Community Services Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Services
Behavior Specialist (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PANovember 12, 2017
At community services I was given a fair amount of responsibility, training, and expectations. The company offers many different positions, trainings, and resources to help its BHRS employees be successful.
Pros
Great people to work with, fair compensation
Cons
Lots of work stress, constant traveling, unconventional hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Residential Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mountville, PAOctober 4, 2017
There is no room for advancement due to little job opportunities and employees not leaving the positions. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the individuals and giving them a higher quality of life,
Pros
Flexable schedule
Cons
No job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret
Mental Health Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PA 17602September 9, 2017
Typical case management job, my biggest issue with the job is that although we are not REQUIRED to transport clients, it is something we do on a day to day basis.
Pros
To
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping individuals with IDD
Assisting IDD (Current Employee) –  Mountville, PAAugust 27, 2017
A nice place to work, helping others with there daily living. Enjoyed outings with clients to the movies and other venues of their choice. Must be able to adapt to clients different abilities to care for themselves.
Pros
satisfaction of helping people with daily living
Cons
pay is not appropriate for what is asked of employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Annapolis mdAugust 10, 2017
I appreciate working here i loved all the staff and children i really loved working for this company my boss was awesome and so was the staff was here almost 5 years and hated leaving i cried when i left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides good community support
RN (Former Employee) –  Lewistown, PAAugust 8, 2017
Good job potential. Large company, sometimes difficult to reach correct supervisor. Very autonomous position with positive employee input. Excellent training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the IDD
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  Lock Haven, PAAugust 3, 2017
I loved working in the one house. My supervisor was great and very helpful. The employees that have been there for many years are eager to help you learn. Working with the individuals who were in the home was very rewarding. Seeing them get excited over the little things is amazing and it makes you feel good.
Pros
the employees and the individuals are great to work with
Cons
no benefits for part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job working with great people
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 24, 2017
I love the people I work with and the clients I work with. Management lacks communication skills and when a problem is reported, it goes nowhere. Decent pay but no raises or bonuses hardly ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Residential Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 14, 2017
This job is a self rewarding job. You have to care about what you do and the people you work with. This is a very mentally draining job, and has a bad turn over rate. You have to be able to know when to take care of not just your physical health but your own mental health as well. You might not currently have mental health issues but may develop them because of how draining the work can be from time to time. Thankfully supervisors and the company itself understand this and your given off when needed.
Pros
you can work as little or as much as you want
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Direct support staff (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 12, 2017
if you are looking for a career where there will be opportunity for advancement. this is not the company. room for advancement at this organization is minimal. It is a great starter job for individuals with no experience in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Support Provider
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  200 W Market St. York, PA 17401July 10, 2017
Helping support individuals in daily living routines. Management treat employees very well. Job Security very good. Easy balance between personal life and work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Friendly place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 6, 2017
Everyone was friendly and welcomed me in as a new hire. They are helpful. They have great activity's. They appreciate everyone. They
give you free stuff. They are polite and honest. They give you prizes .
Cons
Health Care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unorganized
Residential Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Allentown, PAJuly 5, 2017
Have been employed here for over 1 year and it has been no walk in the park. I walked into a complete mess of a situation and made it my personal task to clean up what the previous supervisor left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment stressful
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJuly 4, 2017
The work environment is stressful due to under staffing, management of the staffing, governmental regulations changing, limited flexibility with time off, not providing sufficient transportation for clients and having the expectations that employees will provide their personal vehicle to transport clients.
Pros
Supervisors are good and try to help
Cons
transportation issues for clients and changing of staff too frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent benefits package, several locations
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 27, 2017
I am a former employee whom worked with CSg as a Direct support staff person in Lancaster. typical day- duties overwhelming as there was barely time to visit the bathroom facilities & short staffed for amount of work expected. I learned a great deal about working with other agencies, exceptional clinical medical professionals, client diversity, and overall various dynamics of different depts. However, the management displayed an inability to relate to the various clinical staff whom were on the front lines working with the patients, & the management displayed little/no knowledge of how to work with a professionally trained staff & circumstances that may arise with patients. The workplace culture was somewhat uncomfortable at times due to certain staff would complain about the management behind closed doors, and then when in front of them, display a different attitude entirely.
Pros
ability to work with other depts.; the clients.
Cons
Robotic Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Individuals, Poor Management
Vocational (Current Employee) –  Sunbury, PAJune 26, 2017
I love working with the individuals who seek treatment at the company. If there is at least 1 success, it makes a world of difference in what I do to help them. However, management does not involve themselves in the programs that they manage. They do not know the ins and outs and the problems that their employees face. Couple that with many county and state budget cuts, many of the programs within CSG are hurting. Love the program and the individuals, but it is sad to see a dying program with poor management at the helm.
Pros
Great working with the individuals
Cons
Poor management at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with many opportunities
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Mountville, PAJune 15, 2017
This is a company with many opportunities for women and there were many women in managerial positions. During my period of employment, there was a female CEO.

The company provides mental health and mental retardation programs, including day programs, to various communities.
Pros
Company bonuses, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive rewarding career
Assistant Program Director (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 11, 2017
Oversees multiple group home and focuses on month to month and annual responsibilities. this job teaches you to think creatively and outside the box. Management was always supportive, as well as those below. The company overall has a good positive culture. The hardest part of the job is trying to work with the individuals but remaining in compliance with state regulations, even if it is for the clients benefit. It is hard to have keep work at work when working with clients with in depth needs.
Pros
rewarding career, worthwhile
Cons
A field that is so deserving that is not backed by enough funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of my favorite places
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Corsicana, TXJune 5, 2017
worked here under a program so wasn't offered much but the initial learning experience and staff at this job was wonderful supervisor down to the head person where very nice and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work depending on the house
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMay 31, 2017
I enjoyed the aim/mission of CSG, but all the houses were not run the same unfortunately. Pushed to work beyond limits despite saying "no" several times. The houses were supposed to follow a certain set of standards put in place by the state, yet I would not work in certain houses due to the laziness of staff, poor unmanaged behaviors of individuals, or messy house. Favoritism was key in the workplace. I started out with raves and great reviews, and then rumors started spreading.
Pros
Choosing what houses to work in
Cons
Low pay, favoritism amongst management and staff, inconsistent standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Services Group, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4