Commerce Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 389 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong Commerce Bank
Merchandising Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mt. Laurel, NJMarch 22, 2017
The Commerce Bank I worked at is now TD Bank. This review is under a different Commerce Bank than the one I worked at. I am sure this one is good too but cannot say for sure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Teller (Former Employee) –  Pittsburg, KSMarch 6, 2017
I learned a lot about customer service. We also sold other items like credit cards. The hardest part of my job was dealing with the difficult customers. The easiest part of my job was enjoying the customers that we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Commerce Bank Deposit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 5, 2017
I enjoyed working there. I really enjoyed how they recognized performance. I like the managers because they knew how to do the work. They were hands on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful working with numbers
Cash Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJFebruary 28, 2017
Everyday was very stressful, however I realized this job was not a proper fit for me. I was on a three person team when I began and in about four-six months I was struggling to do a job myself, that I still did not fully grasp
Pros
I enjoyed my team and my supervisor
Cons
I was not good with numbers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commerce
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Manchester, MOFebruary 27, 2017
Working for Commerce Bank was something completely new to me, while I was being hired they had changed the training process. It seemed as everyone was very unsure as to what was going on through the entire process but new they had to complete "something"
therefore the training process was very rushed and covered a very large range of topics in a very short amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Coral Gables, FLFebruary 21, 2017
I worked her as a receptionist part time my senior year of high school. Didn't get to work there long as I was offered a better paying opportunity shortly after but it was a nice and respectful workplace.
Pros
Opportunity for growth
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Personal Banker II (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOFebruary 21, 2017
It is a really great company to work for. Very enjoyable work place and fun management team. Lots of room to grow and develop in the company. Good place to start in banking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Personal Banker II (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 20, 2017
I enjoy my job and the people I work with. Management is awesome and I just wish they more opportunity for growth within the bank.
Pros
Amazing co-workers
Cons
Low opportunity in growth and promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NJFebruary 20, 2017
Commerce Bank values their employees and makes sure you get the hours you want and need to live and be successful. The employees take care of one another.
Pros
All training paid for
Cons
If you are not good with counting money and keeping up this is not the place for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Lead/ Vault Teller (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSFebruary 19, 2017
Just like with any bank there are do's and don'ts. I had to have surgery not long after starting, but they dealt with it like any company would. I went back to work and had a few personal issues with a few co-workers,but other than that i loved the company and would suggest it to others as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Commerce Bank?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time perfect to be with my elementary school aded children.
Online Banking Rep (Former Employee) –  Creve Coeur, MOFebruary 16, 2017
This was a sit at your desk job and I worked from 9am til 2pm so it was perfect for that time in my life when I shuffled the kids to school at 8L30am and picked them up at 3pm.
Pros
hours were convenient
Cons
not a lot of freedom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company to work for
Processed sales (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYFebruary 14, 2017
Great management team support , the co-workers are great also , the environment is family oriented and people are genuinely their to help you. .
Pros
management support and great training
Cons
lifting coin machines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented company
Closing Disclosure Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 23, 2017
I loved that the company was very family oriented. I enjoyed working with my fellow employees. The management staff was very knowledgeable and dependable.
Pros
Free lunches and acknowledgement of employees
Cons
401K match
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and friendly co-workers
Sr mortgage underwriter (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 19, 2017
A typical day is reviewing new loans to see if we will be able to offer a loan. To assist processors with any issues or questions. To assist the junior underwriters with title or appraisal questions. To attend meeting as needed. The most enjoyable part of the job is the challenge to resolve problems to make the loans work. The co-workers are like family and enjoyable to work with.
Pros
The hours
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for advancement
Teller (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 19, 2017
Commerce Bank is a great place to get a start a banking and sales. The are constantly training employees in attempt to make them better sales people. The only issue I had was that people never usually stayed too long so the banks were always understaffed and that put a lot of pressure on the rest of the staff.
Pros
Sales Training
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Feasterville-Trevose, PADecember 26, 2016
The company was a good place to work, OK pay, management did a good job training and assisting with issues. A typical day had its busy moments but not overly busy overall
Pros
good management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Commercial Loan Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 21, 2016
The pay isn't good, but its a good company. Higher management needs to treat employees better. Commerce need to recognize employees and appreciate them more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teller (Former Employee) –  Garnerville, NYDecember 17, 2016
No stress on pushing for customer sales
Company made sure customers and employees were happy
Very involved in the neighborhood for events and such
Pros
Free lunch every month
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable hours, but chaotic work culture
Teller (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 7, 2016
Commerce Bank was nice because it provided consistent hours. I never really had to worry about coming in early or working overtime. However, the bank was under frequent culture changes that left the teller feeling exhausted and frankly rather worthless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok place to work, lots of nice people to work with
Branch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, KSDecember 6, 2016
Was an ok place to work. The people I worked with were a nice group of people. Was stressful due to staffing problems at times.
The management was dedicated to their jobs and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Commerce Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 389 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9
81%

CEO Approval

Based on 59 ratings
Add your rating