Find companies:
COMMUNITY ACCESS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

COMMUNITY ACCESS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working w/ adults w/ disabilities is both challenging as well as rewarding
Specialist/Facilitator (Current Employee), Louisville, KYMay 12, 2014
Pros: independence while working, hours are self determined
Cons: challenging, low wages
There are no two days exactly alike. The work days are as varied as the participants. Being in the Community with them is educational for all parties. The participants educate the folks in the community while they are learning and experiencing life.

I have learned a great deal from working with this particular population. I have learned determination, – more... gratitude, flexibility,
and most importantly to live each day in anticipation.

I absolutely love my boss. She allows me to do my job, and is always there, should I need to make inquires. She does not micro-manage, and trusts that I will take care of things. I thrive with a management style like hers.

I do not see my co-workers often. We are all out in the community
with our respective participants. I do enjoy the few times I get to collaborate with them. My department, in particular, has an atmosphere of respect and cooperation.

The hardest part of the job may well be some of the more physical components, such as transferring a Participant into/out of my vehicle.

The most enjoyable part of my job, is being able to assist my clients
in having a fuller, more well-rounded life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kept me very busy,
DSP2 (Former Employee), Greenville, TXApril 30, 2014
Pros: christmas party
Cons: stressful
I really enjoyed working with mentally challenged adults, it was challenging and theres always something that needed to be done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Access is a different place to work in terms of culture
N.Y. Director of Warren Street (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 22, 2014
I have been working at Community Access for 4 years and have applied 3 times to move up the career ladder without any success. I want to do something different after 12 years post master experience and move into upper management. I consider I have the skills, experience and education to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career in social services
Service Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 21, 2014
Pros: good health benefits and time off
Cons: salary is less than the market rate for case managers
As a service coordinator, you will learn many valuable skills to help you grow as a professional and a person.

Most days involve helping tenants to manage their daily lives (appointments, phone calls, etc) as well as pursue growth in what they aspire to do. There is also a lot of writing involved, as the documentation of these interactions is at the – more... core of what you do. Sometimes working with this client base can be challenging and unpredictable but can also be rewarding when you help someone make a step in the direction towards their recovery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Head Housing Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: talkative consumers
Cons: weak management
Good people/ bad environment had to stay positive and encourage others to stay peaceful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Health Care
Respite Worker (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXMarch 13, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: no set work schedule
This was a state assigned job to a private residence. This job detailed a lot of the same duties as a home health care provider, except was set up for extended care hours and transportation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Access Job Culture Review
Office Service Coordinator/Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 26, 2013
Working with Community Access was a great learning experience. Though the job culture was not what I was accustomed to I learned how to thrive in this environment. It was a great opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 23, 2013
Cons: long work hours, if your coworker didnt come in you had to say at work
Greeting the tenants, opening doors, giving a pleasnt living enviorment. I learned not to judge a books by it cover at this job site. I loved my Director, he was always there when you need him the most. I didnt have much co-workers but the ones I did see they were ok in my book. There wasnt anything hard at all about this job. I enjoyed getting to know – more... the tenants off paper. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place where you meet new people and learn new things.
Front Desk Receptionist / Security (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYNovember 13, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: really short breaks
A typical day at work is like seeing tenets go in and out watch the cameras make sure all is well thought the building. I've learned how to deal with different tenets behaviors. Management at times is on point with dealing with crisis. My co-workers are a group of people to work with. The hardest part of the job to me is none.The most enjoyable part – more... of the job is knowing my co-workers and the tenets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Consumer Service Manager/Supervisor (Current Employee), Tyler TXNovember 5, 2013
This company is wonderful. A great learning experience about job dynamic & structure. A typical day is unpredictable. The enjoyable part of the job is working with clients, staffs, and co-worker. The hardest part is the uncertainty of how your day will start and what time it will end. Management has built responsibility and accountability in me. Those – more... are characters that I was very weak in. I manager over 30 staff and currently have 18 caseloads on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work. Team player
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: paid lunch breaks
Cons: short breaks
A typical day of work would begin with meeting with the front desk personnel to see if there were any over night emergencies. I would check and answer all my emails. meet with clients. run support group. Meet with individual cases and work on what ever there crisis may be or perform duties assigned by the program director as needed. I was a team player – more... and worked well with my co-workers. We all assisted each other in special events and special projects. I had supervision every week and got along well with y program director. The most enjoyable part of the job was giving back to the community and helping the underserved achieve their goals. The hardest part of the job was not being able to accommodate to everyone's needs. I loved what I did and would love the opportunity to get re involved with the agency – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place like no other...
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Current Employee), Greenville, TXAugust 26, 2013
The most enjoyable part of working here is the consumers. The company itself doesn't offer but one raise the entire time you work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gret company
Peer Advocate Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2013
Cons: low salary
Atmopsphere is very engaging. great co-workers.Myice title was service coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Community Access
Caregiver (Current Employee), Montclair, NJJuly 25, 2013
CAU provides support and gives a voice to adults and youth who traditionally have had little support and no voice in society. We help people with housing, life skills training, vocational skills, employment, health maintenance, money management, socialization, education, crisis intervention, civic activities and community support. CAU also supports – more... opportunities for advocacy through training in assertiveness, decision-making and civil rights. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is enjoyable if you like working with people with special needs but hard work.
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee), Tyler, TXJuly 24, 2013
Pros: the clients laughter
Cons: getting up at 4:30 a.m. in order to be at work by 5:30 a.m.
I enjoy working with my co-workers and the clients that I work with. However, the company could use some help in the management department. Based on what the clients do everyday is different. The hardest part of my job is dealing with a clients that have behavioral issues. The most enjoyable part of my job is talking with the clients, listening to them – more... laugh and joking around when they could give up on life knowing the disabilities that they have to live with every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Assistant Director (Former Employee), Elizabeth NJMay 15, 2013
Pros: health care
Cons: no support
There is no support not enough staff you are overworked. staff constantly call out your always on call you never get a break between the staff and the clients. Essentially this agency expects you not to have a life of your own. The stress is extremely high and anxiety is through the roof. Do not work here as management stick to direct care those positions – more... are somewhat more manageable. They intake some of the most intense clients and have an extremely high turnover rate no wonder they have open house every Monday they cant keep most people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job that gives back
Front Desk Receptionist (Per-Diem) (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 5, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: extended hours
A basic work day is sitting at a desk monitoring security feeds, signing in guess and writing in hourly logs. This job trains their employees to delicately handle tenants and potential warning signs.
Working this job has opening my understanding on how to relate and calm down a tenant and defuse a what could possibly be an explosive situation.
This – more... shift consist of only one person on duty until relieved by a co-worker at the end of the shift.
There are times we must deal with the lost of a tenant and file reports of every incident that happens throughout the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at CA
Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 18, 2013
Pros: own office, schedule
Cons: not enough training, communication issues
I've been employed with CA almost 2 years. I enjoy having my own office, my 9-5 schedule and my learning experience in this field. I feel it is time for me to move on to a different organization and explore other options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HOUSING COUNSELOR (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 8, 2013
Care about the clients. Co-workers are helpful and willing to go the extra mile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt sorry for the way the clients were treated by other workers.
Job Coach (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed talking to my client.
Cons: not much to do during the week except sit at the park. no benifits.
I usually drove my client to his job and wathced over him. After he was done, we would have nothing to do but sit at the park.

About COMMUNITY ACCESS

Community Access was founded in 1974 by family members and friends of patients who were suddenly discharged en masse from state-run – Read more

COMMUNITY ACCESS Photos