Con-way Employee Reviews

Found 648 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Trailer Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CADecember 3, 2016
Conway is a good company but management in the shop needs to be retrained. Lack of people skills are a major problem. I enjoy working with my felow co workers but there needs to be major changes in operation.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financially sound place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Bryan, TXSeptember 23, 2016
Overall good company to work for very good benefits long hours 5 day work week good equipment and working environment very good pay holiday and personal
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit driven work load oriented company
Diesel Mechanic Apprentice (Current Employee) –  LaSalle, ILAugust 31, 2016
A fast paced, positive results, performance based company. Multiple advancement opportunities provided. employee oriented benefits and open with recognition for a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conway to XPO
DSR Driver Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Marshfield, MO 65706October 29, 2016
Loved Conway XPO is headed in a different direction. Tying to become smaller which means they are very overstaffed and rarely good a full day.
Pros
Salary benefits
Cons
directions going smaller away from LTL
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many hours given.
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Scott, LAOctober 19, 2016
Good work place and clean environment. Not many oppurtinities given , and hours. Great partime job , but not fulltime. Benefits are ok .
Pros
The work gone smoothly.
Cons
scheduling and hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Home time, no raise in pay in three years
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOJuly 31, 2016
No raise in past in three years. Hard to get home when planed to be home. To early or to late never when planed. Not enought home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Cargo Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXApril 18, 2016
Con-way Freight was a great company to work for, that's if you would like to stay in one position without advancement. In most of their salary positions there is no room for advancement only room for raises which most of the time were only 2%. (the politics average) The best thing about the job is I learned the in's and out of cargo claim and its was never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enviroment
Freight Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILAugust 6, 2016
Great people to work with, fast paced environment with a accuracy to the job. Shipping items all around the country. Great people and great benefits.
Pros
Enviromet
Cons
Relocation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Forklift Operator/Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJune 14, 2016
Good Company to work for. Able to learn a lot from Co-Workers and Supervisor. I would love to work for them again.

Good Benefits for employees.
Pros
Good working enviroment
Cons
Lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, sucks to work for
Certified Dock Labor (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 22, 2016
Management doesn't care or listen to drivers and. They only worry about whats best for themselves. A lot of issues start with them, and they don't like it when someone tells them so. if you want a family life, forget it. the hours that you have to put in to make a living don't allow any room for that. They always talk about safety this and that, but really its all about getting the job done fast and doesn't matter if its safe.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
benefits used to be great, but are sub par now
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report

Want to know more about Con-way?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Driver Sales Representative Driver Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hayward, WIApril 14, 2016
Work Hard and work Safely. Well compensated for your efforts. very much a safety first company. one of the highest paid positions compared to other less then truckload companies. The voice of the driver was very important to those in management. starting with the immediate supervisor up to the ceo. I would recommend a little less of the micro management of employees. the culture of the drivers is very close. you can ask for help with anything and others will give you a hand to get the job done
Pros
Safety, New Equipment, Strong managers
Cons
No breaks in the day. only a lunchtime (1/2 hour). in a 10 hour day that is all you are allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced cross dock
Dock Worker/CSR/Driver/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAOctober 24, 2016
i start my day at 2am wording the dock loading and unloading trailers for 4 hours the move into the front office to help answer phone and help customers for 2-3 hours then 2 hours in meetings checking on projects with project leaders then 4-6 hours driving delivering freight to customers. learned a lot with excel and power point, cross dock and exporting freight to Canada and managing multiple teams on strict deadlines.
Pros
consistent work
Cons
long hours take a toll over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con-way Freight Taken over by XPO Logistics Nov 2015
National Account Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXJune 29, 2016
Pre- takeover:
Most of my co-workers were wonderful. The ones that stayed on their cell phones and avoided work were never called on it and those that worked the hardest were micromanaged. The hardest part of the job was the management was always changing, unavailable and they were indecisive. They kept adding work onto the team all in the name of being lean.

Takeover lay-offs were made on a personal basis, not on a professional basis.
Pros
Increased my skillsets & made some very good friends.
Cons
Too many personal politics were allowed to run unchecked
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security and fast paced environment
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2016
the job is Monday thru Friday working the dock and going out to swap trailers; or come in before 1200 to run route and then work on dock. pay is good. takes three years to top out. takes a long time to work your way up seniority board.
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Field Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMarch 7, 2016
Great place to work top management knows how to train and develop employees. Compensation is fair and competitive. Great team atmosphere.
Pros
good management
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co. to work for. Overall rating 4 stars
DSR Tractor trl driver (Former Employee) –  Braintree, MAFebruary 26, 2016
Enjoyed working for Con-Way Freight for 10 yrs . Great people and took care of their employee's. Good Pay, Good Benefits, Good Envirament. Great Co. for advancement. Retired from Con-way in 2014.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high-performance work culture, with a family feel to the team.
Sr. Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 3, 2015
Con-way was an exceptional company to work for. The culture was one of collaboration, team focus, and allowing you to work at a high-performance level.

Con-way encouraged a work-life balance that kept all coworkers helping each other to keep family in mind if they began to work to many hours.
Pros
Great pay, good benefits, open to suggestions
Cons
Too many projects implemented at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and nice place to work as a second job with friendly co-workers.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 22, 2016
Everyday I would go in and tie in with my supervisor to see if there was any special cleaning projects for the evening. I worked with another employee and we cleaned 1st floor cafeteria floors and 1st floor restrooms. Then we would clean the upper floor Executive dinning, and conference rooms and offices. We also cleaned the theater, communications and truck bay offices.
Pros
Work experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and job security
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Fife, WAOctober 12, 2015
What I liked most about working for Conway was that it taught me how to persevere under pressure, to stay strong when things get rough, and how to lead others.

My favorite time there was delivering to the Port Angeles area. I saw a beautiful part of the country I might not have discovered otherwise.

The hardest part of my job was not knowing when the work day would end. It could last anywhere between 8-12 or more hours depending on the work load, most days averaged 10. Being away from my family for that many hours a day was difficult. I would come home exhausted without much energy left.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Hard to get any time off. Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Freight Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTSeptember 15, 2016
Con-way is a good place to work. They compensate well and have a great benefit package. Good advancement opportunities and positive upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Con-way. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 655 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2