Find companies:
Con-way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
395 reviews

Con-way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had a great time working here one of the best jobs i have ever had
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: cookouts for outstanding work
Cons: health care and 401k plan are good
A every day job a con-way was different but exciting. I learned alot while i was with this company like how to properly load and unload trailers. My co-workers really made the job fell like family. The hardest part about the job was getting hired on full time even thought i was suppose to. Other than that it is a great company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture
National Account Executive-Charlotte, NC (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 27, 2015
Con-way is a superior service carrier that understand the customers needs and aligns with the ever changing business landscape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
driver (Former Employee), Franklin wiJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: dock work
I worked out of the franklin wi terminal as a driver( DSR) CONWAY is a good company I worked there for 6mos human resources was very thorough on the job description told I would be working the dock that's fine I figured since I've been a driver for so long that working the dock for short amount of time ( I thought) on daily day would be fine but I was not told I would be on the dock any where from 2to 6 hrs a day since I've been a driver for so long I rather be a driver and not a dock worker your day consist you come in and if needed you work the dock 2 to 3hrs then you peddle freight they usual want you in by 5 then you work the dock until done usual 3to 5hrs some days are shorter for working the dock I would have to say about 65% or a little less I've worked the dock I did try thought I would not miss driving but I do Conway was good to me the people from drivers dock workers and management are very fair and did listen to what you have to say they do hear your voice ( Like others have used aggressive words on there reviews) about CONWAY are not true Conway does not treat you poorly they do treat you as a equal but I wish they would of been more specific on how much dock work you do that's why some people wrote aggressive comment's about Conway that as a driver we did not expect so much dock work I say if you do not mind a lot of dock work CONWAY is a good company but for me I just was not a good fit for the company or for me I feel I need to be a driver feels more of a fit for me benefits are good as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJanuary 22, 2015
Workload was easy. Great job besides the weather. Co-workers weren't the best but the workload for the day always got done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Well managed Work Place
P.M. Technician (Former Employee), Joplin, MOJanuary 19, 2015
Conway is a Well Oiled machine they take care of the employees. Work is very steady. Co-workers are helpful if you are unsure or don't know what your doing. They provide new hire training to all employees regardless of experience in the Field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company in trucking to work for.....
Previous Driver (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: when the day was over, co workers
Cons: no ot straight time only, no family life, get used to 14-16 hr days, incompetent supervisors, camera's in trucks, working every saturday, lousy health insurance, being written up for every little infraction, so many points from write up you get terminated
No life if you have a family. Majority of supervisors are a bunch of mindless pricks. Cameras in trucks, will write you up for every little infraction. The company treats its drivers as glorified dock workers with a CDL. Guys with 20 yrs leaving and going to other companies because of the moronic decisions that are made by the upper ups in the company.You'll spend more time driving a hi-low than you will a truck. Get used to being on the dock for 7 up to 9 hrs a night. No OT straight time. Health Insurance is horrible. Deductible is ridiculously high. Out of all the companies i worked for over the years this is by far the worst one in trucking. They will tell you how great Con-Way is but its all a bunch lies. You talk with guys from other terminals and about 95% of them hate the company. Con-way does not respect their drivers treats them as if they were less than human. Don't believe all the hype by so called happy drivers its alot of BS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to be employed
Dock Worker/Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 6, 2015
Conway freight was one of the best jobs i had ever had. Although i was a temporary employee i was treated like i was a full time employee even though i worked full time hours. The atmosphere was friendly even though there were so many different personalities to deal with. Management was always open to talk about any concerns about employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay/ no compensation
Forklift operator (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 4, 2015
working early mornings with low pay with no benefits includes working with no overtime for part-time workers even when you work more than part time hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start Young, Like to move
ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee), York, PADecember 7, 2014
Pros: advancement oppotunites, strong company finacially
Cons: politics are important
Very good company. Be prepared to move, a lot if you want to work towards C-level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a company that listens to the little man
shipping dock (Current Employee), Decatur, ALDecember 5, 2014
this is a great place to work there its no big I's and little u's in this company everyone is treated fairly and equal there's open opportunity to grow in whatever aspect of this job that you would like janitor to shipping to truck driver to manager supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a company that listens to the little man
shipping dock (Current Employee), Decatur, ALDecember 5, 2014
this is a great place to work there its no big I's and little u's in this company everyone is treated fairly and equal there's open opportunity to grow in whatever aspect of this job that you would like janitor to shipping to truck driver to manager supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Over the road driver (Former Employee), Joplin, MODecember 4, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: none that i can think of
Very good com.Worked for them when it was cfi.Enjoyed working for them.Good bebefits and bennies.Very good tractors and equitement.Not to much downtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work environment
Dock Worker/Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Salem, ILDecember 4, 2014
Pros: short work hours
Cons: high risk job
Really fast pace. 60 fork lifts moving at high speeds for our 6 hours shift. Really dirty, not a lot of space for the job to be completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work place
dock worker (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INNovember 28, 2014
Con-way is an awesome place to work. Everyone I worked with was willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broken Promises and no life
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Plainfield, INNovember 23, 2014
Cons: culture
They work you nearly 12hours at 10hrs pay. Everyone makes more than the supervisor when you break it down, including dock workers and CSR's. The people you manage. They promise you many things and opportunities and then place you on the back burner for their own use and disposal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orinated , flexable
Customer Service (Former Employee), Scott, LANovember 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short lunch breaks
Heavy flow of calls, had to have the ability to multitask.
I learn to provide excellent Customer Service, adhere to established company polices and procedures.
Management was/is very flexible and understanding.
Co-Workers were/are very interactive with company policies and functions.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a fun environment all willing to try new policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere
Freight Classification Specialist, Lead (Former Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 19, 2014
LTL trucking company. Job expectations are well explained. Good working atmosphere. Great team work. Beverages are supplied to replenish you during hot temperatures. Wonderful benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Recognition
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Garland, TXNovember 17, 2014
Incoming call extremely busy, learned a lot about transportation, importance of delivery. Learning customer is always right and never loose your cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Certified Forklift Operator/Dockworker (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 7, 2014
Took good care of their employees and value family above normal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun work place
Accounts Receivable Credit/Collections (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 4, 2014
Pros: independency, and ability to grow and learn more
A typical day at Con-Way began with Reviewing customer invoices for accuracy and mailing them off. Then reviewing and responding to consistent alerts from brokerage requesting credit on new or existing customers, along with setting up new carriers for multimodal and menlo worldwide when the help was needed. Followed by collections on past due accounts sending emails, making phone calls or mailing requests for payment, and documenting my efforts, or ability to collect and resolve. Posting the previous days credit card payments on an excel spreadsheet for cash applications review. Would also assist with the Cash app rep when needed to insure proper cash application of the customers remittance. Sending Trade reference inquiry request for customers needing credit. Processing credit cards for payment on future and existing shipments. Reconciling accounts, and processing request for vouchers. and varies duties as assigned. I learned about the transportation industry daily from customers and co-workers, I also learned more about how to handle and resolve past due accounts with difficult customers in the this industry. Management was available for assistance whenever needed, some bigger accounts required credit requests outside of our allocation. My co-workers alternated breaks and lunches, so we were always helping each other out with customers, requests, credit cards processing . We took on each others customer as our own when necessary. The hardest part of my day would be when reviewing credit reports for customers that did not qualify for credit, after they spent time with brokerage gathering information to process their requests to A/R only to be reviewed and denied while their shipments are needing to be ships right then and there, they were never happy about it. The most enjoyable part of my day would have to be assisting my customers and the brokerage department, answering questions, making account corrections, just giving them all one less thing to worry about.

1 2 3 4 5

About Con-way

Con-way Inc. is a freight transportation and logistics services company headquartered in Ann Arbor, Mich. Con-way delivers industry-leading – Read more