Find companies:
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
56 reviews

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely hostile environment
Direct care worker (Former Employee), MassachusettsSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: clients
Cons: discrimination on every level
Having worked in this field for over 15 years i thought i had experienced the pros and cons of working with an agency who support their clients and employees. First off the training i was provided during orientation was a joke. I was excited to start a job where i knew i would make a huge difference in the people we service. The agency made so many – more... promises. The hiring process was a joke and the man who hired me was unprofessional lazy and clearly not good at his job. I was placed in a medical home with no training and with staff who were not willing to accept someone with experience into the home. The house manager was two faced a gossip and extremely unprofessional. Due to reporting an incident witnessed i was moved to another home in Amesbury. Again i was not welcomed and treated poorly (I have a very thick skin ) I was was told because I was perceived as gay I would not be accepted due to the religious beliefs of the house supervisor (a cruel and abusive woman ) and the foreign house staff. This disgusting behavior was present throughout my employment. I filed several complaints with no result. I feel bad for the residents of that home because I witnessed abuse verbally and physically. I resigned with no follow up from management. I am now working in a healthy environment with staff with compassion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Job
Secretariat Chief Information Officer (SCIO) (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 5, 2014
Cons: more trouble than it is worth.
Rife with politics. Every day you are hamstrung from doing the things that a good leader needs to do by the politics of the position. If you ignore the politics, then you impact your longevity. It is a trade-off. I would rather do the right things. Salary is comical ... you never see the full salary you agree to because the state holds ten percent off – more... the top for the retirement account, and then there are cuts every year. I lost money every year I was with the state. Also, look into the impact a state job will have on your Social Security eligibility before you ever take a state & local position. It seriously reduces your SS retirement check even if you paid into the system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventerous
Offset Duplicating Machine Operator (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: none to my recollection
Cons: none to my recollection
Different jobs from various senators and politicians. Utilizing a bevy of reproduction machines. Average phone/client contact. Close interaction with co-workers. I found that meeting deadlines was a challenging and satisfying experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
House of Representative, 16th Worcester District (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 31, 2014
I enjoyed the job immensely. I considered it a honor and privilege to be the individual who represented over 41,000 citizens of the City of Worcester, at the State House in Boston.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of Benefits
Developmental Service Worker I (Former Employee), Danvers, MAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: alerts
The work is protected because of State Union. Every employee are protected after their probation period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace providing care for mentally and physically challenged adults.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Wrentham, MAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits, and job security.
Cons: working weekends, and holidays.
Medication and treatment pass for residents in a hospital type setting according to daily census. Overall assessments and medication changes per order. The hardest part of my job would be watching a patient digress. The most enjoyable part of my day would be taking care of my patients and watching them thrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great department
Developmental Services Worker I (Current Employee), North Grafton, MAJuly 1, 2014
This is a very morally fulfilling job. Great benefits and compensation. The work is tough but worth it. Coworkers are amazing and almost everyone works as a team. Lacks opportunity for advancement. Upper management is too disconnected to appreciate the work of employees at lower levels. A lot of favoritism and special treatment occurs. The best part – more... of the job is making a difference in individuals lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a flexible job & decent work environment for someone looking to work & go to school.
Case Specialist (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, flexible supervisors & peaceful work space.
There were highs & lows as with anything in life... I shall say working for the Commonwealth was a great learning experience. I shall carry the wisdom & experience with me for the rest of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and responsibility
Fire Warden- District (Former Employee), StatewideMay 12, 2014
High paced environment with dynamic work responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northampton is racist
Correctional Officer (Current Employee), Northampton, MAMay 9, 2014
If you're not white and you're trying to get hired here its impossible if you don't know someone. It's a white establish but look where we are! Northampton. They can do that. I'm ashamed to work here because of that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quest Web UI Application
Senior Consultant in Development (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 9, 2014
• Developed & Architected the Use Case Claimant Tax Intercept, Treasury Offset Program, IRORA, Claimant Manage Debt , Request Debt Waiver, Establish and Manage Claimant Payment plan on uFacts Framework
• Developed Batch Process for Medical Security Plan (MSP) like Marketing, Enrolled, Eligible, Deduction Inbound and Outbound in uFacts Framework batch – more... process using C#.
• Conceptualized and developer the various batches for Tax intercept, ACH Credit, Claimant Payment Plan
• Developed and mentored other team members on various correspondence such as Tax Intercept Notice, Payment Plan Default Notice, Payment plan agreement using uFacts Framework correspondence process
• Architected the entire end to end Debit Card Interfaces for Bank of America and Direct deposit interfaces for Sovereign Bank.
• Developed unit tests using MbUnit – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over see 25-30 kids
Group Worker (Current Employee), Taunton, MAApril 7, 2014
Pros: own boss
Cons: no breaks
a VERY STRESSFUL JOB WITH HIGH RISK JUVENILES GREAT CO WORKWERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun work environment
Official Citation (Former Employee), Boston,MAFebruary 10, 2014
I was a painting mural for fenway' s restaurant row that had caught fire. What i enjoyed most, was the freedom to be creative with my paintings. It was fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Net Developer (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 27, 2013
productive and fun workplace.
Excellent planning
helpfull teammates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Janitor/Custodian (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 4, 2013
landscaping painting general maintenance basic construction cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smiling faces
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 8, 2013
Cons: no sick time
The staff is great HR and other higher positions do not care about people. I loved supporting the staff and accepting new projects. The hardest part of the job is when i had to say good bye…well i did not even get to say good bye. My favorite part of my job was extending a smile to everyone who entered the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
LPN (Current Employee), Taunton, MAAugust 27, 2013
Unbeatable benefits! Perfect job for someone juggling a second job and/or a family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTA Summary
Clerk III (Current Employee), Roxbury, MAAugust 19, 2013
I am the operator of the office answering hundreds of calls and day assisting clients and doing other duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very warm and pleasant environment, best team
was hired as an LPN now an RN (Current Employee), Belchertown, MAJuly 10, 2013
work night, I continue to learn each day from both my coworkers, management and the client i take care of. The hardest part is when i have to make decision regarding my client trusting my guts that is the best within my knowledge. The most enjoyable part is when i go home knowing for sure i have made a difference in someones life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the enviornment , good ratings
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJuly 2, 2013
Pros: bridgewater was an easy commute
Cons: not enough to keep me busy.
The hardest part of the job was not having enough to do. The work was relatively easy, but pretty boring.

1 2 3