Find companies:
Community College of Aurora
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Community College of Aurora Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment, and work environment
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 14, 2014
Pros: structured learning and job training in one place
Cons: convenient work and school schedules
An average workday for me was pleasant, I learned how to work with fellow-students and how to help them manage their daily administrative and sometimes, personal needs. My peers and coworkers were all supportive, never had to deal with conflict.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is training at this school with a lot of support from management
Aurora Language Center (Current Employee), Aurora, COOctober 9, 2014
Pros: there is a lot of training with room to grow.
Cons: job security is lacking
The Aurora Language Center which is part of The Community College of Aurora is a wonderful place to grow in one's career. I learned how to use the projector and computer to teach my classes. The students were wonderful and very eager to learn inspiring me to aid them as much as possible with innovative and creative ways to teach my classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Student (Former Employee), Aurora, COMay 20, 2014
Work day slow
Learned valuable skills
Enjoyed the environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn entry level skills for a position in the Accounting field.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Aurora, COMay 11, 2014
Pros: able to set my hours.
Cons: not enough hours as a work-study student.
My afternoons started mid day for just a few hours a week, as a work-study student. I would assist the accountant with filing and matching invoices. I learned how input reconciliations in their in house system, as well as effectively contacting various departments at various universities. I assisted a few different departments and all the workers were – more... all very busy and helpful. The hardest part of the job is making sure that when I scanned documents that the documents would scan precisely. The most enjoyable part of the job was the relaxed atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and friendly coworkers
Work Study (Former Employee), Aurora, COApril 29, 2014
Pros: long lunches, work your own schedule
Cons: low pay, gossip was always around
A typical day at work started off slow so basic things were taken care of then when it picked up it got tougher and moved more quickly.

I learned that networking is not as easy as it is cut out to be, also learned every workplace has it perks and quirks when i comes to security and programs they use.

The hardest part of the job was that since I was – more... the work-study i wasn't allowed to learn certain things and know certain passwords.

The most enjoyable part of the job was I was in the place in which I understood most of what people were talking about in the IT "language" and i got to learn as I worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does anyone care about what they do?
analyst (Former Employee), Aurora, COMarch 19, 2013
Pros: obviously a social workplace
Cons: apparent lack of work ethic
I went into my job at CCA with a lot of enthusiasm only to find that the people I had to work with excelled in time-suckage and didn't seem to care about getting work done. As a result, I quickly left. If you are a slacker, this may be the employer for you. My manager actually told me to work slowly on projects and not to get noticed right away. I felt – more... like Tom Hanks in Big. Additionally, although I brought a decade of experience to the job, my manager told me that my job was an apprenticeship. It was degrading. He sat in a chair in my office constantly moaning and telling his computer that he hated it while I was trying to work. My manager spent most of his time with his head out the door trying to find people to talk to. I appreciate having a good relationship with coworkers but this was extreme. One of the things that bothered me the most was the College had a newer version of expensive proprietary software (version 18) but my boss insisted that everyone write their code in version 10 which was pre-2000, and contained none of the graphics and ad-ons that made the newer software so robust. As a new employee, my workload was over four years old because no one bothered to update materials in four years, and they suddenly needed the materials because they were going through accreditation. Frankly I am surprised that the overall rating for this place is so high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a varied work place
Simulation Technician (Former Employee), Aurora, CoJanuary 1, 2013
The overall environment was one of urgency and tasks were varied from physical labor to computer operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and encouraging
Research Biologist (Former Employee), Aurora, COMay 23, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule, ability to be creative
Cons: grant funding
In working as a research biologist, I was able to see my research through from concept to final post-flight testing. I wrote proposals to secure a flight, wrote all safety documents, and final reports. I was able to design and build the research payload, and perform flight component testing. Often, revisions had to be made due to the conditions of the – more... flight. For instance, bacteria were modified throught transformation, the media was adjusted, and temperatures had to be maintained throughout the flight. It was challenging to find, or create suitable components for flight, but this was also very educational. It was sometimes challenging to work as a team and discover the strengths of teammates. Seeing the research payloads fly upon the NASA platforms was very fulfilling, however the most enjoyable part of my job was participating in the astronaut training program and flying on the "vomit comet" to perform some biological testing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CCA is a great place to work!
Instructor (Current Employee), Aurora, COMarch 23, 2012
Pros: excellent colleagues
Cons: low remuneration
CCA is a great place to work for those with a passion for the underserved people in our society. The Academic Enrichment Center is committed to helping people achieve the necessary skills for college entrance. The mission is clear with all who work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great cause and exemplary leadership.
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Aurora, ColoradoFebruary 23, 2012
CCA strives to help students in their personal and professional goals. They treat everyone, including faculty, extremely well.