Columbus Urban League Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CUL is not a good workplace
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 15, 2016
Terrible place to work, extremely toxic environment. Management uses fear to guide the organization. Highest turnover rate I've ever seen.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before considering to work at CUL.....
Program Administrator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 2, 2016
You will learn a lot about the economic challenges the African American community is facing, but will find that grant funded programs are more about meeting grant requirements than accomplishing real change. The turnover is ridiculously high whether voluntary or involuntary - which speaks volumes about the company culture!!!!! The average tenure of any level employee over the past 2-3 years has been 12 months! The company culture is one that does not invest in the employees. There are absolutely NO opportunities for advancement. The only pro is the seasonal time off and the health benefits. Really do some good research, soul searching, and prayer before considering this company.
Pros
The only pro is the seasonal time off and the health benefits.
Cons
Company culture does not invest in the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing environment
Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 6, 2015
Extremely high turnover. Leadership likes to micromanage from their desks but is hands off and detached. Strong culture and camaraderie in certain departments.
Pros
team building and common cause
Cons
unstable schedule, constantly changing leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I worked with made it enjoyable. Great management
Server (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 14, 2015
would arrive at job site around 7 and from there we would begin to clean and set tables up for the first wave of children. We would then prepare breakfast for them, and later, lunch would be served. in between we would do anything that was asked of us whether it being to do extra cleaning, plan events for the children, watch them, etc.
Pros
awesome management
Cons
people were lazy and rude, pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued asset to the community
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 15, 2015
It was a great experience assisting young people to achieve educational and training goals. As long as the programs have continued funding many good things will happen.
Pros
worklife balance.and gratifying work.
Cons
because its a non- profit organization salaries are lower than market range.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveled to approximately nine child care sites weekly, to monitor the child and the facility.
Health Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 25, 2014
I visited a designated child care agency to inspect the center and make sure the agency was up to code and child's medical needs were met. The hardest part of the job was the unpredictable weather at times but I so enjoyed the staff and the children.
Pros
minimal supervision
Cons
travel and inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Columbus Urban League
Payroll and Data Administrator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 8, 2014
A good place to work at. Due to the nature of the company being a non-profit, positions tend to end when funding ends.
Pros
friendly people with mutual respect.
Cons
instability in positions due to funding because organization is a non-profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced
Sr. Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 25, 2014
hectic
I learned to be very flexible
co-workers are great
hardest part of the job is constant dependence on grant dollars
Pros
colleages
Cons
funding does not allow for innovation, and creativity. it also does not always fully fund the programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 22, 2014
Went to work enjoyed the job
I learned how to type faster
Management was very nice and helpful
Not begin able to help the People that came in
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, productive, and professional work and learning environment
Preschool Administrator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 27, 2013
Columbus urban league head start academy provides children with an all inclusive academic foundation and a desire to become life long learners.
The columbus urban league provides children, parents, and members of our community to obtain the support, tools, resources, and empowerment needed to become self-sufficient member of our society.
Our parents/guardians and families receive the support, guidance, and education needed to overcome and defeat the generational cylce of poverty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Health Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 20, 2013
This is a great place to work. The staff is very friendly and everyone is dedicated to the mission of the organization.
Pros
community oriented
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer has the warm environment feel, that it once had.
Center Manager/Education Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 8, 2013
Just a job. 75% of the staff has changed in the last several years.
Pros
has good benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging assignment.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 27, 2012
The nature of the work and clientele sometimes bordered on the dangerous side.
Pros
good relationships.
Cons
on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the Urban League. Their mission/passion is people.
Employment/ Economic Development (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GeorgiaDecember 22, 2011
My time with the Urban League was great. I was allowed to grow as a professional and individual. The opportunity to touch the lives of the people we served was one of the best experiences I have had.
Pros
life experience is the best experience
Cons
the funding was always in jeorpady
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture