Find companies:
Con-way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
360 reviews

Con-way Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work and great people to work with
Trailer/Tire Technician (Former Employee), Joplin, MOSeptember 25, 2014
Co-workers were great people to work with and that was probably the best thing about working there. It was a great job and had no problems as long as u stayed focused and did your job and kept up with the work load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work day, long work week
Driver/dock (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not enough family time
8 to 9 hours a day drive time and 3 to 4 hours dock time. Learned how to transport different material and load and unload trailers. All the workers worked as a team to get the job done. The hardest part of the job was the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers, and how well we all worked together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers
Dsr city driver, dock mule (Former Employee), Rockford, ILSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: we ate good
Cons: no brakes, treated like dirt at the fac
Watch your back and keep you mouth shut, lots of gossip, co workers made this job nice....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver. Slave.
Drive (Current Employee), Xjo Joliet ilSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: there are none
Cons: i don't have all day awful treatment of employees
I worked or con. Way. For 2.5 years I have never worked for a company that doesn't trust any employee you have no voice or rights. Rules lol they only apply to those they wanna fire mgt is terrible treat you like garbage play with your income. Play games with runs the people are the only reason I stayed no ins for a year oh yea sure it useless the first – more... 15 months as before it pays you have to spend. 6k yep they are proud of that too turnover is high terrible hours tons of useless video training myth put on a front for safty as long as it doesn't inter fear with money then you look the other way horrible company worst experience of my life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience and you learn good skills to carry on for the future.
forklift driver (Former Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches, over time
Cons: n/a
Working for conway was an amazing experience. The chance to become a truck driver is something most jobs dont offer but conway trust in their own employees enough to train the fork drivers to become CDL truck drivers. Great hours, benefits and pay! Very respectful company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job great people to work with.
driver sales rep (line haul) (Current Employee), wiscinsinSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, co-workers
Cons: hours
Not every job is perfect but this is close. Pay is great great group of people to work with. You work long hard hours but they pay you well for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your experience all rides on the service center manager
Driver Sales Rep/ Delivery (Current Employee), Southern CaliforniaSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: job security, support, attitudes of management
I've now worked for Conway freight just under 2 years. They do pay well and honestly the hours and job are not terrible. I came into this job wide eyed and hoping for a career. However you get disenfranchised quickly. Advancing and moving up is not much of an option. You make more as a driver than Admin. With all that being said I have never done a – more... good job or ever done anything right. No matter how much you give or how much extra you put in they ask for more and DO NOT CARE. I've been a dedicated employee and have been asked to do extra services for them. Showing that there is trust and confidence in how I preform my duties. However as soon as there is a problem there is no history the trust that you have accrued and invested dissipates and they look at you like a vagrant that just walked in off the street. I'm completely sick of going to a job that at any moment of any day you could get fired. Safety is only a convenient belief to Conway. If it gets in the way of production - safety takes the Backseat. The attitude and culture is truly based off the service center manager and here in So CAL. There are not many good ones. And all the supporting staff above and around are all buddies. Your safety guy and local HR representative all buddies. So not much goes up the ladder. Think long and hard before you decide to hang your hat here. I've seen people get suspended for little things. They put 100 percent of the problem or issue on the drivers. Even if the driver didn't get the support they needed from Dispatch. It Dose not matter at that point they will wield safety like an ax and do all they can to take the focus off of them. However if you claim something was not safe they will ask ask ask and re-ask why you did what you did. Just think about it fright is already a tough industry with slow and busy seasons. Then to add on top the pride and egos of those above you it make it a very frustrating place to work. You know how long someone has worked at Conway based off the opinion they have. Most people it take less then a year for them to dispise this cooperation. However if you want to be a cog like me... Go ahead and apply they always need new employees! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company, great co-workers.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TxSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: awesome work place.
Cons: cutting down on workers/ still a temp worker.
My typical day when i get in is set appointments for customers we are delivering freight to. Then I get the bills from what the drivers deliver and i scan them in to a computer. If there is a problem with the bill, I will, I will bill it manually. I love my co-workers they are great, feels like a second family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company
ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 15, 2014
Responsible for credit review of domestic customer orders, collection of past-due accounts receivable, and resolving customer order issues relating to the credit and collection process following standard practice and procedures on all major or specialized accounts. Reviews and reconciles customer’s accounts receivable analyzing situations or data from – more... which answers can be readily obtained to ensure accuracy of the balances due. Provide credit review of new and existing customers to re-enable or process order requests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my jobs but the management there was not profetional.
Fork truck driver, Team Leader, S.M.E. (Former Employee), Salem, ILSeptember 12, 2014
I loved my jobs and enjoyed them very much that were assigned to me! I worked my way up very quickly but most of the management at Conway is under par and inappropriate at the work place. But that aside I loved working there and loved what I did there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast pace always busy
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: very organized and easy to learn and grow into the business
Cons: that i would have to leave the job if an opportunity arises for me
I've been working with con-way for about two and half years and do enjoy working there. The atmosphere there is good very fast pace and very little room for error time is critical there because frieght has to go at a certain time. My co-workers and I have built a great comradery. I cant say nothing bad I definitely learned alot about freight companys – more... and cubing trailers out, following DOTs procedures and properly loading trailers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, exciting place to work.
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Con-way is a good place to work, it is an extremely fast paced environment that is consistently changing. My subordinates are great people who bend over backwards to do a good job. Con-way's environment and culture is ever changing for best with our journey down the lean path. The job itself can be extremely challenging at times, but has its payoff – more... in the end. The thing that I like the most about my job is the people and the fast paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy going environment
Biller (Receptionist) (Former Employee), Sacred Heart, MNSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: no full-time positions available
Con-way was a fun place to work. I gained so many skills and learned so many things that I still to do this day put towards current jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to place to work, nice paying salary
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee), Joplin, MOSeptember 6, 2014
I drove over the road, picked up and delivered regularly. Nice paying salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 4, 2014
nice company good benefits good work hours compensation was good nice coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, inconsistent supervisors, favoritism.
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fontana, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: pay, time off, free uniforms, new equipment
Cons: mark stapleton and mark robel, bad work life balance
I worked for Con-way for 3 1/2 years, wasnt a terrible place to work but far from the best. They pride themselves on being family and employee oriented but that couldn't be further from the truth. typical day for a driver. Get your truck, hook to whatever kind of trailer dispatch tells you to get, spend about 9-10 hours in the city doing PU and deliveries, – more... then when you get back you are expected to check in. whether you were told to or not, you have to check in. however this on applies to certain people. some go straight home and nothing is said, other go home with them and get written up. the FOM and one other supervisor on FAC shift are the worst. Mark stapleton and Mark robel both violated a companys core value yet they retain their positions. Integrity. They both need to look up what that means. If you need a job and can somehow avoid ever having to make contact with them, then this place isnt too bad. If you are forced to work the FAC shift, might as well keep your resume updated because you wont be there long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSSeptember 1, 2014
Great treatment of employees, good salary...........................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for advancement and hours changed.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), lasalle, ilAugust 29, 2014
Ok place to work, but the transportation aspect opened the doors for a hostile working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have never worked for a better employer. They are very involved and base thier beliefs on integrity, committment, excellence and safety
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great pay, great hours, excellent co-workers
They are a great company to work for. The management is truly involved with all and every employee and issue they are come across.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job yet
Night Dispatcher (Former Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 22, 2014
It was stressful at times, but the team there was always so helpful, and I loved to be able to help them as well. Management made it fun on nights and were always helpful as well.

1 2 3 4 5

About Con-way

Con-way Inc. is a freight transportation and logistics services company headquartered in Ann Arbor, Mich. Con-way delivers industry-leading – Read more