Columbus Urban League Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Focused
Housing Intake Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 24, 2018
Provides alot of services to the community for men, minorities, felons, housing services homeowner services and social work if needed go here a great community place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
N/A (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 23, 2018
Not a good place to work, if you value yourself. The CEO is impossible to please. Also, middle management is always changing, so it is hard to make forward progress. If I could give 0 stars, I would.
Cons
Under compensated and overworked, hard to work with management, lack of commuication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great platform for advancement
Junior Accountant & Finance Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 15, 2018
It's a great place if you want to jumpstart your career. Very nice people and culture. Your job can become very stagnate and less opportunity to move up in the organization.
Pros
Creditable work experience
Cons
Hard to move up in position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We help people move in and out their homes made sure the truck was nice in neat
Mover (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 6, 2017
I really liked the job i wish it would've went on longer they make sure you get all your hour's and they make sure you on top of your money and it was a good job experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Performance is Key!
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 18, 2017
The Columbus Urban League is a productive and fast paced environment. There is a level of expectation that if you are not strong and determined to achieve you will not survive. But if you hone in on your skills and talents you will grow beyond measure. I loved being challenged and I look forward to taking everything thing I learned and continuing to build upon those talents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Motivated
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 20, 2017
This company requires dedication, hard work and team work.

Each department is different. You may have to work late, but overall people about members of the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 16, 2017
A quiet call center is In a quiet, controlled environment where you have a cubicle, it's a lot of working at your own pace and working with the public.
Pros
long lunch
Cons
noisy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive work envionment
Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 20, 2017
They gave me a chance at mentoring an giving back to a city I help destroy.Gave me a opportunity to guide and show troubled youth better choices,showing them the many options they have that aren't realized.
Pros
Turning youth around for the better
Cons
Life threatning situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at the columbus urban league
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 9, 2017
My time the columbus urban league was great and I would recommend it anyone. It is a great place that helps people that is need of help. I worked there for 5 years and enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Great benefits, Great pay
Cons
Head start grant ends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever worked
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 21, 2017
I advise anyone considering employment at CUL to review these comments and stay away!! TOXIC!! Not a healthy work environment at all! High Turnover!!
Pros
Salary
Cons
Toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family place
HIV Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 16, 2017
This company cares about their staff and community. They are dedicated to the improvement of the disadvantage. Family and very supportive atmosphere.
Pros
Flexiable schedule
Cons
Funding can be scares
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowering the community
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 20, 2017
I had a lot of temp jobs but most I was a receptionist answering phone calls filing papers organizing and assisting with anything my boss needed help with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CUL is not a good workplace
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 15, 2016
Terrible place to work, extremely toxic environment. Management uses fear to guide the organization. Highest turnover rate I've ever seen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before considering to work at CUL.....
Program Administrator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 2, 2016
You will learn a lot about the economic challenges the African American community is facing, but will find that grant funded programs are more about meeting grant requirements than accomplishing real change. The turnover is ridiculously high whether voluntary or involuntary - which speaks volumes about the company culture!!!!! The average tenure of any level employee over the past 2-3 years has been 12 months! The company culture is one that does not invest in the employees. There are absolutely NO opportunities for advancement. The only pro is the seasonal time off and the health benefits. Really do some good research, soul searching, and prayer before considering this company.
Pros
The only pro is the seasonal time off and the health benefits.
Cons
Company culture does not invest in the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing environment
Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 6, 2015
Extremely high turnover. Leadership likes to micromanage from their desks but is hands off and detached. Strong culture and camaraderie in certain departments.
Pros
team building and common cause
Cons
unstable schedule, constantly changing leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place Fulfilling work
PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Columbus OhioSeptember 2, 2015
If you enjoy giving back and working with at risk youth to help see them grow as individuals this is the job for you. Laid back environment with fun friendly people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I worked with made it enjoyable. Great management
Server (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 14, 2015
would arrive at job site around 7 and from there we would begin to clean and set tables up for the first wave of children. We would then prepare breakfast for them, and later, lunch would be served. in between we would do anything that was asked of us whether it being to do extra cleaning, plan events for the children, watch them, etc.
Pros
awesome management
Cons
people were lazy and rude, pay was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued asset to the community
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 15, 2015
It was a great experience assisting young people to achieve educational and training goals. As long as the programs have continued funding many good things will happen.
Pros
Worklife balance.and gratifying work.
Cons
Because its a non- profit organization salaries are lower than market range.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveled to approximately nine child care sites weekly, to monitor the child and the facility.
Health Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 25, 2014
I visited a designated child care agency to inspect the center and make sure the agency was up to code and child's medical needs were met. The hardest part of the job was the unpredictable weather at times but I so enjoyed the staff and the children.
Pros
Minimal supervision
Cons
Travel and inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Columbus Urban League
Payroll and Data Administrator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 8, 2014
A good place to work at. Due to the nature of the company being a non-profit, positions tend to end when funding ends.
Pros
Friendly people with mutual respect.
Cons
Instability in positions due to funding because organization is a non-profit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbus Urban League. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 28 reviews
59
45
38
22
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Columbus Urban League Reviews by Location