Compass Employee Reviews

Found 272 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with incompetent management.
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Pascagoula, MSSeptember 28, 2016
No consistent work schedule. Everyday your work scheduled hours would change with out notice. What made the job so hard was when we ran out of chemicals or when something broke, it would take a week for it to either get fixed or for the chemicals to be delivered.
Pros
free lunches and 30 minute break
Cons
no chance to take vacation during holiday seasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2016
Really good place they show u how to do everything, like sale stuff, be nice to costumer, Help each other if one of ur coworker needs help you should help them out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 23, 2016
My typical day at work is greeting guests, making badges, smiling, light data entry. I'm a front desk receptionist.

The hardest part about my job is making sure everyone receives the right badge for security purposes.

The most enjoyable part is meeting people from around the world.
Pros
discount lunch
Cons
making sure no one breeches security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, MASeptember 21, 2016
it was alright. environment was fast passed but a nice place to work. not sure what else to put here I did not work here for long. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun work place, keeps you busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, TXSeptember 18, 2016
I absolutely loved this job, the employees were fantastic the customers were so much fun and I worked through the holidays which made my job so much better. There was always something to do you were never just sitting around. The manager was laid back but she kept you in your place. The only reason I left this job is because they shut down due to bankruptcy and inner family issues.
Pros
Great employees and fun environment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 16, 2016
Overall good company many changes in upper management over the last few years. Makes you feel like job is very unstable.
Pros
hours
Cons
unstable upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized -lack of communication and accountability
Purchaser/Buyer & culinary lead (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MISeptember 16, 2016
Not very happy with how management closes their eyes to issues that are repetitive-Work that should be done by executive chef is put off onto workers that are already overworked, a lot of lazy people, not kept clean on regular basis, lack of dating and labeling food items
Pros
some good staff, location
Cons
health coverage, wages, accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass Group
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, ILSeptember 15, 2016
Can be unorganized, typical corporation work. Good rate of pay and lots of opportunity. They are willing to pay for good workers, and offer summers and holidays off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass is a great place to work
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Odessa, TXSeptember 13, 2016
The company had great benefits, has a good work environment, and it is fun. There are a lot of great perks for working for a company this big.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Resident Associate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 12, 2016
Job is great. Hours are good. The benefits are good. Overall the experience I have had working there has be awesome. Pay is good. Managers are willing to work with you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dietary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXSeptember 8, 2016
Great Co-workers, great management, typical work flow was fast and busy, the most enjoyable part I liked about the job was interacting with new patients and getting to know them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
CAREGIVER (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 7, 2016
A typical days work at Compass involved going to patients houses, taking them out into the community, making sure daily chores and medications were taken. I learned about dealing with people who are mentally handicapped. The most enjoyable time during the job was being able to give patients the experience of going out into the community and interacting with others.
Pros
Paid per mile driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Cook (Former Employee) –  Windermere, FLSeptember 6, 2016
worked 12 days straight every pay period
Managers argue all the time
Executive Chef Quit
in one year Staff dropped from 10-4 within a year
the kids are very respectful
Pros
the teachers and kids are great
Cons
Managers fist fighting all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work for very little pay
Caretaker (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 5, 2016
The work can be very difficult, but it can also be very easy. It all depends on the clientele you end up with. The only problem with that is, the pay is the same either way. You don't get paid more for dealing with difficult clients, which doesn't seem fair.
Pros
You really feel like you are making a difference in the lives of your clients.
Cons
Don't expect to make a lot of money here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n.a
Hospitality Contractor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2016
it was great. the staff and ceo are very inviting and enjoy teaching new things. They are a good company to work for if you have kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work with creative Chefs that care
Cook/Chef (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZSeptember 3, 2016
I work in a fast past kitchen preparing food myself for 150 people per day having 3.5 hours before service. That includes serving and interacting with the guest.
Pros
8 hour shifts, free lunch, weekends and holidays off
Cons
Challenges are working in a older kitchen that do not have the best of equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass Group
Manager (Current Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CASeptember 2, 2016
Chartwells, expects you to do a lot of things and don't want to pay you or are very fair with their employees. No air in some of the kitchens as it reaches 95 degrees, along with the heat from the warmers, ovens and fridge.
Pros
Free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun days with the employees
Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2016
I love the fact that the employees were friendly and very helpful, also that the hardest part of my was trying to fit into a culture that wasn't supportive.
Pros
Employee relations were nice
Cons
Management not very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
postive
Receptionist/Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 1, 2016
work was short but filled wth so much, assisted teacher in daily lesson plans, homework help, set up activities, events, trips, etc. filed students work
Pros
free lunch and trips
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks good on paper
Concierge (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 31, 2016
My experience with this company has been less than desirable. One positive is that I was able to make myself an asset to the operation but it has done little to advance my career. I have repeatedly asked for career development opportunities and I am still waiting after 2 years to be given any training. There are people making more money and in higher positions with less experience and no education. What has been even more discouraging is the negative and hostile work environment. I am very disappointment in the way Compass manages their talent. Benefits are also a joke, I have 1 week of vacation and 1 week sick.
Pros
Cheap lunch
Cons
Benefits, hostile environment, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 683 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6