Commerce Casino Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace for sporting events
Food Server (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CAApril 9, 2017
A very unorganized workplace.Short staff restaurant, always hiring because employees are always coming and going. The management of the restaurant are not helpful nor are they knowledgeable about their own system, menu, or bar. Benefits only apply for full time employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.. all supervisors and shift managers very friendly..
Blackjack Dealer (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAApril 7, 2017
I enjoyed my time at Commerce Casino.. a great environment. Friendly staff and shift managers. I would like to work in the casino cage there at Bicycle Casino
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really fun atmosphere
Kitchen Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAMarch 23, 2017
its was a very fun and interesting atmosphere, a typical day for me was getting the equipment needed and then taking all the stuff out of the kitchen and then cleaning it
Pros
free lunch, always people
Cons
nightshift
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but no job security
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJanuary 31, 2017
I loved working at the Commers Casino but there was no job security. Management was not capable of hiring competent employees, and resorted to hiring unqualified chefs. The benefits were excellent.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CADecember 11, 2016
Its a great place to work. Co-workers always willing to help. Managers always looking to assist in anyway possible to be part of the team . Employee parking with casino transportation to the entrance.. Drivers very polite.
Pros
$1.00 buffet for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The casino
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAOctober 26, 2016
night shift leader, supervising, banking, deposits, order taking, waitress, stocking and making sure everything was up to par by also following food safety rules.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
was left drained
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boredom 90% of the time, unexpected excitement the other 10%
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CASeptember 11, 2016
Working in a casino was a world within itself. Dealing with gambling, drinking, drugs, prostitution, domestic disputes, physical disturbances...from customers and employees.

Hardest part for me was doing nothing for 8 hours. What I enjoyed most was becoming that go-to-guy for floor employees and shift leader. Developed skills to work with the public and effectively manage personnel.
Pros
Free lunch, networking, job excitement
Cons
Boredom, obeisity (from free lunches)
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place for advancement, discrimination
Casino Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAAugust 6, 2016
I had a great time working here until new management took over and sided with minorities rather than standing for justice. If your looking for fairness, look elsewhere. If you're not a minority you WILL be left to fight for yourself. Management doesn't care and HR doesn't care.
Pros
Set shifts and weekends
Cons
Poor management, no room for growth, stingy with pay, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save yourself the hassle and don't apply here
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 6, 2016
The so called food & beverage audit Manager was the worst I have ever worked for. She would come in at her leisure, not train and make up issues that were not as they would appear. The worst part was by the time these false issues were brought to your attention you would be sitting there being handed a write up that was already signed off by her buddy in human resources. If you refused to sign it she would refuse to give you a copy so that you couldn't even contest it. The team on the other hand was a pretty good group of gals. There was one bad apple but there's always one. Luckily, a new supervisor from downstairs was brought in and seemed to revamp what was lacking.
Pros
Free Lunches & thank goodness I don't work there anymore !
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAApril 25, 2016
Working graveyard and on the weekends most days were buys and there was always something to do. It was a fun environment to be in. Housekeeping was very stressful on the body(back,knees and feet) and some days you had to cover another co workers job and you were doing double and you only got paid to do one. if the pay was good i wouldn't mind but for ten dollars an hour it wasn't worth it.
Pros
Dollar lunch, free soda and coffee
Cons
Lack of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place, productive, busy
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CAFebruary 11, 2016
Process invoices for biwe ekly checks and create daily manual check batches. Contact vendors when we don't get the invoice to avoid paying invoice late and avoid late fees. Create new vendor in our Great Plain software. Scan all remittance check copy with the attached corresponding invoices. Code all invoices with it's corresponging GL code. Process any credit card card purchase invoice and reconcile the credit card statement with our internal check account. Assist the Corporate Controller with any balancing she needs on accounts.
Pros
$1.00 lunches and close to home
Cons
No place for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Commerce, Los AngelesOctober 7, 2015
A great company to work and its promotes within. The company operates 24/7 and 365. However, the accounting operates on business days.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
FOOD SERVER (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAAugust 2, 2015
I would arrive to provide customer service to clients on the floor.
Enjoyed taking their orders and seen them enjoy their food order.
Cons
Managers were not professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun for the first 5 years
Food Runner/Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 16, 2015
I worked at Commerce Casino for a total of 8 years, started out as a mini bar attendant. then got a transfer into the Arena sports bar and that's when things changed. So i decided to resign and move on due to unfair management.
Pros
Full benefits, Paid vacations, and Holiday pay.
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 7, 2015
It's a fun place to work at with very profesional and experienced personels, nice facilities, good foods and a great place to play cards, poker or asian games.
Pros
good benfits
Cons
too many changes at work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can't keep people employed
Cage Cashier Graveyard (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJanuary 18, 2015
Worst place to work. Managers are idiots, won't work with your schedule.
Benefits were good from medical to free buffet lunch.
Patrons are drunk and make you feel awkward.
Supervisors do not back you up, for any reason.
Get scheduled six days a week without any notice, if you don't like it then quit. That's their attitude.
Graveyard Cage Supervisor is the worst offender. Rude, unwilling to schedule around anything.
Pros
free lunch, drinks in breakroom
Cons
patrons, fights, drunks, supervisor, schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes37No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correcting Purchase Orders
Food-Trak Administrator (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CADecember 1, 2014
Adjusting case pack, lbs on purchase orders. Daily contact with Buyers, Vendors and Accounts Payable.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
servers a great
Wood Dragon Restaurant hostess (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CANovember 26, 2014
I supervise 2-4 server making sure all r guest are happy and getting service. The hard would be when we are short on staff I multi tasking so my title from a Host is a Host, Busser, Food Runner. I enjoy most is that I get to meet new people everyday.
Pros
50% off for employees
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly personnel and great work/life balance
OPERATIONS CONTROLLER (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CANovember 5, 2014
Enjoy working for this company as it is a friendly environment with a good work/life balance.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
24/7 operation, difficult to schedule time off
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Chip Runner / Floorman in Training (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAOctober 23, 2014
The casino experience in Los Angeles differs in many aspects compared to Las Vegas
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Commerce Casino. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1

Commerce Casino Reviews by Location