Find companies:
Community Education Centers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Community Education Centers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Unit Counselor (Current Employee), Kearny,New JerseySeptember 17, 2014
If Your Trying to working in Law Enforcement Or Correction This Is the Job For You
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss but the pay was too low to stay in the job
AOD Counselor (Former Employee), West Caldwell, NJSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great work hours with a flexible schedule that allowed me to attend grad school
Cons: very low pay
I loved the work and my boss who was the most supportive person i have ever met. The pay was very low although the benefits were quite good. This was an excellent stepping stone to getting hired by the PA DOC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Employee (Current Employee), IllinoisAugust 29, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed my employment with this company. I learned valuable skills that I can carry over to new employers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superviser is moody at best. No advancment oppertunities.
Asst. Maintenance sup. (Current Employee), Brackettville, Tx.August 5, 2014
Pros: sometimes get off early on fridays and bosses do seem to care.
Cons: too many bosses and too much "make up" work to do.
Always worried about what mood my sup. is in that day before I show up to work. He rarely remembers what is going on from day to day. Extremely POOR management skills. Very poor personnel skills. Un personable when first approached. Extremely intelligent though and a hard worker.
No advancement opportunities. Managers have ZERO prioritizing skills or – more... methods. Money management seems to be an issue as well.
Hardest part of the job is having to deal with more than one boss and I'm low man on the totem pole. Managers ALWAYS trip over one another during verbal communicating.
Most enjoyable is when sup. is in a good mood and we can actually get allot accomplished and do some joking around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Business Office Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 14, 2014
Monthly billing for 750 inmates for Philadelphia Prisons System/Pennsylvania DOC & Bucks County
 Provide financial and accounting advice, direction and leadership
 Responsible for the supervision and training of new staff level employees
 Three direct reports and four sites that report all A/R, billing, purchasing, and other related business functions – more... to ensure accuracy of expenses and revenue
 Monitor department spending and recommend corrective actions as necessary
 Review invoices for headcount vs. billing accuracy for funding sources
 Reconcile account as well as Petty Cash and Operation account
 Monthly meetings with Philadelphia Prisons System regarding inmate’s funds
 Conduct financial analysis and prepare detailed financial reports and statements
 Develop and implement purchasing practices and monitor the purchasing system
 Verify and process all accounts payable documents
 Research and resolve invoice discrepancies
 Perform month end account analysis, generate and distribute monthly financial reports
 Ensures that Corporate Business Office Fiscal Policies and Procedure are adhered – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEC at Indian Creek Correctional is AWFUL!
Program Counselor (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: management, poor pay, constant turnover, no support
A typical day at work is never typical. Things are always changing and there is always a different way to do the same thing. They work much harder and less smarter. Great Co-workers, awful managment. Hardest part of the job is dealing with managment. Most enjoyable part of the job is when you go home at the end of the day. Pay is ridiculously low. $28,000 – more... for a Bachelor's degree?! No! Run away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Former Employee), Chester, PAJuly 1, 2014
i worked at the prison in delaware county and it was a good job but they weren't to understanding about peoples situations and also they didn't have paid military leave
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
CORRECTIONS OFFICER (Former Employee), lisbon ohioApril 27, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
not really my favorite at all. but some people enjoy this work i guess it really depends on the person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Corrections Facilities - Halfway House
Lead Maintenance (Current Employee), Littleton, COApril 7, 2014
Pros: helping people with their self esteem.
Cons: seeing someone released and then come back to the center.
Working around people transitioning from being locked up to a normal functioning life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client oriented
Program Counselor (Former Employee), Newark, NJMarch 13, 2014
Pros: team oriented
Cons: sluggish computer system
Employer is supportive of growth of employees. Each day your job functions may vary. Excellent co-workers and cultural diverse..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Employee Relations, there was never a dull moment.
Director of Employee Relations (Former Employee), West Caldwell, NJFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lunches were availabe every day.
Cons: health care program was inferior to most plans
In was a decent company, but unfortunately, politics were very concentrated within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and working environment
Clinical Coordinator (Former Employee), Newark, NJFebruary 11, 2014
Professional staff, goal oriented and compassionate. A typical work day is very busy and can be stressful if an employee does not focus on boundaries, self care and physical wellness. The ability to assist clients with improving the overall quality of their lives was one of the most valuable parts of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work Environment
Program Counselor (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: new relationships and learning experiences
Cons: healthcare, pay, career & educational advancement
A typical day as a Program Counselor consisted of facilitating daily groups, conducting assessments , case management, filing and individual counseling . I have learned to effectively communicate with others, make independent decisions, utilize interviewing/ information gathering and problem solving skills. I had a working and respectful relationship – more... with all of my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the unprofessional and unethical practices of leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security. Revolving Door. Poor Management Chesapeake, VA
Program Counselor (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch (not that great), stable 7-4 schedule, feeling like you are helping the inmates that want help
Cons: management, money, poor leadership, high caseloads, high unrealistic expectations, inconsistency, high turnover
This position will offer you no job security. They have to always post an opening because people are fired so often that they are in a constant state of hiring. Due to this the current employees are always struggling with high caseloads and unrealistic expectations. Management are called Clinical Supervisors which would lead one to think that you would – more... be able to receive free supervision toward licensure but that couldn't be farther than the truth. Most only have Bachelor's degrees and no CSAC. In this position, there is low pay and the requirement that you get your CSAC certification. Do the math. You get paid bare minimum paychecks and then have to use that money to pay an outside source for CSAC supervision. JUST. SAY. NO. to this company. Managment is awful. Pay is awful. Job security is awful. HR is the worst. Run! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace geared toward reducing recidivism
Assistant to Director of Classification (Current Employee), Newark, NJJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: rewarding when clients complete program successfully.
Cons: short breaks, rude staff, inconsistent rules, expensive benefits with low pay.
A typical work day consists of trouble shooting, assisting clients who are still incarcerated reintegrate into the community, assist with any and all legal issues, assist in reducing recidivism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive,and a fast pace workplace
Short Order Cook (Former Employee), Newark, NJDecember 30, 2013
Work was pretty good. I learned how to operate the industrial dishwashing machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Experience
Clinician Intern (Former Employee), Newark, NJDecember 5, 2013
Daily, I counseled clients. Weekly, I facilitated group. Daily, I conferred with case workers about clients progress. Case workers were supportive, and supervision was extremely helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, busy, non stop kitchen
food service worker (Current Employee), philadelphia,paDecember 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch, no micro managers
Cons: poor communication, no performance evaluations and no raises
My typical day starts at 4am when I arrive to work and obtain my keys and radio. I enter the kitchen an turn on all equipment needed for the first meal movement. I then check the menu for the first meal movement and I pull out what is needed. The 4am kitchen worker call is announced and I continue working until the residents come to the kitchen to assist. – more... We follow all dietary requirements and ensure all residents are served the proper portions of food. Once the first meal movement is over we began lunch around 530am and once completed we set up the serving line, clean the kitchen and serve the food at the designated time. My shift ends at 12pm so I check the menu for the next day, communicate with the supervisor and pull out what needs to be thawed or prepped and I clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the Experience
Substance Abuse and Alcohol Counselor (Former Employee), New Castle, DEOctober 20, 2013
Pros: trainings
Cons: pay
Nice place to work for an entry level position. Not to fond of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Social Worker/ Case Management (Current Employee), New JerseyOctober 17, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: short luches
It's a learning experience a good place to work. Large caseloads with minimum supervision.

1 2 3