Find companies:
Commerce Casino
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Commerce Casino Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Chip Runner / Floorman in Training (Former Employee), Commerce, CAOctober 23, 2014
The casino experience in Los Angeles differs in many aspects compared to Las Vegas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Commerce, CAOctober 10, 2014
work register, not a lot of hours, part time, work with different people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee), Commerce, CaliforniaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: free espresso drinks
Cons: short breaks, limited options for lunch
As a barista I learned to mix espresso drinks
* had the chance to serve and meet many different people including some celebrities
* Fast paced environment
* coworkers were friendly and very helpful
* Management needs improvement but overall met requests
* High volume
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Interesting place to work
Experienced Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Commerce, CAMay 30, 2014
Pros: 401k, free lunch for those who do not get tips, a chance to move up.
Cons: short breaks, too many supervisors in one department each one tells you something different.
The years (5 years) I worked for Commerce Casino, I have learned more about Customer Service. It's such a busy place and I love working there it kept me busy, interacting with the customers, make the customers feel welcome so they can experience a wonderful time where I worked. I then transfer to the Cage Dept. and worked in the office and I really – more... enjoyed it, I have learned a lot from my boss, supervisors, and co-workers. It's wise to pass on what you have learned to others, because everyone has been there when you are just starting a new job or anything. Make everyone feel secure, treat everyone nice and respect your authorities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with people with disabilities.
Buffet Cook (Current Employee), Commerce, CAMay 5, 2014
Pros: free rooms
Cons: no breaks, for some of the employees
A typical day at work, is fast pace to get the food served for the buffet. While I enjoy learning more about many cultures to cook for. The management needs alittle more training to learn how to treat others. While some of the co-workers need to stand up for themselves and stop the complaints. The hardest part of the job is hearing complaints about – more... our management not giving some of the employees there breaks. While the most enjoyable part of the job is when all of the staff pulls together and work as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay, good people. great environment, rules and policies sometimes unclear.
Security Officer/Dispatcher (Former Employee), Commerce, CAApril 24, 2014
normal day to day security responsibilities.

I learned how to communicate with various types of people.

Supervisors had their flaws but overall well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commerce Casino is not a good place to work.
Buffet Cook (Current Employee), Commerce, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: most of the time the management didn't want us to take a break their now beening sued.
I'm a cook at Commerce Casino, and I want to resign because it's a very unsafe place to work for cooks, yet the management is very poor. I started working for Commerce Casino as a cook in October of 2013, and it is the worst employment I ever experience in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting place to work.
Manager of Administration (Former Employee), Commerce,CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches, close to home & interesting people.
Cons: health care cost
Taking care of events scheduled for the Director, keeping logs, managing team, answering busy phones, helping employees & organizing files.

I learned how to manage a team in a fast pace environment.

Management worked as a team.

Co-workers were great to work with.

Closing payroll.

Working in a busy company, never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to get through college, not as a career though
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Commerce, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch ( not the best), decent breaks, benefits and 401k match
Cons: time goes slow, lack of upward mobility potential, favoritism and lack of internal transfer opportunity
Quiet Monotonous. Difficult to stay awake during Graveyard hours A lot of politics and favoritism!! Overall good pay for security, (more than contract) and has benefits. Most of the employees are easy to get along with, but there are a few who like to create problems . Most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to save a persons life with CPR – more... or the AED Machine after they suffer a heart attack or other life threatening situation.
Fire Arms training is exciting and very informative! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced, busy, difficult
Food Server (Former Employee), Commerce, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: once a day comp lunch, benefits..
Cons: rude employees, inconsiderate, judgmental supervisors
I worked there for a few years. I started off in a restaurant and transferred to security. it wasn't a good idea since the security department has no control over their employees. they do not know how to treat people. they are judgmental, gossip, harass and lie. supervisors are the same as well. people are labeled, stigmatized and called names. I endured – more... a lot of hard times, harassment and stress while employed there. I also knew a lot of woman and men in other departments that went through the same deal but were to afraid to say. never, in any of my past jobs had I encountered such treatment. not everyone there is like this, there were some nice people with manners who were kind and minded their business and just did their jobs. there were some supervisors I knew in other departments who demonstrated good work ethics and did not take sides and just wanted to resolve matters the right way. also, there were supervisors who dated other workers there and I found that quite unprofessional. also, there were supervisors I worked with in my beginning employment who were snobby and rude, and who gossiped as much as employees. it was just like a soap opera there. even the real high up executives, (some) were rude and talked a lot about people. how sad. still, the casino is a beautiful sight to see, very exciting with karaoke night in the arena, basketball and football game nights as well in the arena, the food in the arena and deli are fantastic. the casino is open 24hours and a lot of the porters and food servers there are the nicest, hard working people you will ever meet. but work wise, for a woman who's even slightly attractive.. she will be talked about because woman there are jealous, especially in the security department and cocktail waitress dept. they are unfriendly and cannot get along with anyone. it's so sad to see people have been run out because they do not want to have to deal with that kind of treatment every day. speaking from personal experience, I do not recommend it. however, that is just my experience, everyone has a different one and may see things from a different and better perspective. with that being said, I can say what I loved about the place was you can always transfer, you can advance, you get all of your benefits and you are taken care of if you are hurt on the job. it's full time and part time there so it's a great establishment if you want the whole package. lots of positions to choose from and it's fun to meet new patrons and employees as long as you keep your personal business to yourself and watch what you say because everyone knows everyone there and they tend to take sides when it comes to an employee they are friends with versus someone new. also, they don't like people who speak up for themselves or make complaints, they just see it as "a problem" instead of seeing an opportunity to do what's right. so be careful and watch your step there. but give it a try... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad work environment
Safety/Benefits Manager (Former Employee), Commerce, CADecember 3, 2013
when new management took over they stripped management employees of their self worth and eliminated positions of all long term employees, regardless of their dedication to the company. i loved working there and being able to help employees with any issues they faced.... but was part of the company wide elimination of older employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with.
Food Server (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 13, 2013
I enjoy working with people.I like helping people. im a very hard worker. I like being in time and getting things done. I am very motivated.I like working as a team with another works .I take pride in my job.Im cheerful outlook positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), CAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: you have free meals... nothing more
Cons: poor quality of life, micro managing to the 3rd power, no reall growth opportunities
Even the most optimistic employee to be hired in HR has become jaded to the culture and has become unhappy with their lifestyle in general. This place provides no stability, no hope for advancement (unless you're already in management or transitioned into Commerce Casino by following the Executive Director of HR) I say, that you weigh your options carefully – more... before accepting a job at Commerce Casino's HR department) Aside from that, they have no regard for individual quality of life nor are they understanding of uncontrolled situations such as beins sick! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Food Server (Former Employee), Commerce, CAMay 30, 2013
Pros: you get nothing
Cons: everything
Poor management. They dont care about the people that work there. Even if they find out the worker isn't worng. They fire them. Supervisor plays for there worker they like. And you don't got a chance. There it is eye for an eye. And everone is on there toes day by day not to make a mistake, or there going to get fire. Just one misttake you are out, – more... no but about it. I know customer come first. But In a casino you have people that drink, on durgs. And the manager take there side. Not the worker. And a lot of good people loss there job. Its to bad for then and the family. And they dont want to give unemployment and have to go to court. That to bad. I know it doesn't matter what people say. It just go in one ear, and out the other. To bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Food and Beverage Cashier/Breaker (Current Employee), Commerce, CAMay 16, 2013
It's a pretty easy job as a cashier. But lacks flexibility in schedule. And asking for days off are impossible to get. 95% of the time you have to find someone to switch with which makes the request forms irreverent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometime Exciting
Armed Officer (Former Employee), Commerce, CAApril 30, 2013
Pros: buffet was free.
Cons: management were too cocky, and was out to get everyone in trouble.
There are times you feel like you really love working here and then there are times you feel like this is the worst place to work. Overall the work environment was average. Nothing to special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere, fast paced
Poker Dealer (Former Employee), Commerce, CAJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed the fast pace, and fellow employees
Cons: sometimes slow, would be asked to end shift early
A typical day I would come into work, deal 5-7 tables of poker based on how busy. I would deal poker games, I was in charge of enforcing rules, exchanging currency for playing chips, and maintaining a smooth environment while at the table.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace, diverse environment
Poker Dealer (Former Employee), Commerce, CAJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: good work place, enjoyed atmoshpere
Cons: many dealers, sometimes not as much work
Typical day I would come to work, deal poker at approximately 7-8 tables a night in 40 minute spurts. I would exchange cash currency for plaing chips through my own personal money and be in charge of money and controlling rules and regulations as well as players at individual tables.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Management ever.
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: supervise casino floor.
Over saw the entire operation of the casino floor, food servers, porters, supervised 3 restaurants out lets, 3 full bars, ETC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Line Cook (Former Employee), Commerce, CADecember 9, 2012
Pros: free lunch brakes
Cons: non ting
typical day of work was very busy a lot of tickets and stress, i learned a lot of stuff i didn't know like cutting salmon steaks temperatures. the co workers we fun to work with we get along and work hard. the hardest part of our job is when we got banquets when we need to cook for like 200 people is a pain but u also learned how to b quick. the funnest – more... part is when they have party for the job. – less