CompuCom Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has gone through many changes over the years
Field Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 19, 2017
The quality of life working for CompuCom has changed over the years. Working as a field technician can be stressful because the goals are constantly changing and not always attainable, management add unnecessary stress to the work environment.

Work from home positions can be good if that is what you are looking for. Moving around internally can be challenging, management seems to bounce around frequently. There are a lot of long term employees that have been with the company through various acquisitions for 10/20/30+ years.

The pay is not on par with the work and is below market standard.

For being a "tech company" they are not with the times and the systems in use are archaic and outdated.

The companies stance on employment practices is constantly changing.
Pros
Once vested, 5 weeks of paid time off is nice, working from home has it's possitives.
Cons
Employment tactics can be questionable at times and job growth can be severely limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CompuCom Fun working Place and very compatitive
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJOctober 16, 2017
My work in CompuCom / credit Suisse Data Center I was IT Professional servers break Fix and provisioning , Troubleshooting and networking , it was Fun to work with their team and was very excited to work with staff. very knowledgeable and experience .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed it until the layoffs started.
Network Field Analyst Level II (Former Employee) –  OklahomaOctober 15, 2017
Compucom is a decent company but they do try to work you to death. I covered an assigned territory alone that should have required at least 4 techs so I was never home and the pay was below average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mindless work with no progression
Configuration Technician (Current Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJOctober 14, 2017
This is a good place to start in IT. Not to stay. The only people that get promoted are the suck ups. The hard working people get pushed aside... Only received 1 raise since i started here a while back, and it was pitiful. The pay is below average, and the benefits have gradually gotten worse. I honestly had better benefits working in retail. No bonuses awarded in mumy department. The only pros are PTO and flexibility.
Pros
Pto, flexibility
Cons
Pay, benefits, lack of raises, no bonuses in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJOctober 13, 2017
Triaged calls/emails, created tickets, assigned calls and issued in Remedy, very reliable and dependable. Pay is a little low but coworkers are very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work...
Service Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 11, 2017
Compucom cares only for money and nothing else. While I was at the HQ here in Dallas, they spent hundreds of thousands remodeling the building. At the end of that, they pulled everyone into a meeting and told us we cost to much and they were leaving Dallas. They offered a pittance "separation Package" and you had to work until the last day to even get that, which was pushed off a few times. Management beyond you immediate Manager was dumb and couldn't handle the job, and basically ran them into the ground. It was easier to cut and run, leaving 300+ people without jobs, than to stay and fix it.
Pros
Free certifications, if they liked you.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start but not to stay
Systems Integration Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 9, 2017
Compucom is a big company to start a career and get exposure on big companies like GE but the salary and benefits are very low. There is no salary increase or job advice at any point on your job. So basically if you work for 10 years yo get the same salary as you got when you join,
Pros
Exposure to big companies
Cons
poor salary. Contracts that do now allow the contractor to hire you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work / Life Balance
LOGISTICS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  NorhtEastOctober 9, 2017
Advancement training if any, is tailored at best for for In-House and ad-hoc projects.

Make this place a temporary hub if you can, as they have little regard for your job security.

Plenty of Employee discounts but you'd be best to avoid the Company's Health Care provision if you have another option.
Pros
No weekend work, plenty of life balance
Cons
Avoid Company prescribed Health Care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall experience with Compucom
Lead Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYOctober 9, 2017
Workday consist of using your own vehicle to drive to multiple worksites that have contracts with CompuCom. The downside to that is that the job at hand needs to be completed but sometimes you might have the wrong parts for that job shipped to you. I was a field tech so the overhead was the business that initiated said contract.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
wear and tear of your vehicle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work but great reward for the work
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Albans, WV 25177October 3, 2017
Very good company to work for several team mates to help get jobs done work was scattered throughout area so SLA's were impossible to meet but was compensated for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Paulsboro, NJOctober 3, 2017
I worked there for several years. Great company and great onsite management. Was able to work remotely some days which I found to be a great incentive. Learned a lot about asset management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brainless work
Computer Configure and Assembler (Former Employee) –  West Deptford, NJOctober 3, 2017
Its modern day slavery
Job titles don't mean anything
Job description didn't match what i was actually doing.
At the moment that i was there no phones/ Music was allowed.
Cons
Standing, Brainless work, no Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility and nothing else
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXOctober 2, 2017
CompuCom offers great work/life balance and flexibility, but nothing else. Very few and far in between pay raises with a low pay scale to start. The benefits package has gone downhill. Lots of layoffs over the last few years. No job growth, unless you want to move to Mexico or S. Carolina. Absolutely nothing to look forward to anymore - forget about building a career here.
Pros
Work/life balance, flexibility
Cons
no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average company
Senior Billing Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 1, 2017
Company is moving to North Carolina, why I am looking for a new job. My manager is excellent, will miss her attention to innovation. Grew and learned new skills.
Pros
good co-workers, excellent manager
Cons
stumbling, no direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work- Life Balance
Analyst (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsSeptember 29, 2017
Do your job and be happy to have one seems to be the culture.
A lot of festivities throughout the year if you were located at corporate in Dallas. Overall a good crowd of colleagues to work together with. My manager was very compassionate on personal tragedies involving his team, but appraisals were always prefabricad and never fully indicative of efforts and challenges in the field.

Overall, More chiefs than Indians I think, plus Healthcare and other benefits here is best in name only.
Pros
Work/life balance.
Cons
Little chance of advancement opportunities, sharky and ripoff healthcare provision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best building ever
Storage Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 26, 2017
Best place to work in the world. Nicest group of people on the planet. Machines that dispense food! Machines to heat that food up! Free ice and water! Lovely area for working with lots of walking space.
Pros
Lots of fun!
Cons
Terrible traffic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things could be better.
PC Desktop Retail Refresh (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 24, 2017
As it is with most employers in the United States of America at the present time or era, employers could pay better salaries for skilled employees. Employers could be more understanding of employee's life to work balance. Women could be paid more equally to men especially when performing the exact same job roles at the exact same performance levels.
Pros
It's a decent paying job, in a decent technically skilled field.
Cons
Too much of American IT Support is currently outsourced abroad.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working partners
Unix Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYSeptember 21, 2017
Compucom seemed to hire good people with necessary credentials.
The work environment was nice but I personally did work from home.
I liked the management very well.
The reason I left was CompuCom's loss of a major support contract.
CompuCom was not able to find work for a huge number of people displaced by this loss of a contract. CompuCom loss the Contract to an Indian firm. This was a low-ball bid by the Indian company and a lot of this happens nowadays.

I have no disrespect for ComppuCom in this situation.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Senior Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 21, 2017
was a good place to work, realistic expectations.
high end customers who expected high end service.
benefits were great as was the work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and valuable experience
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 19, 2017
Worked in professional services with some of the best colleagues anywhere ever. Gained tremendously valuable and relevant experience. Earned multiple certifications to advance my career.

Pay and benefits are okay, not great.

Some managers are outstanding, others are good. All work as hard as those on their teams if not harder.
Pros
PTO increased with tenure. Teamwork and support among associates is incredible.
Cons
Some work is under-resourced; we worked harder to do good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CompuCom. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,318 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3