Community Action Partnership Of Kern

Community Action Partnership Of Kern Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Family Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJanuary 3, 2017
Great place to work. Fun environment and great opportunity for growth. Management are friendly. Great opportunity for career advancement.
Pros
great environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers
Assistant to the Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 15, 2016
This is a place where co-workers are willing to support one another for the mission of the organization. Management style is so-so but the Executive Director does a great job in ensuring employees are taken care of.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food bank volunteer
Volunteer Warehouse Stocker (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 18, 2016
We sort and stock food and supplies to be distributed to the local families in need. it's a nice atmosphere. The staff is nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad place to work find work elsewhere
Heap/Energy slave (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 10, 2016
Stressful, advancement only for friends or brown nosers, you don't have to have experience in order to become a supervisor. The funding is spent frivolously, you have to be careful to whom you communicate with, The gossip makes you advance through the ranks. I have seen them hire inexperienced and then finally fire you six months later when they find out someone else has been doing all your work for you. Also they hire temps keeping them in limbo for over a year and promise them a position. They demote you if your getting older in age over 50+ years old, within the company If you get a interview opportunity it's based on a score, it's not on what you know in experience. Not worth the pay, and the company needs a whole restructuring from main office to the 19th street location.
Pros
Potluck, close to home, paycheck was small
Cons
Demanding co workers, two faced back talking, pretending they are on your side
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Utility Assistance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAApril 13, 2016
High productivity - staff is great - Energy Program Utility Assistance staff are dedicated and helpful. Work as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAPK used to stand for something
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAFebruary 13, 2016
i have been with this company for 25 years, i have seen births, weddings, death of loved ones, employed by CAPK, and family members of CAPK, when something would happen to any member of this agency, we all came together and fought together to support, for betterment, for encouragement. i have not seen that happen in the past 10 years, it is all about who can get further, Being proactive in this agency used to mean an accomplishment, not any longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with the families I serve. It is a good place to start for anyone interested in education of young children and helping familes.
Family Service Worker II (Current Employee) –  Shafter, Ca 93263September 3, 2015
I have enjoyed working with the families I serve. This is a great job for people that are looking to help families set up and complete their goals in life.
Pros
Great job for helping families out of poverty
Cons
I really have nothing against this organization
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun, misserable people run this place.
Fiscal Technician (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 1, 2015
All management want to boss other depts around, so ridiculous the way everyone wants to run this place aqs if it were their own business and it is a non-profit organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places to work for.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMarch 11, 2015
Poor management and leadership, and no job security. Poor benefits and no advancement except if you are friend with the boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Eligibility Technician (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJanuary 7, 2015
An excellent program that assists families of the local area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, rewarding
Family Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  FresnoSeptember 21, 2014
Any given day, I check voice mail, return calls, update files, enroll families, process data entry, screen applicants, meet with families. I work independently, but have access to management, if needed. Work great with coworkers. Hardest part of job is the unpredictability, this is also the best part. It is never boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Better Management
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Although the company is set up to do great things in the community. The Directors are not trained very well in people management and they are not very well versed in working with their staff.

Line staff never received raised while the Executive Director and other Directors always received increases in salary.
Pros
There were no pros about working for this company
Cons
Everything was a con
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of job
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJanuary 24, 2014
Hardest part of the job was location of centers from my home.
Pros
Working with children
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, new Executive Director had never worked in a non-profit.
Director of Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJanuary 15, 2014
My staff were great. The union made the job more difficult that it should have due to the fact that they did not understand grants. Worked with all staff on training and planning.
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Communication from one division to another was not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Clerical Technician (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 1, 2013
Working for this agency taught me the importance of being part of a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Custodian/Aide (Current Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CAMay 27, 2013
I love to work with the kids and the people I work with are great it is just the government and Bakersfield that get into things that isn't nice
Pros
Kids, Workers, Laughs, and smiles and hugs
Cons
Government, and Bakersfield
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Bosses/Assistance
Warehouse Specialist/Driver (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAFebruary 5, 2013
They treat you with disrespect when you are a temporary worker,but once you are hired on they change their ways about you.If they dont like you,they really show it through expressions and motions.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great Work Place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 23, 2012
Telephone etiquette, typing, faxing,coping, customer service, inventories, sorted mail, gave customer adivce, made referrals, great co-workers enjoyed knowing that i helped some one out
Pros
potlucks, great work ethics
Cons
end of volunteer
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producitve work place.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 10, 2012
Community action partnership food bank was a great experience with an awesome atmosphere as well as an ongoing learning experience for all employees.
Pros
it was a growing experience.
Cons
funding doesn't last.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to help children and families
Child Development Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJune 22, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping children and families succeed when they thought they couldn't accomplish their goals. Being a supervisor and being able to mentor and coach others is a rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Action Partnership Of Kern. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

Community Action Partnership Of Kern Reviews by Location