Con-way Employee Reviews

Found 713 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun was first job with class A
Local Class A delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 20, 2017
Was a great place to work friendly environment and people were great learned a lot there from yard hostling to dockwork to driving local deliveries. Had a unfortunate accident there on the road not my fault at all but I paid the price had medication mishap. Now im older it would be great get another opportunity with them.
Pros
Room to grow
Cons
short term
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 19, 2017
Everyone worked and played as a team. No one was left out, everyone pulls their weight, and helps when needed. Opportunities for growth are always abundant, if you are willing to work for them.
Pros
Amazing healthcare plans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
DSR Driver (Former Employee) –  Chico, CAJuly 13, 2017
This is a typical freight delivery company. There were a few people that I really liked. Home everyday. Decent pay and good people. Seniority is overall on advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,clean work enviorment,great place to work.
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 11, 2017
Very great place to work,supervisors with great attitude.always some one there to help out when inneed.I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working conditions
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 6, 2017
Management seems to be employee oriented. Compensation is excellent for the job description. I enjoyed my time there and would recommend it as a place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cross dock
Certified Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 1, 2017
Loading Trailers on a daily basis for a cross dock company in which I was the stacker where I had to load up the critical points using the high and tight left to right method
Pros
clean environment
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Linehaul Driver (Former Employee) –  Laredo TexasJune 29, 2017
Enjoyed my time their sad that company was sold. . Have good memories of how we started in Laredo looking for new customers.
Tough in the first year as a group we grew the company from 4 to over 100 employees. Company provided us every year with a picnic in summer and a end of the year dinner. Their was an open door policy
which enable us to give impute on how to better our company.
Pros
benefits
Cons
as company grew newer employees did not have same values as older employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for over the road driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 26, 2017
This was a good company to work for, they did well in dispatching and keeping a driver busy. They were lacking when it came to home time and making sure it happened on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con-Way (XPO Logistics)
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pacoima, CAJune 25, 2017
Working at conway was like any other job. As a driver, you start at the bottom doing tasks you really do not want to do. Sweeping the docks, trailers and dock skirt pads. Loading and unloading trailers and then if you were lucky to get a run, it would be a short trip to the next freight assembly center and unload/load trailers again. However, once you have proved yourself, tasks were more easy and the runs were longer to a more desirable location. In time, you would have an opportunity to go to city P&D.
Pros
Equipment
Cons
Run run run
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Driver Friendly
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 22, 2017
I can honestly say this company treats its company drivers and Owner Operator with respect they deserve. Mostly all their facilities are driver friendly and dispatchers are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fast Paced
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Melrose Park, ILJune 22, 2017
I had no problems working for Con-Way Freight. It was a very fast paced environment and you were to busy to have any issues. If I didn't get injured I would still be there.
Pros
Great benifits, free dunuts on Fridays and great people to work with and for.
Cons
The way they handled my in jury.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 15, 2017
Day to day work was good the management was good and fair the hardest part of the job was the heat because I worked on the dock the most enjoyable part about the job was the pepole who worked with me it was a company with great faces
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Hot outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stuff
Driver Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, PAJune 10, 2017
I liked it. It was a good place to work. Sometimes long hours but good opportunity to learn ins and outs of the industry. If you like the long hours you have an opportunity to go places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trucking company
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Richmond, IN 47374June 9, 2017
This was a data entry job. The incoming loads were divided onto other trucks for deliveries elsewhere. I entered and prepared new bills for these deliveries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
City Driver (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 5, 2017
Conway was bought out by Xpo logistics
It was a great place to work until Xpo took over then the job went down hill, Xpo dosnt care for the employees its about money
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work during business school
National Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAMay 16, 2017
Work /life balance while I was there was great. As with any small business there were multiple hats you needed to wear on a daily basis. People were good to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 14, 2017
Great place to work very laid back place all management is cool sometimes the freight can be stressful but for the most part its a great place to work overtime is great as well
Pros
Long hours sometimes 12 so plenty of ot
Cons
Sometimes we dont get a lunch or we go later than exspected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were a couple of good people to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rock Island, ILMay 11, 2017
All in all, it was an OK place to work. Being only a temp employee, I was not subject to any paid time off or vacations. There was NO chance of advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the terminals were clean
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOMay 9, 2017
driving long haul was ok. gave plenty of time to get to customer. Would take a week or two to get you home.There where communication issues between driver and dispatch.
Pros
will let you stay out a long time
Cons
will make you wait on small loads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  1490 Hall stMay 6, 2017
It was a good place to work except for extreme weather and sometimes short and long days management was ok but sometimes show favoritism but co workers was great
Pros
Salary
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Con-way. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 720 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

74%
125 ratings
Add your rating