy to find job. it shows all the options and the different cites for the job. also it is easy to search and look for the job that you want.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Columbus State Community College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Career and Tech Academic Advisor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 1, 2016
Typically I see students and update information for our social media websites within my department. All and all it is not a bad place to work I am seeking a new challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get place to work
Kennel Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 13, 2016
cscc has a great community of people to work with. They care very deeply about their students and co workers. The people are also very involved with Columbus community in many differ ways. it is encourage to work among so many people that care so mush about each other and the community around them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ customer service
Cashier/Student Accounting (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 13, 2016
great place to work for beginners I moved up and had a lot of fun learning behind the scenes of grocery retail. I would love to work there again .
Pros
good pay
Cons
lack of staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People
Instructional Designer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 6, 2016
People are great; good sense of community. Pay and benefits relatively equal to fair market value. I'm a very new employee, but so far, everything seems to be running smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping kids reach their educational goals
Afterschool Tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 17, 2016
A typical day at work consist of helping students with their homework and project. Teaching lessons to the kids. Providing activities for students when they are done with their school work. I learned that it takes a lot of patience to handle a bunch of middle school student. management was great in helping stay focused and providing me with resources needed in order for me to be successful at my job. My co-workers were really helpful and we worked together.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
most of the kids were always in a bad mood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere and great company to work for
Club Attendant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 29, 2016
LFF as it is known is a very great family oriented business hence the name Lifestyle "Family" Fitness. There are opportunities for raises ever 90 days and plenty of chances for advancement within the company as a whole.
Pros
Family oriented
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Communication Lab Learning Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 4, 2016
SRG is full of talented people that are fun to work with. I really enjoyed my time there as a Research Assistant. I learned a lot, and it was valuable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a Work/study
receptionist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 3, 2016
Great place to work as a work study. Hours were flexible and worked around my school hours as well as study time when there was nothing for me to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  columbus, ohioOctober 21, 2015
I have worked there for 18 years and have received support from so many great people who really care about students. It is a very fulfilling place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Testing Assistant (Current Employee) –  DelawareOctober 21, 2015
one of the best environments to be in.
great colleagues, environment, there is a lot of motivation
advancement, increased customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbus State Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 70 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

Columbus State Community College Reviews by Location