Community Counseling and Mediation Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is one of the worst jobs I have ever had
LMSW (Former Employee) –  BK, NYFebruary 22, 2013
At CCM, the majority of people, fellow workers, were not respected by the supervisory staff.

The supervision was not provided consistently.

Many times LMSWs received no support at all pertaining to clients', or their own, needs.

Also when I was hired, stipulation was 'no work with children' and that is the primary population that was assigned to me. when it was questioned, I was told to 'take it or leave'.

Also, I was not paid for 2 months work because I submitted the time sheet a day late ( even though that was due to a blizzard).

I am not sure where or when the people that posted positive reviews worked but they certainly did not work at the same time or place I did. No one I worked with stayed there long-term and there was nothing but unhappiness of the staff.

If you are thinking about working there, beware.
Cons
no respect, overwork, no supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes17No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work place
Case Planner (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 29, 2015
This was my first social service job,it was challenging,but i learnt so much.I apprecate my supervisor to this day.I enjoyed working here.
The hardest part of my job was working with the teens in the program
The most enjoyable was seeing a child return home or being adopted.
I learnt so much working here,my skills that i have to this day are rooted here,i have only developed and perfected them.
A typical day is lengthy,not a 9-5. Co-workers were supportive .
Pros
family oriented culture
Cons
management was not always supportive, high turn over rate
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at CCM
Administrative Intern (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 10, 2012
A typical day at CCM involves communicating with clients and assisting them based on their individual requirements as detailed by ACS. This for me is the hardest part of the job yet the most enjoyable. There is a level of satisfaction involved with helping families so that the children do not end up in the foster care program.
I work on a daily basis with a very supportive and dynamic team; the same can be said for management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work with for kids
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 13, 2014
This place was a great place to work with because myself I love to work with children and teaching them the basics of reaching higher placer and learning new things because young children are like sponges and they obsevers each and everything that you do or what they see around them..my co workers were cool a typical day was awesome went to field trips and got to know each child personal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome QA Department
Quality Assurance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 19, 2015
I worked as an intern in the Quality Assurance Department where it was a lot for fun and very informative. Opened my eye to the foster care aspect to our city and picked up quite a few skills along the three months of my internship.
Pros
Very Informative
Cons
Didn't cover my commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place with positive people/
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 9, 2015
a typical day at CCM was laid back. it was positive people working there. i learned to be on time. the place was very clean and respectful. my coworkers was cool. there was no hard part about my job. i sat at a desk answering phones. i enjoyed my place of work because i loved my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Administrative Assistant/Intake specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 28, 2013
Assisted counselors with clients by addressing various needs; mental health, substance abuse, recidivism and etc. Responsible for making appropriate referrals, application completion with post-release/discharge planning. Fling, faxing and answering multi phone lines
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still one of the best places I've ever worked
AmeriCorps Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Great place to work all around - the people, the workload, and even the community. If I had the opportunity to go back if a job opened there, I would.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn NySeptember 12, 2013
highly stressful work place, unorganized. Its basically a typical day at work job. I learn a lot from the co-worker they all pull their own weight.
Pros
great staffs
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the children
Director/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 28, 2012
This was a youth program for the community's youth, a wonderful opportunity for anyone that loves to work with the children, unfortunately they lost their funding and had to close.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with teenagers
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 3, 2014
I just went through seminars with the teens. And also produced surveys on sex health, and handed them out in the communities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small office
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 15, 2015
the staff where nice and working there was a pleasure. I did my office duties and normally got off early.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and productive
Psychotherapist, Internship/Practicum (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2013
wonderful clinic with a great staff and ability to learn all aspects of the mental health field
Pros
wonderful
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work.
Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 18, 2013
An okay place to work. I was an intern for the summer so I really don't much about this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging place to work
Site Monitor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 8, 2012
Great company. Great pay. Great people. I learned how to interact with the youth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 5, 2014
Typical day at work was busy but interaction with others made the work day better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 20, 2014
offers a lot of training to enhance knowledge of social work
Pros
training
Cons
no promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Workshop Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 13, 2012
This was a great opportunity for me to give back to the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good establishment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 30, 2014
this company was a really good internship program really engaging its a really good program
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture