Find companies:
Companion Animal Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Companion Animal Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and Unprofessional work environment.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Albany, GADecember 15, 2014
I do not feel this is a professional or organized work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Kennel Manager (Former Employee), Hudson, FLAugust 7, 2014
Pros: layed back
Cons: no benefits
busy phones
co workers are great
most enjoyed clients and their pets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Client Services/Receptionist (Current Employee), Benton, KYJune 18, 2014
Pros: co-workers kept a great work relationship, love working with animals and their owners
Cons: not enough hours
Open Clinic
Clock in
Check messages and turn off machine.
Unlock doors .
Turn on lights .
Check hospital for new patients and find out why they are here and what their status is.

Checking in Patients
Greet clients with a smile.
Enter data in computer per new client.
Make up chart.
Show them to exam room.
Let the doctor or technician know

Checking out Patients
Go over everything in work file with client.
Sometimes put in charges, weight, and prescriptions.
Sell product.
Make sure clients are aware of product rebates.
Take payments.
Update clients record if any changes have been made.
Set appointment if a follow up is required.

Answer the Phone
Answer with a smile.
Set appointments.
Answer questions and give prices on product and services.
Take messages.
Reserve boarding.
Refill prescriptions.

Extras
Check fax machine throughout the day, print and deliver to person intended for that fax.
Fax records requested.
Update history on patients.
Call backs.
Fill prescriptions.
Clean up after a pet or exam room when needed.
Filing when possible.
Mail New Client letters/reward postcards

Check in Boarders
Fill out boarding card accurately.
Make sure any exams or baths are noted on board.
Leave all belongings for each pet together so that they can be labeled.
Lead each pet to their destination in kennels.
Change the reserved spot in boarding to occupied.
Check out Boarders
Make sure charges are correct and everything is added (refills, baths, exams, etc)
Let kennel manager know they are ready to go home.
Make sure all belongings go home with dog or cat.

End of Day
Call and remind appointments for next business day.
Fill out surgery authorization sheets.
Print out boarding cards, arrival/departure report.
Make sure all boarders or surgeries that go home the same day are gone or find out if they are staying.

Close up Clinic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work in the small town atmosphere
Personal Assistant for husband/wife veterinarians (Former Employee), Cheney, KSApril 29, 2014
This job required many different "hats" to be worn which allowed for an exciting day every day. Lots of interaction with the community. Helping people find their new residence was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always educational
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee), Belmont, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: always learning
Cons: no health care
heavy telephones, making appointments, filing charts, order and stocking pet supplies. checking out when appointment is over. hardest to see ill pets, best to see healthy pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high pace office and everyone worked very well together and all friends
Receptionist (Former Employee), Lewisburg, TNFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: made friends for life with the people i worked with at companion
Cons: no insurance offered
This office was a high pace hospital. I would assist with emergencies, surgeries, or run the front office alone. Answer high volume of incoming calls while handling in-person inquiries from clients and colleagues. Definitely learned a lot, I always worked in grocery stores or catering. I wanted to learn a different trade, so I learned a lot from the doctor and vet techs in surgery and rooms. Office manager is the best mentor for teaching me how to be an outstanding receptionist. The hardest part of the job was dealing with people who neglected or abused their animals. The most enjoyable part was working with people and helping their pets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Veterinarians
Business manager (Former Employee), San Carlos, CADecember 15, 2013
Pros: the work was enjoyable and comfortable
Cons: the business closed
Running the business office and operated as a technician when we were short-staffed. I really miss this place. I would still be there if it hadn't closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine there
Receptionist/Assistant (Current Employee), Groton, CTDecember 2, 2013
It was Pleasant to work there. Great environment. The clients made it fun as well as the staff and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes was a fun place to work other times was very sad.
Business Office Administrator (Former Employee), San Carlos, CADecember 1, 2013
Pros: meeting all the clients and their pets.
Cons: terminally ill pets.
I was the Business Office Admin. Every morning I ran a report for all the sales from the day before and made sure everything balanced with the cash receipts. Entered and paid bills. Managed all the receptionist. Client services and handled all client complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: being around animals all day
Cons: short lunch breaks
I learned how to work around sick animals and how to draw their blood, and how to run tests, and give shots, and even give sick animals fluids. All co-workers were nice and willing to help me learn. Hardest part of the job was having to put animals down, who were terminally ill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
KENNEL MANAGER/VETERINARIAN TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Spring, TXAugust 29, 2013
Family owned practice and they brought all there stress from home to work and took it out on the employees. I became very close to the owner but his wife the office manager made it unbearable to work for. I learned to become a technician here I am very thankful for that opportunity. Co workers were also wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
questionable
Kennel Assistant (Former Employee), Hudson, FLJuly 27, 2013
Pros: good vet, good groomers
Cons: expensive, cats all over
Busy, dogs coming in and out some times without appointment, cleaning pens, and dog yard and a lot of laundry. That is all i can and will say. keep my name out of it. I do still have friends working thier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work or bring pets for medical care
Receptionist/Tech (Former Employee), Spring, TXJuly 3, 2013
There were so many things I didn't agree with and objected to everyday I was there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Veterinarian Technician (Former Employee), Hammond, LAApril 22, 2013
Great Place, Slow practice with not much to do. Great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity, environment
Receptionist/Customer Service (Former Employee), Shallotte, NCJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: enjoyed coming to work
Cons: my commute
Found the staff, work environment, salary to be exceptional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun environment.
Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee), Safford, AZOctober 18, 2012
I miss working here. Fast pace and always busy. I learned how to work well with people and animals. The management was great. I got along with all my co-workers. Hardest part was when an animal was too sick too save. Most enjoyable was the fun atmosphere and working with animal, and being able to help them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Kennel Assistant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 26, 2012
Pros: customers, animals, discount for my pets
Cons: no room for growth in company (small)
Small local animal hospital in Jacksonville. Great people, clients, and pets. The Doctor was amazing with all animals and employees. This was a wonderful job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave-Driven Environment.
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 6, 2012
Pros: got to wear our own scrubs.
Cons: no breaks, can only take lunch after surgery is completed
The owners do not promote autonomy or converse with employees other than on business issues, which isn't a bad thing, it just makes it an uncomfortable working environment. There are no benefits at all. No sick days, holidays or health insurance and the owner's leave it to their discretion whether they will decide, after a year of employment, if they will give you a paid or unpaid one-week vacation. Duties consisted of all hospital work: lab work, patient notes, surgery monitoring, cleaning cages, bathing and laundry. It is stressful because they only hire one veterinary technician for the practice which puts all the weight on the one person they hire. I did learn the "old school" radiology developing which is a requirement if you are taking an online course to obtain a degree for veterinary technician.