Find companies:
Con-way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Con-way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your experience all rides on the service center manager
Driver Sales Rep/ Delivery (Current Employee), Southern CaliforniaSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: job security, support, attitudes of management
I've now worked for Conway freight just under 2 years. They do pay well and honestly the hours and job are not terrible. I came into this job wide eyed and hoping for a career. However you get disenfranchised quickly. Advancing and moving up is not much of an option. You make more as a driver than Admin. With all that being said I have never done a – more... good job or ever done anything right. No matter how much you give or how much extra you put in they ask for more and DO NOT CARE. I've been a dedicated employee and have been asked to do extra services for them. Showing that there is trust and confidence in how I preform my duties. However as soon as there is a problem there is no history the trust that you have accrued and invested dissipates and they look at you like a vagrant that just walked in off the street. I'm completely sick of going to a job that at any moment of any day you could get fired. Safety is only a convenient belief to Conway. If it gets in the way of production - safety takes the Backseat. The attitude and culture is truly based off the service center manager and here in So CAL. There are not many good ones. And all the supporting staff above and around are all buddies. Your safety guy and local HR representative all buddies. So not much goes up the ladder. Think long and hard before you decide to hang your hat here. I've seen people get suspended for little things. They put 100 percent of the problem or issue on the drivers. Even if the driver didn't get the support they needed from Dispatch. It Dose not matter at that point they will wield safety like an ax and do all they can to take the focus off of them. However if you claim something was not safe they will ask ask ask and re-ask why you did what you did. Just think about it fright is already a tough industry with slow and busy seasons. Then to add on top the pride and egos of those above you it make it a very frustrating place to work. You know how long someone has worked at Conway based off the opinion they have. Most people it take less then a year for them to dispise this cooperation. However if you want to be a cog like me... Go ahead and apply they always need new employees! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company, great co-workers.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TxSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: awesome work place.
Cons: cutting down on workers/ still a temp worker.
My typical day when i get in is set appointments for customers we are delivering freight to. Then I get the bills from what the drivers deliver and i scan them in to a computer. If there is a problem with the bill, I will, I will bill it manually. I love my co-workers they are great, feels like a second family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my jobs but the management there was not profetional.
Fork truck driver, Team Leader, S.M.E. (Former Employee), Salem, ILSeptember 12, 2014
I loved my jobs and enjoyed them very much that were assigned to me! I worked my way up very quickly but most of the management at Conway is under par and inappropriate at the work place. But that aside I loved working there and loved what I did there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast pace always busy
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: very organized and easy to learn and grow into the business
Cons: that i would have to leave the job if an opportunity arises for me
I've been working with con-way for about two and half years and do enjoy working there. The atmosphere there is good very fast pace and very little room for error time is critical there because frieght has to go at a certain time. My co-workers and I have built a great comradery. I cant say nothing bad I definitely learned alot about freight companys – more... and cubing trailers out, following DOTs procedures and properly loading trailers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, exciting place to work.
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Con-way is a good place to work, it is an extremely fast paced environment that is consistently changing. My subordinates are great people who bend over backwards to do a good job. Con-way's environment and culture is ever changing for best with our journey down the lean path. The job itself can be extremely challenging at times, but has its payoff – more... in the end. The thing that I like the most about my job is the people and the fast paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy going environment
Biller (Receptionist) (Former Employee), Sacred Heart, MNSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: no full-time positions available
Con-way was a fun place to work. I gained so many skills and learned so many things that I still to do this day put towards current jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to place to work, nice paying salary
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee), Joplin, MOSeptember 6, 2014
I drove over the road, picked up and delivered regularly. Nice paying salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 4, 2014
nice company good benefits good work hours compensation was good nice coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, inconsistent supervisors, favoritism.
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: pay, time off, free uniforms, new equipment
Cons: mark stapleton and mark robel, bad work life balance
I worked for Con-way for 3 1/2 years, wasnt a terrible place to work but far from the best. They pride themselves on being family and employee oriented but that couldn't be further from the truth. typical day for a driver. Get your truck, hook to whatever kind of trailer dispatch tells you to get, spend about 9-10 hours in the city doing PU and deliveries, – more... then when you get back you are expected to check in. whether you were told to or not, you have to check in. however this on applies to certain people. some go straight home and nothing is said, other go home with them and get written up. the FOM and one other supervisor on FAC shift are the worst. Mark stapleton and Mark robel both violated a companys core value yet they retain their positions. Integrity. They both need to look up what that means. If you need a job and can somehow avoid ever having to make contact with them, then this place isnt too bad. If you are forced to work the FAC shift, might as well keep your resume updated because you wont be there long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSSeptember 1, 2014
Great treatment of employees, good salary...........................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for advancement and hours changed.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), lasalle, ilAugust 29, 2014
Ok place to work, but the transportation aspect opened the doors for a hostile working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have never worked for a better employer. They are very involved and base thier beliefs on integrity, committment, excellence and safety
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great pay, great hours, excellent co-workers
They are a great company to work for. The management is truly involved with all and every employee and issue they are come across.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job yet
Night Dispatcher (Former Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 22, 2014
It was stressful at times, but the team there was always so helpful, and I loved to be able to help them as well. Management made it fun on nights and were always helpful as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJAugust 21, 2014
Co-workers are friendly. Work long hours. Management sometimes doesn't care for there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Training and a fun place to work.
Driver (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 17, 2014
Pros: when you get high on the seniority list you will be able to go in early
Cons: have to drive 8 plus hours then have to work on the dock for a few hours.
A typical day at Conway start after you are called in.. Everyday you have wait to be on call in. They call drivers in according to how much freight is ready to be delivered. Conway calls drivers in off a seniority list. the higher you are on the seniority list the earlier you will be able to come into work. I have learns lots of driving maneuvers how – more... to parallel park a semi and how to maneuver a tracker and trailer in tight space and in closed quarters. New Station manager is cleaning up the station trying to make it a better work environment for everybody. I enjoy all my co-workers it like my second family.The hardest part of this job is when you are at the bottom of the seniority list and getting called in late and then just to get hours you have to stay all night. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is when im driving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
DSR-Driver Sales Rep (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: drivers i work with.
Cons: management
Questionable ethics and integrity. When I first started out at Con-Way it was by far the best paying job I had ever had, and as a female
it allowed me to provide a great income for my family. As the years have pasted this company has improved on work conditions, meaning
better equipment, safe stack trailers and newer forklifts. However, management has – more... changed and changed and changed. Since I started back in 2005 I have seen the decline in the hiring competent and skilled dock operations management. They hire and continually hire college kids who know nothing about the freight business or the trucking industry. This is a disasters combination, lack of knowledge and skills. If Con-Way does not do something about this, within 3 to 6 years the doors will close on Con-Way. Customers and drivers are the backbone to LTL carriers, without drivers, Con-Way will fold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
P&D Route Driver (Former Employee), Clear Lake, IAAugust 9, 2014
Delivered products to customers in the surrounding area, of Clear Lake, Iowa, Safety is very important to Con-Way, also making sure we operated in the most efficient way possible...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant environment. Everyone is nice, great group of people to work with and that is all a person could ask for
Dock Worker(Tem-hire) (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great environment.
Cons: job ended after two days classroom work and 1 hour on dock next day.
They lied and told the agency I worked for that I was not productive and all I was doing was following regular employees around on forklift learning dock procedures. A lot of con is what I think they have with them besides all the damage claims I saw.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for Conway.
Account Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 31, 2014
Pros: company practice their core values.
Cons: nothing negative to say.
The company worked together to satisfy the customer and profit at the same time. I really enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, limited advancement for driven people.
Accounting (Current Employee), Joplin, MOJuly 30, 2014
Pros: very ethical and committed to continual improvement within truckload.
Cons: advancement opportunities are limited.
Education is under valued at Truckload and talent often leaves as a result. However the culture is shifting but I'm not sure it will advance in time to keep me either.

1 2 3 4 5

About Con-way

Con-way Inc. is a freight transportation and logistics services company headquartered in Ann Arbor, Mich. Con-way delivers industry-leading – Read more