CompuCom Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay, insurance stinks
Network Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 7, 2018
I did not enjoy working for this company at all, they use their employees for everything they can get and offer 15.00 an hour in return, no raise in 7 years. They say that they don't give cost of living raises. Only company I ever worked for that expected to pay you the hired on rate for 7 years, great incentive to excel at your job.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and underminding
Lead Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJJanuary 7, 2018
Poor management would give poor instructions and then blame the employees when it doesn't workout. Management promote only the people they are friends with and also get rid of good employees that question their plans for a project.
Pros
employees are great workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent..
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 6, 2018
Decent Company to work for if you have management that will take care of people who do decent hard work and don't mind going the extra mile for the company. I was in that same type situation and my management showed me by their actions that they didn't appreciate me going the extra mile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very bad
Computer Tech (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARJanuary 6, 2018
I was noted by the place I worked as a very good employee but the Management of Compucom was very bad and hired and fired as the mood striked them not by performance.
Pros
Great opportunity to work for major employers on contract
Cons
Management was very bad and two faced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 Years, should say a LOT
Logistics Administrator (Former Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJJanuary 4, 2018
I worked for Compucom for 11 years. It was a great place to work, with good benefits, insurance discounts, competitive pay, and when the economy allowed, there was plenty of overtime to be had. I really miss working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many managers that don't know whats going on.
Field Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Blue Ash, OHJanuary 3, 2018
When I was there, there were too many managers to report to. on a given day at least 3 and had to explain to them where places and territories ended. Most techs weren't trained either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of onboarding and proper training. No leadership and support from sales managers
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 2, 2018
Not a great place to work. Lack of communication and zero culture. Every man alone on an island. The sales team has very poor training and leadership. Negative environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management forced culture change
Director, Procurement and Relationship Management (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 2, 2018
The Company went through a number of executive management changes beginning in 2014 and continuing into 2017. As a result of the new management the long-time core business focus of the company was changed, but there was no true sense of long-term direction. Those changes resulted in the departure of many mid-level executives, who were replaced by individuals with very limited (or no) knowledge of the Company's structure and culture. The resulting impact on the culture and the long-tenured associates was one of confusion, and concern over the future of the Company and their employment.
Pros
convient location
Cons
poor internal communication from upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Not Prepared
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 1, 2018
I worked there only a few months because of how chaotic management was. I would come in and management would ask ME (the trainee) what I should do to learn things and moved me from contracts 2 times during training. On top of that, the VIOP and VM systems were out dated because they weren't ready to deal with a OS transition on time.

Pros:
-Job itself is pretty laid back
-Solutions to most problems are easy to find
-Coffee provided
-Reasonable work schedule
-Clean working environment
-Simple Ticketing system to understand
-Extensive notes on tickets most of the time

Cons:
-Management is scattered
-Supervisors refuse to help you or answer a request from the caller
-KB's are out-dated or 'not preferred'
-VM's are provided but you're told not to use them when you need them
-VOIP was very glitchy
-Co-workers are hit and miss for usefulness
Pros
Laid back, Solutions mostly easy to find, Coffee, Work Schedule, Clean, Simple Ticketing, Notes
Cons
Management, Supervisors, Knowledge Bases, Virtual Machine Policy, Voip, Co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job
Deskside Support Technician L2 (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLDecember 31, 2017
I enjoy it. No advancement opportunity. Contact deskside support and hardware repair. Its not a forever gig to me. Pay is decent, hours are set for my location. No onsite manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care about employees
Strategic Sourcing Director, Corporate (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 30, 2017
No appreciation of employees and work life balance need help in all areas of business to put standard work in place. There is no common treatment only exceptions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
legal slavery
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TX 75230December 29, 2017
Your basically just a resource to be used and then replaced. example, when layoffs are needed, they will not go by seniority, but keep the newer (entitled to less paid vacation time) personal.
Pros
They will hire you.
Cons
you'll likely still be making the same hourly 10 years later.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing much to say about Compucom
LOGISTICS ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJDecember 29, 2017
No advancement. Ego driven. Many disgruntled employees. Very little flexibility for people caring for a disable parent at home. Your time is monitored beyond what is the norm. You feel your job is threatened each and every day. No encouragement for the teams to work together.
Pros
the people on the ground you work with directly
Cons
EVERYTHING involving middle and upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 500 companies are tough
Sr. Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTDecember 28, 2017
Billing of monthly accounts including OT, payroll, tracking vacations, maintaining monthly headcounts at various sites, new hire administration, coordinated meetings.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for entry level IT, that's about it
Client Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 28, 2017
Pretty decent place to start working if you want to get your foot in the door for IT, that's the only positive aspect of this job. A lot of employees are in and out due to constant budget cuts or lack of career advancement. There's no value/appreciation for all your hard work
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
No raises or bonuses, lack of career advancement, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More Focused on Clients than Employees
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  RemoteDecember 26, 2017
This company currently suffers from constant restructuring. Maybe with Office Depot's recent acquisition it will get some much needed direction. They are not really interested in retaining/compensating existing(more than 5 year) employees - but appear to be fairly compensating new hires(negotiate hard as inconsistent bonuses and pay freezes are the norm).
Cons
Constant rollback of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rich boys trying to run an IT services company from their yachts
System Administrator, II (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARDecember 22, 2017
CompuCom deserves Office Depot, and vice-versa.

They have a reactive instead of proactive approach to solving business problems.

They have a technological mentality stuck in the early 1990s and have not adapted to modern IT solutions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No raises
Configuration Technician (Current Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJDecember 21, 2017
The only raise you get is if you find another job. Management is not overall good. Corporate makes bad decisions. They lack good planning. They actually fail at planning,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Service Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYDecember 19, 2017
Employees were fired and it was not secret. You felt that you were next. The phone call load was intense. Improvement was minimal. I would not recommend this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custom Compaq System Building and Configuration
Configuration Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 17, 2017
A wonderful place that taught be account IT certifications that lead to me studying A+ certification from CompTia but also the Cisco CCNA which I graduated from twice.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
closed down the Compaq Headquaters location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CompuCom. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3