CommuniCare Health Centers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work place
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodland, CANovember 2, 2017
I loved working at this place, everyone was very nice. management was always very nice and comprehensive. overall a great place to work with really wonderful people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover and terrible management
Physician (Former Employee) –  SanSeptember 21, 2017
Senior management is cutthroat and self-serving. They do not follow the Mission statement. Shaming, bullying and mobbing are prevalent. The CEO tells employees if you don't like it here "get out!" and hardworking and ethical people leave in droves. HR will not protect the employees from abuse and are impotent. Mid-level managers and the Clinicians are not included in decision making and their concerns for the patients and staff are ignored. Productivity is the only measure that matters to senior management. Physician and Nurse practitioner burnout and turnover is high. The Chief Medical Officer is powerless to protect or advocate for staff. There is a great need for quality patient care in the communities that Communicare serves and I have seen dedicated medical clinicians and staff who have left due to a lack of senior level support. The Board of Directors who should oversee Senior Management are seen only once a year at the annual staff day meeting , but no significant communication occurs with staff. I caution physicians, mid-levels and support staff to look elsewhere. You will regret working at Communicare or at "Communi-don't care" as many staff have called it. With all due respect, beware and consider your options before considering this organization.
Pros
Patient care is gratifying. Patients are appreciative.
Cons
Lack of Board of Directors oversight, demoralizing senior management, lack of HR and CMO advocacy for providers and clinic staff and high burnout and employee turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 7, 2017
Some really extraordinary people work here. Unfortunately, there is a lot of miscommunication or lack of. People are afraid of hearing the truth. A lot of employee/physician turnover.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
staff is not utilized or managed appropriately
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they need better managment skills
Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 15, 2017
favoritism is how it is there at NORTHWEST CAMPUS if you don't see things eye to eye with management they will find a reason to let you go, plus oh my god how they all love to get together and talk behind peoples back there own morning huddle (chisme of the day)
Pros
made friends with the nicest people
Cons
office manager and lvn's very unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefit packages.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boerne, TXMay 9, 2017
Pretty good place to get experience. The company is good to work for. Just depending on the location you work at. There is poor management in the Boerne location. The doctors there are really good. The location I really liked the best is the Potranco location. The girls there are very nice and the office manager really cares about her employees and really tries to go above and beyond for her staff.
Pros
Benefits, Pto, health care
Cons
Poor management in the Boerne location, favoritism, and lazy staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Medical Assistant/Lead MA/ Employee Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 4, 2017
If you are seeking entry level positions and would like to gain experience then this is the setting for you. There are opportunities to float throughout the different clinics to practice skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Assist medical provider (Former Employee) –  Kyle, TXJanuary 27, 2017
Great place to start your career, and opportunity for growth. It's a fun environment, but work gets done. Great support staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
LVN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 16, 2017
Many clinics available for patients to be seen under the same roof.
Community income based clinic.
Many government programs available for low income families.
Pharmacy available as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team driven
Certified Application Counselor (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 19, 2016
It is fun and enjoyable to work at Communicare because everybody is willing to work together to meet the same goals and helping the community. As an organization we all strive to find ways to help the community and also expand across San Antonio.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
LVN-CALL CENTER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 11, 2016
Management was excellent! Good co-workers and the hardest part of my job is leaving. Most enjoyable was the people I met in the company and would return as needed. I Learned a lot started as a Medical Assistant and continued went back to school for LVN and worked through school at Comminucare received my first LVN opportunity there. Very Geatful to have worked there.
Pros
Benefits and growth in experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work, horrible managment
anonymous, medical (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 31, 2016
Some of the staff have been there a long time. Most people are fairly nice. The biggest problem with this company is their senior leadership and lower level management. They are very disrespectful to licensed medical providers who have been to school and worked very hard to get their degrees. They have a code of conduct policy but they enforce it when they need it enforced and to the purposes that is serves them. They are a joke. The HR is a joke and doesn't know right from wrong themselves so how can they even do the right thing for the employees? This place unfortunately has a great vision but the carryout by it's own management team and how they treat their staff and providers totally voids their mission. They dont practice what they preach.
Would never work here again!!! Horrible
Pros
good location
Cons
terrible management who don't know how to do their jobs or treat people
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not care about employees
Member Service Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 24, 2016
I have seen employees shamed in front of everyone, firing on the spot without reason, finding reasons to fire employees and a termination of a coworker due to pregnancy, no breaks, and they will ask you to work off the clock. Yes, I still work here, but not for long...
Pros
Coworkers are nice
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too shabby
Family Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Woodland, CAAugust 3, 2016
I learned a lot and there is a constant drive for improvement and growth, supported by management and staff. Hardest part was working with the small spaces in the clinics. Most enjoyable was helping others.
Pros
Good healthcare
Cons
Small facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truely uphold Our Mission , Vision and Core values
PrimeCare Account Representative (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2016
The opportunity to assist and serve our Community in finding Affordable insurance as well as educate our consumers within the Community, the benefits of having insurance. Having Co-workers as passionate about helping reach out to our Community made this job enjoyable. The hardest part of the job is to see and know the people that lived within the community who had Chronic illnesses not get the Medical Treatment they needed because the lack of having insurance coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family health care center
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kyle, TXJune 13, 2016
I believe the clinic was a nice place to work and build experience. hardest part is the constant patient flow coming in and out. Working with friends is a bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tolerable work place with a rewarding sense of pride
Habilitation Aide (Former Employee) –  Berea, OHSeptember 1, 2015
All about the numbers and bottom line. Only rewarding part to the job is knowing you made a difference in someones life while they are in their care.
Pros
8 and 12hr shifts, decent wages above minimum
Cons
hour long unpaid lunches while still conforming to set shifts, black out dates for vacation time, have to work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Clinic
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kyle, TXJuly 15, 2015
I did my extern at this location really enjoy working here and the people and patienrts. My Manager and employes liked how I work so i did get a job offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing healthcare center with great resources and enthusiastic employees
Chief Operations Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 5, 2014
The company is totally focused on the mission: to help people get jobs. The mission provides a great deal of clarity to every type of decision and keeps everyone moving in the same direction.
I felt very fortunate to be part of a company that is so quickly becoming the leader in healthcare services for the residents of Bexar and Hays counties in Texas. In 7+ years I experienced the expansion of employees/teams, offices, management, incentive programs, and excellent customer service.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!!
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 11, 2014
Mon-Fri 8-5
learned so much valuable info!
Management was great. The CEO would always congratulate employees.
Pros
Easy to advance in departments, great benefits, great pay raise system, value emolyee, great out reach to community
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high demand on staff, undervalued
Clinical RN (Former Employee) –  Davis, CAOctober 14, 2014
Never enough time to complete what is needed and constant demand from administration to do more. This was a great learning experience but the culture here was complex and often discouraging. Employees are overworked and undervalued.
Pros
Beautiful Mission to serve those who need care most
Cons
Undervalued and overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CommuniCare Health Centers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7

CommuniCare Health Centers Reviews by Location