Find companies:
Compass Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
715 reviews

Compass Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Banquet Operations Associate (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Fun place to work with comunication with clients. Compass group focus always on cleint satification and go extra miles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Lobby Receptionist/Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great staff
Work was amazing! I was able to take charge in certain areas, worked with the best team, and had a great management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for Compass for 19 years and there were challenges, but, it was a wonderful experience.
Supervisor, Cook (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: 401k and match. freedom to plan and cook menus & caterings.
Cons: being laid off.
Prep for caterings set up for breakfast, prep cook for the day, cook and serve lunch, check in deliveries, inventory, all around running of the cafeteria. I learned many aspects of the business. Management was a phone call away and supplied extra help when needed. Throughout the years there were challenges but at the end of the day we were all proud – more... of our accomplishments. The hardest part of the job was the computer. The most enjoyable were the customers and the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work incentives for doing good inventory.
vending driver (Current Employee), Greenville SCSeptember 4, 2014
a typical days work is filling vending machines and loading up for the next day. Work long hours everyday 12 to 15 hours a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervised 8 associates that took calls from internal employees on how to update timesheets to pay employees
Staff- Strategic Plan Analyst (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
A typical work day would involve reviewing complex timesheet errors, working with shift managers and supervisors to make sure timesheets were updated correctly. Executed timesheets through the system so employees can be paid in a timely fashion. Also, took the high level questions that the employees couldn't handle on an individual basis, make the corrections, – more... teach the employee and manager on how to prevent the problem in the future. Retain the information in writing so the employee could access the information when the problem came up again. One of the hardest parts of this job was to keep the employees out of each others personal lives and focused on the business. The department was developed to the point it ran smoothly and the employees kept going on the internet and their personal phones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on which department you're in, you either love it or hate it!
Event Technician (Former Employee), Redmond, WAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: free drinks, meal allowance, and free bus pass
Cons: entitled people, management sucks angus!!
I like that no day is ever the same. I love the challenges of getting through the day and completing difficult tasks. What I dont like is that management forgets that people have lives outside of work and usually demand more out of you without the proper compensation.

Depending on which department you're a part of, you will either like your job or – more... hate your job. Most likely one hates their job.

The good thing is, most of the jobs are on the Microsoft campus where we can enjoy free drinks and other little perks. But that's not much.
Most of the MS employees walk around with entitlement. They feel everything should be given to them.

Other than that, descent benefits. Free bus cards and daily meal allowance is an amazing & exciting benefit (Thank you Microsoft, NOT COMPASS). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food
Cashier/prep (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 23, 2014
I loved this Job this was my 2 job I was like 16 or 17 when I got it I loved everything about this job my bosses my coworkers hate I had an miscarry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 21, 2014
Pros: health care, off on weekends and holidays
Cons: short breaks
I would in in the mornings and prepare for my day. I worked in the food court area at Wells Fargo Bank. I came in contact will many people, Wells Fargo is a very Diverse Company. I work very well with my co workers, we worked as a team to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), west hempstead nyAugust 20, 2014
Completely flexible schedule and an abundance of work hours available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, some of the corporate culture can be improved.
Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 12, 2014
Pros: benefits, environment
Every day was a great day at work; employees were great regardless of the location. The corporate programs were excellent but somehow I feel they could have been implemented sooner than they did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Service
Nutrition Coordinator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: miserable
Over worked, under payed, management is all about themselves.
Was not happy here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours/ Short Hours
Cook (Current Employee), Redmond WAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: lunch partially compensated. weekend and holidays off
Cons: long hours or unpredictable work times.
Often 12 13 hour days. Then periods of short 5 hour days and short weeks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compass group review
Chef Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington,INAugust 9, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, weekends off
Cons: little family interaction through the week. incredibly stressful.
A typical day is 12 hrs at least. Some days it can be up to 14. I've learned that the job I hold isn't just one position. It's more like 3-4 rolled into one. Management is great and incredibly helpful. My staff is hard working and dedicated. The hardest part of this job is seeing my family for only 2-3 hours a day. I'm in bed early and up early. I enjoy – more... being able to make people happy by serving them quality food quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment to work in
Cook (Current Employee), Gastonia, NCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: having to relocate
Typical day at work involves feeding 150-200 people . Learned to cook and basic management skills for restaurant. Friendly work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
District Executive Chef (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 6, 2014
fun job to work at. learned a lot of new skill sets management is great. co-workers are great to work with. Long days. Catering are so much fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly work environment
USA/Canteen Dining /Chef-Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 6, 2014
Pros: fast paced, friendly people
Cons: distance
A typical day at Compass-Canteen is busy. I have learned so much while working here. I was in charge of scheduling, ordering, making sure payroll was correct, keeping up with food cost and inventory. Management is very helpful and motivated to keep the operation running smoothly.Co-workers are great at working together to accomplish anything that needs – more... to be done. The hardest part is time management. As a manager, you are responsible for every aspect of your dining facility, so time management is very important. The most enjoyable part of my job is putting out quality product that makes customers come back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee), Novi, MIAugust 2, 2014
Pros: helping others
Interacting with people everyday was the most enjoyable part of the job. Learning how to use the machines and setting up rooms was a fun experience.Teaching co-workers was a very rewarding part of the job.The hardest part of the job was always having the right supplies to complete a job on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Oberlin, OHJuly 27, 2014
Pros: the people
I worked in a kitchen. The area consist of cooking machines for various types of food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
(CSU) Cashier (Former Employee), cleveland ohioJuly 27, 2014
I loved it I would like to attend csu sometime because of compass group everything and everyone is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/ Life Balance
General Manager/Executive Chef (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 22, 2014
The great thing about Compass is that they believe in having a balance for your family. Compass also believe in growth. I started in 2007 as a cook and six months later moved into the Executive Chef role. Currently in the role of General Manager.

1 2 3 4 5

About Compass Group

Compass Group plc is a global contract foodservice and support services company headquartered near London, United Kingdom. It – Read more