Find companies:
COMMUNITY LIVING OPTIONS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

COMMUNITY LIVING OPTIONS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
DSP/Cook (Former Employee), Galesburg, ILMay 4, 2014
I worked for this company first as a DSP then as the head cook for the 16 bed group home. As a DSP its pretty decent and laid back in the home that I was in. You get to go on outings with the residents, and trips, all free to you while still getting paid so that's pretty cool. As the cook I basically prepared all the meals and did the inventory and – more... ordering of all the food so it was okay. They do have a strict policy on being on time for work even if its one minute late, other than that its a decent company to work for compared to most places Ive worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Direct support professional Supervisor (Current Employee), North Branch, MNMarch 11, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: staff quite alot
i love the clients, but with changing of house management makes it a little stress full.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work around your life
Program support staff (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 19, 2014
Good company to work for, decent pay, management can sometimes demand things and never did the job before.... Good job for a student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job. so far the best I have had.
Residential Assistant (Former Employee), Galesburg, IllinoisJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: you get one meal provided daily that you work. you also get vacation time and benefits.
Cons: i don't think think they are paid enough for all the work that is done.
there was always something to do to stay busy so the day goes fast and is fun. A typical day consisted of cleaning, doing laundry, giving showers, taking residents on outings, driving the handicap equipped van, running programs, giving out doctor ordered medications, entering daily activities into a computer program linked through out the company, some – more... times cook, changed depends, transferred residents when needed, take blood pressure and temps. when needed. making sure that everything the resident need was taken care of, and attended monthly meetings. I learned how to do medicine passes, CPR, first aid and how to address some medical and mental illnesses.my house manager was wonderful. My co-workers where great people to work with. I really cant think of a hard part to this job. The most enjoyable part of the job was working and spending time with the residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is different.
Direct Care Staff (Current Employee), Ham Lake, MNOctober 4, 2013
Pros: working with very special people.
Cons: some people not working as a team, however it all works out good.
There really isn't a typical day at work, you have different clients at any given day. They all have different day programs, however after they return home from their day program you greet them and asked about their day. They then start there chores and therapies and have snack and maybe meds. You learn about different situations, behaviors and what – more... might be planned for the day/evening. The management is great, keeps the house and every thing else up and running smooth and also keeps staff well informed on any changes. My co-workers are good people, most work as a team and in the home this is needed. There really ins't a hard part in this job but the most enjoyable part of this job is the CLIENTS, watching them grow and learn. (Very Rewarding). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you can handle crabby clients
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), Pine City, MNMarch 12, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: short break, not easy work.
I worked with high functioning clients. It was going fine until they started to have behaviors and lash out at anyone. You always had to renew your cpr/first aid training course witch is now every 2 years. Along with cpi/tmi traing witch was embarrassing everytime. The co-workers were oaky to work with as long as they didint come in drunk or high from – more... the night before. And then there was some that took their job way too seriously. The hardest part is learning to deal with clients with high behaviors and the most enjoyable is when you got to go out to eat with them on the company's dime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide support to person with mental illness or developmental disabilities
Program Support Staff (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 8, 2013
CLO is a wonderful place to work for and I have only one complaint there is not much upward movement into management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company time very demanding
Direct Support Person (DSP) (Current Employee), Jacksonville, IllinoisFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: free meal, 3 weeks accumulated vacation time in first year, great pay
Cons: no breaks, little flexibility, demanding administration
The company is ultra-strict and allows little flexibility. However, they create a great environment for their residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible , and backwards
group home (Former Employee), ham lake mnSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: fun days
Cons: always screwed up pay checks, rules were never followed, theft, lieing, empty promises, mal treatment to clients
I loved the clients and my house manager , very easy going job paid outings , family based meals and fun things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational and a good atmosphere.
Certified Nurse Aide (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJune 13, 2012
A typical day at work can be hectic because you deal with individuals with mental illness but, if you have patience then it is expected. The company has been around for 25 years and is very much like a family environment. Management are really nice and caring. Very nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted living close to that of a CNA
Overnight Team Leader (Former Employee), JacksonvilleJune 9, 2012
Pros: wage, hours
Cons: management not knowing how to do their job
Helping Residents with daily tasks that seem simple but something as simple as brushing their teeth and getting dressed is near to impossible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving environment
Counselor (Former Employee), Stacy, MNJanuary 14, 2012
Pros: meals for staff, breaks at will, company paid for staff at outings too, ect.
I really loved working with the clients in their home and in the community. It was a fun way to get out and interact with different people. I loved knowing that I was making a difference in someone's life and knowing that they felt that I was too. The staff really worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace.
Program support staff (Former Employee), Kalamazoo MichiganNovember 17, 2011
I enjoyed working at CLO. They are a great company with a lot of good ideas. I did not enjoy the empty promises made to me. They never explained any thing clearly and gave a lot of false information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work environment
Psychosocial Support Worker LVL (Former Employee), adelaideNovember 14, 2013
Pros: salary sacrifice
Cons: unsuitable hours for staff and clients
As a team leader I faced many challenges which is why I enjoy this role. I worked alongside some very motivated and passionate people who shared the same passions as I in providing the best outcomes for the clients in our direct care. The hardest part of this role is accessing funds and opportunities suited to the individual. I have learnt many things – more... in this role including ways to assist people who have a personality disorder. I have gained more experience in a supervisory role also – less