Find companies:
COMMUNICARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

COMMUNICARE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication and high expectations
Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee), Oxford, MSDecember 3, 2014
This was a stepping stone into my career path. Case workers were overloaded with cases and were expected to take the blame for case managers before them.
I was there 9 months, and in that time I saw four case managers leave. It is rare to find someone who has been there over a year.
The hardest part of the job is having expectations placed on you that – more... your superiors can not even match.
The most enjoyable part of this job is being in the field and working with the community and the therapist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning working environment
Case Manager (Current Employee), Water Valley, MSOctober 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: low pay
A typical day at work involves writing progress notes, scheduling clients for future appointments and visiting clients. My co-workers are friendly which makes the working environment pleasant. The hardest part of the job is maintaining consistent in visiting clients due to the amount of client I have. However, visiting clients is the most enjoyable – more... oar of my job and assisting them in planning gals and achieving their goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Residential Assistant (Current Employee), Lebanon, KYMay 19, 2014
Pros: works well with my personal schedule
Cons: don't get health insurance with part time & not enough hours
During a typical day at work I take care of ladies with mental disabilities. I cook for them, clean, wash their laundry when needed, administer their medication.

I've learned how to properly care for someone other then myself. I've also learned CPR and first aid and been through all the required trainings.

I get along well with my co-workers.

The – more... hardest part of the job personally for me would be learning and having patience. With individuals with special needs you need patience to work with them and to be able to help them.

The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my ladies happy and excited about something. I love working with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall wonderful and rewarding place to work for
Life Skills Specialist (Former Employee), Bloomfield Hills, MIMay 1, 2014
A day in the life at Communicare would be spent mostly working on life skills with the members of the rehabilitation center. Working there taught me how to have even more patience than I thought I would need, being that I worked in mental health for years prior. I really enjoyed my coworkers as well as the members in the company although things did – more... not always go as planned in the company we always seemed to make the most of it with each other and made sure to work as a team. As far as the hardest part of the job, I would say there were things that may not have always been easy but considering what I got to be apart of every day I would say it was all worth it and all enjoyable in the end. I think the main thing I took away from that job was to always look for the positive in everything around you and always work together in any situation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job
Respite Care Provider (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, KYApril 13, 2014
Love working there cant get any better. If I could get more hours I would never leave this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The fact that I was able to help client on a daily basis was amazing.
Mental health technician (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: always had a break, different people everyday, making connections
Cons: decreased hours.
My management was incredible and I learned so much in my time working with the company. They had extensive training that helped you further your career in so many ways. They are a company that wants to help you move up in the world. The hardest part was when the economy went down so did clientale which made our hours get cut drastically.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, loving, and fun experience.
Care Giver (Former Employee), Kuna, IDOctober 28, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: when it seemed like i wasn't able to successfully help them it would get frustrating.
Each day would consist of helping people with disabilities. I taught them living skills. I learned how to have patience. The management was excellent. They were very enthusiastic and encouraging. The co-workers were all friendly and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was saying goodbye to the people I had met when I quit. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was being able to successfully help others be more independent than they were before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair environment
Mental Health Therapist (Former Employee), Senatobia, MSSeptember 17, 2013
Cons: stressful
Counsel individuals daily, both children and adults with mental illnesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I take care of my special needs son.
Caregiver/Teacher (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, KySeptember 12, 2013
I help my son with his educational, personal, developmental needs on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but stressful
Assistant CTRP (Former Employee), Brandenburg, KyAugust 22, 2013
Pros: caring and interacting with families, becomes a family
Cons: may work an hour from home
Communicare is a place that focuses on what it can do for the consumer. They work in mental health so it is a very high stress job. I miss working with Communicare as they would communicate with their employees and work with them. They were informative and helpful if something needed to be clarified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience
MHA (Mental Health Associate) (Current Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJuly 11, 2013
Pros: flexibility, client populations, and education/experience
Cons: somewhat micro managing, high productivity expectations, and sometimes unethical
As a employee at Communicare I learned various aspects such as keeping a chart up to date and organized, productivity, communication with clients and their families as well as the new electronic medical records system. Management often changed which was added stress as it brought change on a daily basis which to some degree was hard to adjust too. New – more... management added stress to employees leaving morale down. The hardest part of the job is having such a high expectation for productivity when circumstances predict the outcome of whether or not employees are able to reach their goal. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the clients and seeing positive change in their lives and see what we do does make a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicare was a wonderful agency to intern with.
Student Intern (Former Employee), Pittsboro, MSJuly 1, 2013
While interning at this agency I have been able to shadow the case managers assist clients as well as sit in on several intakes with the therapist. I have been given the opportunity to learn more about the required paperwork and procedures that are taken in order to serve clients with the highest quality of mental health care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and caring workplace.
Case Manager/Community Support Specialist (Current Employee), Water Valley, MSJune 26, 2013
I enjoy working at Communicare. It's a very warm environment that cares about each client individually.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it!
Impact Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Hardinsburg, KYJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: flexible and laid back
Cons: not very good health benefits and it is far away from home
I work in the West region and my supervisor is awesome. The job is extremely flexible and laid back. The job is very family oriented and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic experience
Contract Provider (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJanuary 4, 2013
Working for Communicare was a really great experience for me because I could make my own schedule, work with a lot of different kinds of people, and work with my mom who also works at Communicare. I could work whenever I wanted, for as long as I wanted (within the time the individuals were given), and all from the comfort of my own home. I worked with – more... individuals with mental disabilities who just needed to get out of their homes, whether it be for an appointment or just to stay a week with me. I learned how to manage my time wisely. I had the opportunity to meet so many amazing people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job
Attendant Care Provider (Former Employee), Brandenburg KentuckyDecember 27, 2012
Pros: consistent schedule
Cons: staff support
I really enjoy working with troubled children to make a difference in a childs life is a reward money can not buy. Co-workers were difficult as one never knew what the other was doing but got along well. The most enjoyable part of the job was to experience helping a child learn and enjoy new experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work.
Shift Manager CDU unit (Former Employee), Oxford, MSDecember 12, 2012
Was very encouraging to assist clients with beginning to start life in recovery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed and loved this job.
Case Worker/Case Manager (Former Employee), Hardin CountyOctober 18, 2012
Pros: benefits, the environment was positve, the people i worked with
Cons: not getting results i wanted for the families.
I really enjoyed my job as a case worker for several reasons, but most importantly because i was giving back to the community. The most enjoyable part of my day was watchin my clients grow and succeed. The management was great, i had no problems. There were a few times I misunderstood what was asked of my, but through positive guidance and advice from – more... other co-workers I improved. The hardest part of this job was, not getting the results the families I worked with the results they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Adolescent Opportunity Program (AOP) Therapist (Current Employee), Batesville, MSAugust 17, 2012
Pros: family oriented business and lots of training
Cons: longer work hours, underpaid, and overworked
You will gain lots of experience and will have to learn the basis for team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adolescent
Case Manager (Former Employee), Senatobia, MSJuly 3, 2012
I really enjoyed working with the children at this facility. I loved the staff at this facility and the kids just needed some compassion and I gave them that.

About COMMUNICARE

Communicare is a multifaceted charity and support agency based in Cannington. For more than 25 years, Communicare has offered – Read more