COMMUNITY EDUCATION CENTERS, INC. Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Company to work for!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  CMRC Colorado SpringsJuly 21, 2016
I had worked for this company for over five years and it was the worst experience I had ever been in. I worked as a therapist and was asked to have a case load of 135+ required to keep long hours and with no further compensation. The company has had numerous unethical violations towards their employees without an increase in pay for over eight years. The supervisors are inexperienced and often are not monitored for further ethical violations. In my opinion, this company needs to be shut down for breeches of contract with Department of Corrections as well as how they treat the offenders. There are plenty of places to work in Colorado if you have experience in the field of psychology going into CEC would be a bad mistake.
Pros
They provide benefits and a paycheck.
Cons
Poor Supervisors, unethical professionalism, DORA violations, no raises, violent environment with extreme safety violations in terms of working with offenders.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Counselor
Program Counselor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 20, 2016
I've only worked 2 weeks for that company, and they were misleading from the start. During my interview I was told I could do individual and group therapy, and this was a lie. They won't allow you to do individual therapy because they dont want female counselors near the inmates because they think this will somehow lead to flirting. Not being able to interact with the inmates makes it extremely hard to write real progress notes, and many people end up writing fake notes. The lack of one on one interaction with inmates defeats the purpose of hiring program counselors. There is no group therapy, you just have to teach classes. They have limited computers therefore you cannot write notes or do online trainings. You don't have any office space. This is a very low paying job for someone who has a graduate degree, so don't even bother applying because they will pay you the same amount as someone with a bachelors degree. CEC has a high turnover rate, the oldest staff member has been there for a year... The rest are all new. Do not expect any guidance or training from supervisors, you're on your own.
Pros
Some coworkers are good and willing to help you out
Cons
Short breaks, not allowed to use cellphones, strict dresscode, no opportunity for growth, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the spot interview is a bad sign.
Corrections (Former Employee) –  PaJune 1, 2016
Went in for an interview. Seemed disorganized. Short staffed. Temperamental employees. Low pay. High risk. On top of that its unionized so even less pay. And during training $2 less pay. I heard all bad things. Had to turn it down.
Pros
A job.
Cons
A bad job. All. Mostly cons
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would do it all over again under different Circumstances
Journey counselor (Former Employee) –  Susanville state PrisonFebruary 16, 2016
I would do it all over again if I were to get into a different facility
the learning/ training experience could have been better but it was a good place to work. The Director was awesome she handled most situations to the best of her ability as well as HR Dept.
Pros
its a good place to start when the facility management and staff use ethics
Cons
racial remarks are often over looked and supervisor is lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former counselor program (Reading, PA)
counselor (Former Employee) –  reading paFebruary 10, 2016
Overall if you focus on the positive aspects of the company's, is fairly good to be familiar on the correctional system. The basic training is great, the opportunity to growth is not bad, my clinical supervisors were very professional. In terms of benefits they are okay, but to be a private company the pay is ridiculous for the amount of work. This company is still in the Stone age in term of technology, what you could do in 30 minutes with them probably will take more than tedious hours. The good thing is that as Counselor you operate under their license.
Pros
free inmates lunch, paycheck on time, low income.
Cons
as a counselor you should execute tasks that security staff must do it. over case load, no health services inside of the facility, they even have a doctor.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do even waste your time
counselor (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 19, 2015
It's not worth the pay, time, or experience. Don't even waste your time in applying. Too far to travel too. Staff is rude, not concerned, it's a terrible mess!
Pros
none at allll
Cons
false hope
Was this review helpful?Yes44No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the ethics of this company
TRANSITIONAL COUNSELOR (Current Employee) –  Calipatria, CAOctober 8, 2015
i am happy here but will always be ready to go for long term permanent employment. CEC is the best I have worked for and has the most contracts around US so i am excited to have a lot more choice in being able to stay employed by the same company until retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes18No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't Wait to get out!
Program Counselor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, ILSeptember 16, 2015
I have been working here for about a year now. No room to move up in the company. Supervisor is terrible. No training or direction from supervisor. I feel that I am really on my own and the company is just waiting for me to crash and burn.
Pros
State Benefits
Cons
Management, Caseload, Low Pay, No Supplies, No Support
Was this review helpful?Yes54No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!!!!!
Counselor (Former Employee) –  FloridaMay 7, 2015
Staff is semi-okay supervisor horrible horrible horrible and all you are doing is being watched more then the clients my advice is don't reply don't go run away run far and run fast
Pros
There are none
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes88No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning opportunities for non experienced counselors
Program Counselor (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJanuary 9, 2015
This company and program are probably well defined on paper; however, there is no consistency in the program itself and unfortunately you wound up encouraging manipulation or bribery just to do your job. Counselors double as corrections officers and are expected to perform bed and grooming inspections, and in the case of bad weather are expected to cook and serve food to offenders. Counselors will spend 7 out of 8 hours a day in housing units with up to 80 offenders and are expected to utilize cognitive therapy to get offenders to be compliant with the program (hence this is where manipulation and bribery come in)
Pros
free prison lunches, free supervision & free continuing education units toward csac & lpc certification
Cons
no breaks (except lunch), a lot of confinement, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes140No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away.
Operations Counselor (Current Employee) –  ATEf - Columbiana, ALOctober 28, 2014
I have been working at Community Education Centers full-time (more than 3 years)

Things you should know:
1) You will be fired for refusing to work overtime. In this case, overtime means that you will work 16 hours, get 8 off, and then come right back
2) You are defenseless
3) Upper management would rather hire someone new than train people they have
4) Your supervisor's last job was as a secretary, or maybe working at Jack's as a supervisor over burger flippers
5) This place is poorly managed and supervised, and has had numerous brushes with DOC
Pros
the paychecks show up on time. some of your fellow employees are great.
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes184No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry-level position
Assessment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJSeptember 18, 2014
If you're looking to work in the psychology or criminal justice field, this is a great start. You will become familiarized with the types of people and environments you will be working in if you were to pursue this type of career path. In the assessment department, the focus was on identifying and evaluating the risks and therapeutic needs of residents. This consisted mainly of reviewing files, testing and interviewing residents, and report writing. Not much room for advancement in the assessment department.
Pros
work independently, interesting
Cons
cynicism, corruption, difficult population to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes148No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has so much potential...great for professional newbies.
Program Counselor (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMarch 2, 2013
Family oriented work environment, with opportunities to grow while at the facility. A typical day can be full of challenges and chaos, as there are always requests of offenders, supervisors and security. Most of the day is spent encouraging group dialogue, educating, diffusing situations which can cause or contribute to stress and tension, as well as individual counseling. This job is about constant change and a high caseload. There is never a dull moment, and there is a lesson to always learn.
Pros
free lunch, long break, secure facility, open space
Cons
establishments are about 10 min away for lunch, everything must be transported in a clear bag.
Was this review helpful?Yes129No30

Overall rating

1.9
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
1.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.0
Job Security/Advancement
1.5
Management
1.7
Culture
2.0

COMMUNITY EDUCATION CENTERS, INC. Reviews by Job Title

COMMUNITY EDUCATION CENTERS, INC. Reviews by Location