Find companies:
Concentra
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
309 reviews

Concentra Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and still expanding company
Center Operations Director (Current Employee), Secaucus, NJMay 16, 2014
Pros: growth
Cons: constant structure change and benefits.
The culture at Concentra is a cornerstone to it success. They provided you with the tools in order to be a great leader. Invested in management for the better of the company. The hardest part of job was the constant change which is needed in order to keep up with the competition. The best part of this job is that your involved with building your center – more... and get recognized for that hard work. As a director you have your hands in everything from Facilities management, account set up and sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occupational Medicine
Physician Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 15, 2014
Offered a variety of workplace injuries and engaging physicians to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
Claims Processor (Former Employee), Daphne, ALMay 10, 2014
Pros: alright
Cons: not enough pay
ok company, pay not so great. co-workers were great. the job was easy and i enjoyed working with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promote health living and a productive company to be a part of.
Certified Coding Specialist (Current Employee), Addison, TXMay 7, 2014
Concentra has a very positive environment and great people to work around. I enjoy what I do there and the hours are flexible to fit one's schedule. Management team are fair and honest and are great to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concentra provides me with a broad array of environments to work with on a daily basis.
Unix Infrastructure Team Lead and Manager (Current Employee), Addison, TXMay 7, 2014
Pros: great people, wide array of environments and products to work with and not silo'ed on a single product.
The people at Concentra are the main reason I have stayed for so long. They are wonderful people and have small, tight groups, that can easily get the job at hand accomplished in a timely manner. I work closely with all of the Infrastructure IT groups to include Wintel, Unix Apps, DBAs, Citrix, VMWare, Facilities, and Network on a daily basis. My typical – more... day would be to work on any projects at hand along with any maintenance or support issues that deal with SAN, NAS, Networker Backups, Linux and Solaris servers. Lately the projects have been related to Data Center Migrations and infrastructure buildout. The following are my qualifications;

• Storage / NAS / SAN / System Administrator III and Unix Infrastructure Team Lead (currently transitioning into Unix Infrastructure manager) at Concentra Health Systems / Humana experienced in the design and architecture, implementation, and follow-through to production with storage and Unix infrastructure. My current team is responsible for NAS / SAN storage, Backup and DR, and Unix OS / Infrastructure.
• Strong knowledge in supporting, building, and implementing configurations for EMC Symmetrix and Clariion hardware in SAN and NAS environments.
• Proven ability to plan, organize and lead technical projects in both small groups and corporate environments while keeping the customer at a very high level of satisfaction.
• Solid management skills, demonstrated proficiency in leading and mentoring individuals to maximize levels of productivity, while forming cohesive team environments.
• Analytical thinker that consistently resolves ongoing issues or defects, often called upon to consult on problems that have eluded resolution by others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, very flexible.
Contract Compliance Auditor (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAMay 6, 2014
Pros: learning something new everyday.
I had never done auditing work before so it was a whole new language for me to learn. Like anything new it was tough in the beginning learning this new language. I enjoyed the work because it felt like detective work trying to find the errors in billing. It was a great feeling to have accomplished so much there without a nursing or pharmaceutical degree. – more... Unfortunately they closed the Weymouth office in MA. With cut backs due to the economy they moved everything out of their headquarters in Chicago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a good place to work.....
Former employee (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MIMay 4, 2014
Cons: management
To work for Concentra, one should invest in a lifetime supply of lip balm.

Concentra...where the good employees get fired and the behind kissers climb higher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around excellent place to work
Patient account representative (Former Employee), Brookfield WiApril 29, 2014
Pros: great boss, co-workers and paid time off
Cons: 45 min drive to work for me
Employed as an accounts receivable representative in the workers compensation department. Most of my work was done over the phone with insurance companies. I enjoyed speaking with all of the insurance adjusters over the years. My immediate supervisor was great. He would come up with different contests and incentives in order to increase production and – more... to make our work day more enjoyable. As an office we would some days have lunch in the park, or if we reached and exceeded our a/r goal we would go to summerfest or state fair etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Medical Assistant/Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Willoughby, OHApril 20, 2014
Concentra has been a great place to work, the people are pleasant and it is a high paced environment. I am looking for a full time position and all they have to over at this time is PRN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about scores and numbers. Mgmt could careless about you
Specialist (Former Employee), Warren, MIApril 15, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: horrible mgmt, rude patients, no raises or bonuses, your job is based on patient scores, and patient surveys
Our center sees approx 180 patients a day. These patients are rude! We are understaffed under appreciated. Mgmt shoves shoves scores down our throats 100x a day. Our raises are based on patient score and experience. Benefits suck. Your on your feet all day. You run non stop. Need to take a breather? Good luck mgmt is all over looking for you. They write – more... you up for everything. They lure you in with great pay however you will never get a raise or bonus. You will never leave at the time your supposed to be leaving. Patients Are rude. The most rudest people I have ever met. Everything is based off of scores. Corporate is always firing managers. They can never keep employees because it's so darn hard convince them it's going to better because it's not. Your way over worked. Your responsibilities are everything!!!! Drug screens, making sure they go to the proper employer, physicals, DOT physicals, X-rays, hair drug screens, registering people discharging them, urgent care, x rays, cleaning, stocking, phone calls, referrals, assisting doctors with whatever they need. Not only are you doing that drug screen. That patient will probably need a drug screen, physical, audio test, breath alcohol test, breathing test, and x ray. That probably takes almost an hr. You have 3 other co works with 50 patients in the center!! Way over worked. Concentra does not care about your well being. Your expected to take every patient that walks in the door up until close. Even though the patient will probably have 20 mins of paper work plus an hour of drug screens and physicals. Better hope they can go!! Kiss your friends, families, kids, personal, social life goodbye – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ole' Boy company
HR Specialist (Current Employee), Addison, TXApril 15, 2014
Love my job but not challenging enough. Very hard to move up in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and enjoyable work environment
Supervisor- International Deployment Center (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXApril 15, 2014
completed all medical processing for civilians working in Afghanistan, Iraq and Kuwait.

Attended weekly meetings with staff to address concerns, issues, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good work experience
Front Office Spe (Current Employee), Seguin, TXApril 15, 2014
Staff is friendly and always willing to help. Clinic is ran well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a first time Medical job
Medical Assistant, PRN (Current Employee), KSApril 8, 2014
Pros: full time positions have good benefits
Cons: part time and prn have no benefits at all.
I am PRN so my hours are unpredictable and rely solely on people taking time off or calling in. That was a good thing at first, it eases you into working in your medical position. Now I am ready for a full time job with benefits and steady reliable hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps drivers busy and opportunity to advance
Commercial truck driver (Former Employee), Pomona, CAApril 6, 2014
Pros: drivers need time off is usually approved without hastle.
Cons: need better mechanics.
Hours of operation is good.
Management listens to its employees and honor their needs.
Management has an open-door policy.
co-workers are easy to work with and willing to lend a helping hand.
Most of the work is simple.
Customer satisfaction is overall recieved well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great costumer care
Physical therapy intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 5, 2014
Physical therapy is one of the best areas at Concentra. Great work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just out of school.
MA/LST (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 4, 2014
Pros: hire people just out of scool
Cons: a big company, more worried anout making money
I gained a lot of skills working at Concentra. It helped me to move onto a better job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating: ****
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 31, 2014
Pros: good teamwork with co-workers and doctors
Cons: information not given to all workers at the same time
Start by checking what rooms are open to start bringing patients back to be seen. Check paperwork of next patient to see what is needed: recheck, new injury, physical (type), drug test (type), etc. and make sure everything is in order. Work the patient, take to a room, offer water. Triage patients if needed. Assist with STAT patients (still bleeding, – more... need x-ray, etc.) Clean rooms and, If time allows, resupply rooms. Clean UltraClave, clean instruments, bag them and sterilyze them. I learned to put casts on, splints and how to remove casts. I learned how to work with 2, 3 patients at a time. The most enjoyable part of my job was doing injections where patients would tell me I have a "soft hand" and they did not feel the needle, receiving praises from patients re: my customer service and the way I handle their services. The hardest part of the job would be when only one doctor was available and we had rooms full, so we had to tell patients that the wait was to be long and would be longer if STAT patients came in. We had a good team where we all helped each other when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Medical Billing and Accounts Receivable (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 26, 2014
The company was a great learning experience they allowed me to grow and I learned a new trade, because of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management leads by threats and not example however, they train extremely well and focused on customer service.
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee), Bingham Farms, MIMarch 26, 2014
Concentra does a great job finding ways to provide great customer service. They focus on the needs of their clients with the exception of annual price increases. Unfortunately they depend on people who have no leadership qualities to lead a sales team.

About Concentra

Concentra Managed Care, Inc. is the leading provider of healthcare management and cost containment services to the workers' compensation, – Read more