Compupay Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Freeport, MEMarch 24, 2017
I spent less than a year at this company and the reason for that is due to my accepting another position with better compensation. The employees were great and the management was excellent.
Pros
Comfortable work place
Cons
low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work before Benefitmall merged
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 4, 2016
Before one of our branches was closed, it was a terrific place to work.

After the branch was closed and the clients were transferred to our branch, the work day has become extremely stressful to the point that you come in early, do not have time to take lunch, constantly deal with disgruntled clients, work late and on weekends.

The people are super nice, but that is not enough to continue working there.
Pros
you get to wear jeans often
Cons
barely any breaks and the workload for each person is extremely unbalanced
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great people
PC Support Specialist/Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 29, 2014
Busy pretty much all the time. I learned the payroll industry and how to process payrolls, garnishments, deductions reimbursements, accrual. Had some great co-workers then some that were just there for a paycheck. Hardest part of the job was year end processing having to work crazy amounts of overtime. Some of the people that I got to know over the years were some of the most enjoyable parts of the job.
Pros
Picnics, free lunches sometimes.
Cons
Healthcare, year end processing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough time to do all the work
Payroll specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 24, 2012
Too little time to give good customer service. Supervisors need more training and need to stop bringing personal life to work. Teamwork involved doing a lot of social events at work. This is a good place to work if you like to socialize with your co-workers. Office manager is wonderful.
Pros
fridays are usually light days and you can catch up on all the back up.
Cons
training was not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best employer to work for.
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLMay 8, 2014
This is not a good company to work for. The management from the top is horrendous. They have no sense of how everyone below them work or struggle in their departments. Decisions are made for the bottom dollar and the turn over shows that. I would never encourage someone to work at this company.
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Healthcare sucks, management is horrible, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay company, however be prepared to were several different hats.
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Somerset, NJSeptember 7, 2012
Heavy phone contact with clients . Time management skill essential to complete to do assigned work load. Co-workers were team players
some more than others. The hardest part of the job was i suppose was keeping up with the constant changes in procedures and being the sounding board for the clients when they did not like the changes. Mostly was mandatory tax changes. We were made to be
the sounding board for the clients when the did not like the changes made regarding the payroll tax laws.

The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that even if management did not recognize the extra efforts. Your loyal client base always knew who the person behind getting there requests and and getting the payrolls accurately done and sent out was me.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job..
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAAugust 11, 2013
Work with internal and external cients, enter payroll, customer service, managed 3 people, ordered supplies, quarter and year end process.

Co-workers are more like family.

The hardest part is handling clients when they are upset at process, or errors.

Like my clients, and working with my co-workers.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
No growth in our operations department
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decreased work productivity
Treasury Specialist/ACH File Processor (Current Employee) –  Miramar, FLAugust 14, 2012
A typical day at work is very easy and not challenging at all. I've learned to take the initiative to learn new things on my own. In management, there is a lack of professionalism. My co-workers are okay. The hardest part of the job is staying on top of emails which can overwhelm you.
Pros
easy work
Cons
health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLAugust 23, 2014
Sales, you manage your own time, excellent professional relationships with professionals in many different areas, clients in different industries.
Pros
develope relationship, networking
Cons
unstable commissions and bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was great to work for
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 16, 2015
payroll specialist. Company was a great place to work. The people were great to work with. They clients were great to do payroll.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to end a career or raise a family.
HRIS Implementation Analyst, Advanced Services (Current Employee) –  Franklin TNJuly 15, 2012
Good place to work to end a career or raise a family. Management is geared toward employee satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going enviroment, good place to learn payroll.
Phoenix, AZ (Former Employee) –  New Accounts CoordinatorNovember 3, 2011
I found my tenure with CompuPay an excellent place to have learned all aspects of payroll and the taxes associated with those; in all states
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Appointment Setter (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLJanuary 25, 2013
Family owned business, very nice and pleasant phone voices, accurate with information, and very affordable and loves to help/ accommodate employees and customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Appointment Setter (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLJanuary 25, 2013
Training sucks, To many breaks how can work ever get done, constant playing in workplace between co workers and management.
no stability
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
PC Support (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 8, 2012
Servicing payroll for small and medium-sized clients.
Learned alot about tax notices
Work with a great group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for!
Operations Supervisor/New Accounts Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, ArizonaFebruary 25, 2013
Do not waste your time on this company. As a previous employee of this company I can tell you first hand that this is a company you will want to stay clear of. Here are some of the things you will experience:

* Any sort of training is non-existent (You are set up to fail)
Been in the payroll industry for 20 years and have NEVER seen this

* Management is a joke - They are untrained and non-experienced, therefore they do not know how to Lead, Manage, or Supervise

* Life and Work balance is not there - As an Operations Supervisor they expect you to work 60 hour weeks

* You are not allowed to reprimand an employee, otherwise you get your hand slapped for doing so. So the employees run a muck there.

* The Employee Referral Program is a joke - They lie to you to get you to refer someone and then fail to pay you a referral Bonus stating that you are not eligible for one reason or another.

* The raises there are % 2.00 and that is if you even get one.

You are best to look elsewhere as you will only be disappointed in the choice you would make by accepting a position at any part of CompuPay.
Pros
there are no pro's to speak of
Cons
please see the examples i have listed
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compupay. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9