Con-way Employee Reviews

Found 659 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIDecember 30, 2016
typical day was going in early AM get on a hilo, do inspection of hilo.
Then i was in charge of getting freight over from staged trailers to the trailers that were supposed to go.Management was not great but not terrible, some of the guys in management were decent people.Coworkers made the day fun, always laughing. hardest part was had loading or unloading trailers.I really enjoyed the guys i worked with .
Pros
people i worked with, never a dull moment!!!
Cons
pay, hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con-way had a 110% turnover rate.
Senior Supplier Relationship Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 12, 2017
I would not recommend Con-way. I am not surprised they were bought out by XPO Logistics. Con-way embraced employees of hateful natures. Disrespect and sub-par skills were the standard. Most days were spent trying to circumvent sabotage of peers and manager. Spent many nights and weekends completing positive work without indignant interruptions.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Abusive and incompetent management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Driver Sales Representative Driver Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hayward, WIApril 14, 2016
Work Hard and work Safely. Well compensated for your efforts. very much a safety first company. one of the highest paid positions compared to other less then truckload companies. The voice of the driver was very important to those in management. starting with the immediate supervisor up to the ceo. I would recommend a little less of the micro management of employees. the culture of the drivers is very close. you can ask for help with anything and others will give you a hand to get the job done
Pros
Safety, New Equipment, Strong managers
Cons
No breaks in the day. only a lunchtime (1/2 hour). in a 10 hour day that is all you are allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con-way Freight Taken over by XPO Logistics Nov 2015
National Account Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXJune 29, 2016
Pre- takeover:
Most of my co-workers were wonderful. The ones that stayed on their cell phones and avoided work were never called on it and those that worked the hardest were micromanaged. The hardest part of the job was the management was always changing, unavailable and they were indecisive. They kept adding work onto the team all in the name of being lean.

Takeover lay-offs were made on a personal basis, not on a professional basis.
Pros
Increased my skillsets & made some very good friends.
Cons
Too many personal politics were allowed to run unchecked
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Trailer Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CADecember 3, 2016
Conway is a good company but management in the shop needs to be retrained. Lack of people skills are a major problem. I enjoy working with my felow co workers but there needs to be major changes in operation.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financially sound place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Bryan, TXSeptember 23, 2016
Overall good company to work for very good benefits long hours 5 day work week good equipment and working environment very good pay holiday and personal
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Freight Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTSeptember 15, 2016
Con-way is a good place to work. They compensate well and have a great benefit package. Good advancement opportunities and positive upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Cargo Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXApril 18, 2016
Con-way Freight was a great company to work for, that's if you would like to stay in one position without advancement. In most of their salary positions there is no room for advancement only room for raises which most of the time were only 2%. (the politics average) The best thing about the job is I learned the in's and out of cargo claim and its was never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit driven work load oriented company
Diesel Mechanic Apprentice (Current Employee) –  LaSalle, ILAugust 31, 2016
A fast paced, positive results, performance based company. Multiple advancement opportunities provided. employee oriented benefits and open with recognition for a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced cross dock
Dock Worker/CSR/Driver/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAOctober 24, 2016
i start my day at 2am wording the dock loading and unloading trailers for 4 hours the move into the front office to help answer phone and help customers for 2-3 hours then 2 hours in meetings checking on projects with project leaders then 4-6 hours driving delivering freight to customers. learned a lot with excel and power point, cross dock and exporting freight to Canada and managing multiple teams on strict deadlines.
Pros
consistent work
Cons
long hours take a toll over time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Home time, no raise in pay in three years
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOJuly 31, 2016
No raise in past in three years. Hard to get home when planed to be home. To early or to late never when planed. Not enought home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and nice place to work as a second job with friendly co-workers.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 22, 2016
Everyday I would go in and tie in with my supervisor to see if there was any special cleaning projects for the evening. I worked with another employee and we cleaned 1st floor cafeteria floors and 1st floor restrooms. Then we would clean the upper floor Executive dinning, and conference rooms and offices. We also cleaned the theater, communications and truck bay offices.
Pros
Work experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNDecember 13, 2016
I did many different roles including customer service, dispatching drivers and figuring out where lost freight belonged. I learned more keyboarding skills as well as billing for the company. My coworkers were amazing and always willing to go the extra mile for the team and the customer.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Hours got switched without notice
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Truck Driver/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, KSJanuary 12, 2017
it is a steady job but not great pay and benefits are sub par. its very long days but there some good things about Conway. you can learn how to drive a truck through them. they will help get a cdl
Pros
weekends off and holidays paid
Cons
very cold on their dock in winter, you are required to work the dock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security and fast paced environment
Driver Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2016
the job is Monday thru Friday working the dock and going out to swap trailers; or come in before 1200 to run route and then work on dock. pay is good. takes three years to top out. takes a long time to work your way up seniority board.
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job..
Professional Truck Driver/ Trainer (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MODecember 21, 2016
Excellent pay once you are out of the training periods required for all new hire employees. Poor management however they tend to leave you alone if you do your job properly. No home life, they rarely can get you home on the days you request.
Pros
good pay.
Cons
poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential
Senior Manager of Operations (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 30, 2016
If the promotion of a healthy work environment/culture were made a priority, this could be an excellent company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of changes
Freight Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2017
new company going down hill. After the buy out by XPO the old conway is gone and never coming back.Never know what the goals will be week from week or if you will have a job the next day.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GADecember 11, 2016
WORKING AT CONWAY was different early start early release i like it but no benefits sometime didn't work , but always was on time got my certification from the job
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conway to XPO
DSR Driver Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Marshfield, MO 65706October 29, 2016
Loved Conway XPO is headed in a different direction. Tying to become smaller which means they are very overstaffed and rarely good a full day.
Pros
Salary benefits
Cons
directions going smaller away from LTL
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Con-way. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 666 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2