Find companies:
Computer Systems Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Computer Systems Institute Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good school.
Microsoft Technology Associate (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 17, 2014
Pros: small classes so you can get alot of one on one withthe teacher
Could use a little more organization to keep people on track.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment with humble individuals
Clerical Assistant/Work Study (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: clean, friendly, humble
Cons: not enough time spent
A typical day at work would involve customer service, keeping files in order and workplace cleanliness. I learned how to work under pressure, how to create IDs and how to respond to angry and irritable customers. The management was great, I followed instructions and completed tasks throughout the day as asked. The hardest part of the job was being let – more... go because I wanted to continue my experience and broaden my knowledge of the workplace better. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and participating in interacting with other co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded institution
Work Study Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great location, nice individuals, and learning new things
Cons: not spending more time
A typical day at work would include me answering and making outgoing phone calls, directing students to proper departments throughout the campus, creating bulletin boards for campus events, keeping office order and cleanliness, and also running errands to various parts of the campus. I learned how to make picture IDs, how to remain calm when a customer – more... or student is upset, I also learned how to use various programs on the school computer. My co-workers were easy to get along with. They were calm, welcoming and very generous. The hardest part of of the job was knowing that it was only for a short period of time. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things as I went along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student interaction; Opportunity to be effective in Student Growth
Instructor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 23, 2014
Pros: great co-workers; very helpful; shared freely anything needed
Cons: management was too friendly with students and accountability was not effective because of this
The most enjoyable part of being an instructor at CSI was the opportunity to impact students who needed direction in life. The program and curriculum for their orientation class was appropriate and exciting to teach. The co-workers were dedicated to making sure students understood the discipline in which they were interested. The management had trouble – more... placing students in jobs because the balance between retention and learning accountability was tilted toward retention. Too often students were unprepared to complete the program because they could not pass certification requirements. As adults there needed to be a higher bar and more benchmarks to make sure students were prepared for the workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Workplace
Career Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 12, 2014
It was fun working here. The faculty is friendly and willing to help. There isn't much room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILMarch 2, 2014
Good place to work, management is great. Ability to grow with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: salary and students
Cons: management opportunities
I enjoy working with the students, however our managment needs to improve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great starting point
Student Services (Former Employee), chicago ILJanuary 30, 2014
A day at the job is making copy's and calls. Helping students when they have a problem, also taking I.D. pictures for students and staff. My co-wokers are good people to be around and I learn more and more about the school I'm attending.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educator/Instructor
Instructor (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: students, and everything i get to know about them and teach them
Cons: hours i work splits
Depending on what classes I am given for the 4 week module I teach from the time I walk in till I leave.
I am teaching ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM advanced courses. The hardest part of this is reminding my students that guidelines are the most important part of teaching and the hardest theory to get across to the students. That if you just read these guidelines – more... your questions will be answered.
Most rewarding career I have ever had in my life. I not just an instructor I am a life coach. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed workiing there very much
Financial Aid Specialist (FWS) (Former Employee), Elgin, ILDecember 17, 2013
Was working on a work/ study program which lasted 3 months wish it could have been longer Great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Clerical Assistant/Work Study (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2013
Pros: friendly atmosphere, community events
Cons: short work-span, not being able to spend more time learning.
A typical day at work would include myself greeting students and helping them with their needs, keeping the office well maintained, work environment very professional, nice atmosphere. I learned how to handle demanding students, to keep a positive attitude when things go wrong, and how to operate different machines. My co-workers were really nice and – more... they welcomed my presence and also treated me with respect. The hardest part of the job was me not being able to learn more within my time span. The most enjoyable part of my job was being around individuals who were out-going and very respectful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a terrible place to work
Finacial Aid Advisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: you get a lunch
Cons: everything
This place is so unorganized. ..This place is a mom pop school ran by family. Think long and hard...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company & School
Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILAugust 21, 2013
Pros: ample parking
Cons: low pay, poor management, disorganized infrastructure at all levels
Working here was an awful experience. Management has no clue what they're doing. A lot of fictitious titles are going around too. When in all reality the core of the school relies on the admissions department.

For example, you have a campus president walking around the campus when all they do is walk around giving high fives literally. For what? I – more... have no clue, maybe because they found out Dunkin' Donuts got a new shipment in. (Dunkin' Donuts is located conveniently across the parking lot from the Gurnee,IL campus)

They let anyone into the school felons, drug addicts, and illiterate people who don't even have the capacity to understand the coursework. The sad part is the school doesn't have the resources in order to aid individuals with their learning disabilities. Anyone can be an instructor at this school, janitors end up becoming campus presidents and students becoming principles within months. Sadly, the instructors constantly bad mouth the student body, and once informed me, "Most students here are only testing at a sixth grade level in all areas."

It's a very unfortunate situation for anyone dealing with that school,whether staff or students. The degrees they provide for the students serve no purpose, and will in the long run cost them more debt then what they'll be earning. I'm glad I put my moral conscious before the low pay they were giving me. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, RUN FAR FAR AWAY!!

As a former employee, and a local native from the targeted demographic (Waukegan, North Chicago, Libertyville, Gurnee, Zion, Mundelein, Lake Bluff, Round Lake, Lake Villa) the school serviced; I feel it is my duty to make individuals in the area aware of the scam the school is running. Most importantly, I wont stop till they either change their polices or get shut down.

If you're considering working, at or attending this school ask the following questions to yourself . Do I take my career seriously? Will I want to find other opportunities after attending, or working for Computer Systems Institute? If you answered yes to these questions than I would consider looking elsewhere, because working or attending here can seriously tarnish your image. The place is a joke! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice position to work as a team with Admissions process
Admissions Administration Manager (Current Employee), Skokie, ILJuly 23, 2013
Pros: employee package with healthcare, 401k, profit sharing
Cons: hr, lack of communication between departments
Reporting, Monitoring lead flow, delegating projects, training others that I oversee. Work closely with key dept. to process effectively. Hardest part of the job is all the process that are put in place are short cut or ignored by few that ruins it for many. The most enjoyable part of my work is the rewards knowing what I don will change prospects futures – more... and the accomplishments I achieve daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Medical assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2013
Pros: getting up knowing i have a job and making my clients feel appreciated
Cons: the weather sometimes.
A typical day at school is showing up on time completing my assignments on mcgraw hills connect. also going to the lab and doing hands on learning how to draw blood and give injections. i also learn the business part like spreadsheets medical billing and coding and how to use excel do powerpoint presentations. I learned alot at this school and I feel – more... It prepared me for real life experiences. I also have CPR training as well. the hardest part for me in the beginning was sticking someone with a needle finally got over it and now I feel I got it. My claasmates were great and I know i made a few friends for life. The most enjoyable part was my Graduation it was fulfilling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time clincial instructor
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee), Gurnee ILDecember 3, 2012
Pros: flexiable
Cons: no benifits, no advancement
I teach evening clincial's to both medical assistant students and medical billers. The majority of my lectures include: anatomy and physiology, phlebotomy, basic and advanced clinical practice, fundamentals of medical billing/coding, customer service and medical law and ethics. Per module I will have 2-3 classes, with 5-20 students in each class. Our – more... objective is to progressively move the students through their discipline's course work and practicals, all while preparing them to take their boards and other certifications.
The staff at CSI is wonderful; a group of clinical, technical and business professionals. Everyone of them comes form an original background, and each of them care for their students. The hardest part of my job is knowing the lack of potential advancement, compensation and distance. The most enjoyable part of my job is positively influencing my students and helping to mold their successful futures in medicine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school
Student Tutor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2012
Pros: great teachers
Cons: no tranpatation or lunches
this is a really great school i learned alot and they have really great teachers that are willing to help you learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Troubleshooting Computers. Laptops, Cell Phones, and other electronic devices
Help Desk/Computer Technician (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILSeptember 5, 2012
During my time here, I have learned to troubleshoot and fix hardware and software on any electronic device
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Computer NEtworking Lab Instructor (Former Employee), Elgin, ilAugust 13, 2012
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: not full time
A typical day involved the supervision of 25 students to complete all computer networking Labs efficiently and correctly. After class Grades, attendance and the next class needed to be prepared.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 29, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: vice president financing
it was a long and tedious place to work , job assignments that were not mentioned during interview and hiring,