Find companies:
COMMUNITY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

COMMUNITY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better.
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 14, 2014
Good place to work but could be better. Management needs a lot of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!!!
Member Services Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: excellent
Recovery Walks! For all in recovery who has the desire to stay clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weight watchers and fitness programs
Senior Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: group fitness walk participation
Cons: involuntary staff communication
Consistent client communication, Team work efforts, identified complexed cases, Clinical decision titration, (all ages), Supportive Supervision, intellectual Disability challenges, ability to connect community with resources available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Continuous Learning Experience
Project Manager (Current Employee), Salisbury, MDAugust 10, 2014
Community Behavioral Health is a hub of change. Following it's change in management CBH has undergone a variety of changes for the better. Though working here may be hectic and is essential that one thinks on their toes, the experience is completely rewarding. Management truly cares about the organization and works continuously to make sure that staff – more... is like a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot from my employers
Medical Billing/Credentialing Specialist (Current Employee), Cambridge, MDAugust 2, 2014
Love what I do. Good relationship with coworkers, present and former coworkers. Hardest part of my job is adjusting to chages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Medical Receptionist (Current Employee), Centreville, MDJune 16, 2014
Very busy fast growing company! Great co-workers and Bosses: always showing there employees how much they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work place in Behavorial Health care
Information Technology Manager (Current Employee), Beachwood, OHApril 26, 2014
Pros: family environment
Cons: no health care, short on staff, no clear hierarchy
A very small company with most being crossed trained to perform others duties as a backup. A typical day at work can be very intense during clinics or if there was a crisis related IT. I am the sole person responsible for the IT of the company. I was also I was able to experience decision making of the direction of the company. I worked with different – more... cultures which did make it a challenge at times with communication. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to work with a very diverse group. having a small company also makes it challenging to keep up with the work since they are under staffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morning meeting, review menu, prepared meals
Counselor (Former Employee), Hamilton, OHJanuary 19, 2014
Organize cooking materials/tools and sanitize work space. Prepare food and set up for service. Conduct inventory and order supplies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous place to work
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 21, 2013
Pros: free meals
Cons: dangerous, understaffed. unsafe
The management placed employees in dangerous positions. We were constantly understaffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent mental health position
Clinical Therapist (Current Employee), Middletown, OhioJuly 13, 2013
Pros: flexible work environment
Cons: professional development
Flexible schedule, dual-diagnosis in an outpatient setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UR and case review
Clinical Care Manager (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaJune 16, 2013
Pros: understanding mediciad
Conducted daily clinical review and assesment. Although working on a team work was individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, but not too bad overall
Clinical Care Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 10, 2013
Pros: benefits and positive atmosphere
Cons: poor supervision and training
CBH is a an MCO that is more compasionate that most. CBH began in the late 1990's, and still has many people working there who were pioneers. They are integrated to Philadelphia, and are at the forefront of behavioral health policy in Philadelphia, but also a lackey of Philadelphia's politicians.

They allow a flexable start time. The office in the – more... old Strawbridge building on Market and 8th. They are becoming limited on space and have considered moving. They have a lot of meetings. They will provide food for a meeting about once per yr.

Benefits are pretty good. Pay is better than you will receive working for most hospitals or outpatient clinics, but not as high as other MCO's in this area. A Clinical Care Manager (graduate level work), starts at $46,600. After 2 yrs I was earning $55,000 with minimal overtime.

The computer system is horrible, but they are in the process of replacing it (as of Nov 2012).

I enjoyed the collegiality. My co-workers were very helpful and it is a positive atmosphere to work in. Management was mediocre. Training was poor and supervision was poor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walked into a very challenging position
Infection Preventionist / Nurse Coordinator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 22, 2013
Getting all employees current on CDC guidlelines and meeting the requirements of the company did prove to be challenging in the beginning as all records were not current on everyone. Having to ask employees to repeat TB skin tests when they knew that they had done their yearly update, I had no records to validate that fact. The DON and myself the newest – more... 2 employees of the management team worked well together and she was a strong leaded and good teacher, especially when we had to work on our plan of corrections for Joint Commission – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok workplace
Clinical Care Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 15, 2013
very structured setting with limited flexibility but very well run and ethical overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Down right HORRIBLE!!
Community Counselor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 29, 2012
Pros: pto
Cons: no breaks, hostile environment, the employee turn over rate is outragious.
I would love to know who the so called "former employees" that posted the previous reviews about CBH because I worked there for a number of years and NO ONE and I mean no one was happy working there. The workload is outrageously high when it comes to staff patient ratio, the pay is ridiculous, and you have to constantly watch your back and front to – more... keep from getting your teeth from being knocked out by the patients. But don't take my advice, give them a try for yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to jump start a career ( for some employees such as myself)
Claims Processor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 28, 2012
At CBH we have flexible hours 7:00am 3:00pm 8:00am 4:00pm
9:00am 5:00pm
At CBH it mutured me as a person by working in a clerical field I learned how to enter patient codes into the data base. CBH offered tution reinburstment that help me obtain my assoicate degree in computer science. Most of my co-workers that have been there for the ten years or – more... more that I've been there. We have a relations outside of our jobs so that makes it more exciting to go to work.
The hardest part of the job is getting the hang of your duties. After that its been a piece of cake. The most enjoyable part of the job in birthday, holiday, or when someone is leaving on a good note its always a celebration – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Diverse Value-Oriented Company with excellent benefits
State Reporting Coordinator/Senior QI Analyst (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 31, 2012
Pros: excellent health and 403b plans, great people, location (could walk to work)
Cons: highly political environment, wage compression
Working at CBH provided the opportunit to work with one of the most diverse groups of people whom I have ever met. Being part of the start-up enabled me to learn about the Department of Behavioral Heallth from the ground up. Benefits were excellent. Salaries lagged behind the private sector. The shared commitment to core values was one factor that kept – more... me there for 14 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, room within for advancement and your able to further your education!
Secretary (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 19, 2012
Pros: great benefits, stable employment
Cons: no flexible hours
Community Behavioral Health (CBH) is a not-for-profit 501c (3) corporation contracted by the City of Philadelphia to provide mental health and substance abuse services for Philadelphia County Medicaid recipients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4
Intake Worker (Former Employee), 801 Market stJuly 14, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: would have liked a longer break
I worked Monday through Friday from 8 am -4 PM and I worked one Saturday a month. I referred patients who had mental health problems and drug and alcohol problems. My coworkers were very friendly and very helpful. I love helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management to work with,, hours and benefits not so much
Mentor (Current Employee), Hamilton OhioMarch 14, 2012
Pros: good management, easy to work with.
Cons: poor hours, and lack of benefits.
On the upside, management is great and will work with you on any problems or concerns you may have. On the downside, depends on which department you are assigned, if you can get in the hours for a full time 40 hour a week job, my department is a as needed bases so the hours are very varied, one week over time, next week barely 20 if that. Also alot – more... of split days to get the hours in. work in the am a few hours, then go home and then a few more hours in late afternoon. Also many weekend hours. They do post all new jobs opening and will send you a e-mail about them. At this time I have no benefits but that is due to the as needed bases of my postition. But as I said alot will depend on what department you will be working with. Other departments have full time hours and regular shifts. – less

About COMMUNITY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

Community Behavioral Health (CBH) is a not-for-profit 501c (3) corporation contracted by the City of Philadelphia to provide mental – Read more