Companion Animal Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal Craze
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 12, 2017
You assist all customers and other employees. You maintain the retail inventory. You're required to perform kennel duties as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You wont get told what you did correctly, only what you did wrong.
Vet Tech Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, ALNovember 16, 2016
Workers are wonderful to one another and help one another. Everyone is and must be kind and gentle to the animals, which is good. Customers love how good the employees are with the pets.
The owner and manager will treat you like a common ant worker and will make you depressed. Nothing you do is good enough.
Pros
Get payed well. Get good work and animal experience.
Cons
You will not be treated like a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace as far as the staff and supervisors went was typically a positive and rewarding environment.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 4, 2016
My typical duties when I started were more or less general custodial work (cleaning dog runs, walking dogs, and providing necessities to the animals).

The management was fair I felt, they were interested in facilitating a productive and positive work environment.

Some of my co-workers at times had a tendency toward being harsh to the management and clients alike but for the most part they were acceptable work associates.

The hardest part of the job is helping care for disabled animals without direct supervision; walking, giving medication, etc.
Pros
Positive workplace
Cons
At times is messy work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are great
Veterinarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXDecember 18, 2015
it was fun working there. i learned alot from my co-workers. worked directly with doctors and specialist alike. i would recommend this place to anyone who loves animals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Veterinarians
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 27, 2015
I greatly enjoyed working at this facility. The doctors where great to work for and very compassionate. It was great developing relationships with the pets and their owners.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and Unprofessional work environment.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 15, 2014
I do not feel this is a professional or organized work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Kennel Manager (Former Employee) –  Hudson, FLAugust 7, 2014
busy phones
co workers are great
most enjoyed clients and their pets
Pros
layed back
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Client Services/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Benton, KYJune 18, 2014
Open Clinic
Clock in
Check messages and turn off machine.
Unlock doors .
Turn on lights .
Check hospital for new patients and find out why they are here and what their status is.

Checking in Patients
Greet clients with a smile.
Enter data in computer per new client.
Make up chart.
Show them to exam room.
Let the doctor or technician know

Checking out Patients
Go over everything in work file with client.
Sometimes put in charges, weight, and prescriptions.
Sell product.
Make sure clients are aware of product rebates.
Take payments.
Update clients record if any changes have been made.
Set appointment if a follow up is required.

Answer the Phone
Answer with a smile.
Set appointments.
Answer questions and give prices on product and services.
Take messages.
Reserve boarding.
Refill prescriptions.

Extras
Check fax machine throughout the day, print and deliver to person intended for that fax.
Fax records requested.
Update history on patients.
Call backs.
Fill prescriptions.
Clean up after a pet or exam room when needed.
Filing when possible.
Mail New Client letters/reward postcards

Check in Boarders
Fill out boarding card accurately.
Make sure any exams or baths are noted on board.
Leave all belongings for each pet together so that they can be labeled.
Lead each pet to their destination in kennels.
Change the reserved spot in boarding to occupied.
Check out Boarders
Make sure charges are correct and everything is added (refills, baths, exams, etc)
Let kennel manager know they are ready to go home.
Make sure all belongings go
  more... home with dog or cat.

End of Day
Call and remind appointments for next business day.
Fill out surgery authorization sheets.
Print out boarding cards, arrival/departure report.
Make sure all boarders or surgeries that go home the same day are gone or find out if they are staying.

Close up Clinic
  less
Pros
Co-workers kept a great work relationship, love working with animals and their owners
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work in the small town atmosphere
Personal Assistant for husband/wife veterinarians (Former Employee) –  Cheney, KSApril 29, 2014
This job required many different "hats" to be worn which allowed for an exciting day every day. Lots of interaction with the community. Helping people find their new residence was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always educational
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Belmont, CAFebruary 22, 2014
heavy telephones, making appointments, filing charts, order and stocking pet supplies. checking out when appointment is over. hardest to see ill pets, best to see healthy pets.
Pros
always learning
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high pace office and everyone worked very well together and all friends
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNFebruary 13, 2014
This office was a high pace hospital. I would assist with emergencies, surgeries, or run the front office alone. Answer high volume of incoming calls while handling in-person inquiries from clients and colleagues. Definitely learned a lot, I always worked in grocery stores or catering. I wanted to learn a different trade, so I learned a lot from the doctor and vet techs in surgery and rooms. Office manager is the best mentor for teaching me how to be an outstanding receptionist. The hardest part of the job was dealing with people who neglected or abused their animals. The most enjoyable part was working with people and helping their pets.
Pros
Made friends for life with the people I worked with at Companion
Cons
No insurance offered
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Veterinarians
Business manager (Former Employee) –  San Carlos, CADecember 15, 2013
Running the business office and operated as a technician when we were short-staffed. I really miss this place. I would still be there if it hadn't closed.
Pros
The work was enjoyable and comfortable
Cons
The business closed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine there
Receptionist/Assistant (Current Employee) –  Groton, CTDecember 2, 2013
It was Pleasant to work there. Great environment. The clients made it fun as well as the staff and patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes was a fun place to work other times was very sad.
Business Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Carlos, CADecember 1, 2013
I was the Business Office Admin. Every morning I ran a report for all the sales from the day before and made sure everything balanced with the cash receipts. Entered and paid bills. Managed all the receptionist. Client services and handled all client complaints.
Pros
Meeting all the clients and their pets.
Cons
Terminally ill pets.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Veterinary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 30, 2013
I learned how to work around sick animals and how to draw their blood, and how to run tests, and give shots, and even give sick animals fluids. All co-workers were nice and willing to help me learn. Hardest part of the job was having to put animals down, who were terminally ill.
Pros
Being around animals all day
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
questionable
Kennel Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hudson, FLJuly 27, 2013
Busy, dogs coming in and out some times without appointment, cleaning pens, and dog yard and a lot of laundry. That is all i can and will say. keep my name out of it. I do still have friends working thier
Pros
good vet, good groomers
Cons
expensive, cats all over
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work or bring pets for medical care
Receptionist/Tech (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXJuly 3, 2013
There were so many things I didn't agree with and objected to everyday I was there
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Veterinarian Technician (Former Employee) –  Hammond, LAApril 22, 2013
Great Place, Slow practice with not much to do. Great people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity, environment
Receptionist/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Shallotte, NCJanuary 31, 2013
Found the staff, work environment, salary to be exceptional.
Pros
enjoyed coming to work
Cons
my commute
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Kennel Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 26, 2012
Small local animal hospital in Jacksonville. Great people, clients, and pets. The Doctor was amazing with all animals and employees. This was a wonderful job.
Pros
customers, animals, discount for my pets
Cons
no room for growth in company (small)
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Companion Animal Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5

Companion Animal Hospital Reviews by Location