COMPTON UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place of employment
Clerk Typist III (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAJanuary 16, 2018
This company is really sad. First off the superintendent is a snake who does not intend on giving his salaried or hourly employees raises & intends on hiring ALL his friends and acing out the old schoolers. The room for advancement is poor and you work like a dog barely making ends meet.
Pros
Good place to work id you have small kids
Cons
Dont even think about making a career out of this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Early Childhood Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Compton, CANovember 29, 2017
Compton diversification was the culture while I was there, they student were very energetic. The district was more like family and very close, supportive. The hardest part of the job was the location, I did not live close by therefore I seek a job that had better benefits and more locations to work. I enjoyed the small district it was not competitive, very laidback.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Not good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
College Tutor (Current Employee) –  Compton, CANovember 21, 2017
good environment. Great opportunity to get hands on experience with students and teachers in the classroom. Very flexible and willing to work with students schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Educational Environment
Education Specialist (Current Employee) –  Compton, CANovember 15, 2017
On a typical day you encounter 100's of students with needs and emotions. All needing your attention and guidance. What I learned is the more you are prepared the more you need to work.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Student with extreme behaviors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace for multicultural kids
Teacher/Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Compton, CANovember 7, 2017
I worked with at-risk youth for 18 years. These individuals taught me life experiences that I will cherish forever cherish. The district was comprised of 65% Hispanic, many who spoke no English, 33% Black and 2% other.
Pros
Secured Employment
Cons
Many of the students were behind in their grade level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits at all.
TEMPORARY OFFICE WORKER (Current Employee) –  anywhere in the district sitesOctober 24, 2017
Easy to learn with staff members who are willing to show you how. It just sucks that you don't get hired right away. I have 1 year and 3 months just waiting. I get no type of benefits not even holidays paid and that is frustrating.
Pros
easy to learn
Cons
no benefits, no paid vacation nor holidays, always getting transferred to different sites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cafeteria Worker (Current Employee) –  Compton, CAOctober 2, 2017
I love Compton . Compton unified is a great district . I love working with kids. The atmosphere is very great. Learning process but overall I love my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant worker duties
Plant Worker (Former Employee) –  Compton, CASeptember 19, 2017
*Arrive to work to open for students and instructors
*Make sure the facility is impeccable
*Prepare for student breakfasts and lunches
* Make sure the facilities are stocked with adequate supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N\a
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Compton, CASeptember 18, 2017
Need more hours at least 40 hours a week and better management team.
Need to upgrade pay scale to a morw rencent licing wages..bettet salary snd staff would make a big difference compton unified lowest paid districts in lis county
Pros
No hours
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Compton, CASeptember 14, 2017
Working in a school setting is nice. My position is not stressful. They off classes in different areas to help you polish your skills. If you like working with kids then you will love working here.
Cons
Pay and benefits... using your vacation pay for winter spring and summer brwak.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student athlete when I was in School, so this was a piece of cake.
Sports Director (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 24, 2017
Being a sports director, you definitely must have thick skin to train, teach and work with Student athletes. Especially for grades 6th - 8th. At this time students are very blunt and at the age where puberty is at its peak. Teaching them how to channel frustration and anger towards a sport is better than becoming a statistic of your own community.
Pros
Activities, School Games
Cons
Paid monthlyi a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teamwork Atmosphere
Nutrition Specialist/Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 17, 2017
Believes in teamwork and helping each other to succeed. Believes in growth and professional development. Believed in hiring within the company and worklife balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Foods Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 16, 2017
No real issues I guess. It was a good place to work and had decent pay and good benefits. Only reason I moved on was a great business opportunity that arose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
IT System Specialist (Current Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 11, 2017
Great manager, and very good team to work with, It is good to help kids and get paid for that. meeting many interesting and nice people in schools. love this place.
Pros
No pressure, great people, good managment
Cons
could get paid more
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice people
Compton - Custodian (Current Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 8, 2017
working as a custodian is actually not that bad as people make it seem. I love getting to know the kids and having fun with them. They are always telling me to play what ever sport they play, I teach new things every time I play with them
Pros
fun, and also relaxing
Cons
having to deal with bad kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to help alot of families with health and mental health issues with a very helpful team backing me up.
District Health Assistant (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAAugust 4, 2017
I enjoyed working with different cultures on a daily basis to better help them with life skills i enjoyed working with different people with different backgrounds to help them and myself understand different exposures to life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace is great
Daily Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Compton, CAJuly 13, 2017
I enjoy my job. I enjoy helping kids on a daily basis. My workplace is ok. We need a few materials but we find a way to learn things on a daily basis.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
bad leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of great kids
MSW Fellow (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAJune 24, 2017
Lots of great kids that need strong people to remain in their lives. it school was chaotic but gave me positive work experience for the future. i learned a lot from the students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
College Tutor (Former Employee) –  Compton, CAJune 16, 2017
It was good working with students who really need help because it is really rewarding to see them grow academic wise. I also felt welcome and appreciated by the staff and the students.
Pros
Learning opportunities, free field trips to attend
Cons
only 17.5 hours a week, no benefits, no vacation paid, typically work 8 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
College Tutor (Current Employee) –  Compton, CAJune 8, 2017
Overall great company to work with. Typical day of work consist of teaching and assisting groups of students with what ever they are struggling with academically. Colleagues are kind and honest. Management is fair and organized. I have never had an issue with this district. Definitely a great organization to work with.
Pros
Environment, Job security
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at COMPTON UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

COMPTON UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Reviews by Location