Find companies:
Concentra
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
257 reviews

Concentra Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work if you wanted to learn anything
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 30, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: everyting else
My direct supervisor was rarely in the office or could not be reached. Any training done was over the phone with a person who worked at home with her kids and we had constant interruptions. She had very little patients and I was hired as an Ex. Asst. but I was being trained as a Financial Analyst only over the phone.

The entire situation was wrong – more... from the start. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job here. I have no gripes and complaints.
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 28, 2013
Pros: a staff that had worked together for years.
Cons: just minor gripes from time to time, breaks, lunch, etc.
I began everyday from a work priority list from the day before. I dealt with many insurance carriers, employers and patients. We were always supported by our managers to make decisions to get our jobs done correctly and timely. The staff that was there worked together for many years. We had no problem supporting each other in order for all of us to – more... reach our goals and bonuses. Concentra closed this billing office and moved our accounts to Atlanta, GA in December 2011. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need only to apply for a dead end job
CBO (Former Employee), ColoradoAugust 27, 2013
Pros: fellow colleagues that actually do stay. doctors are awsome.
Cons: not enough staff. forget about yearly raise. health insurance could be better.
Concentra is only good to work at if you just graduated from school and need a reference for a much better opportunity in the future. Slaved hours, no breaks but lunch and even then you are sought out to work. Not enough employees to cover the amount of patients seen through out the day. Employees come and go within months because of poor work moral – more... from COD and HR could care less. Not to mention its all about NPRs and PERs not about patient care. Lets get 130 patients in and out in 10 minutes. No room for advancement if you are not in the FO loop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional, very structured and fun to work for.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 26, 2013
I would make sure the rooms were ready for patients, do calibrations that was needed to be done, make sure my work station was ready. Signed on to the computer. What learned was the importance of teamwork, as long as everyone has the same goal at the end of the day then the day will go a lot smoother. I like being a medical assistant I feel that this – more... is the enjoyable positions, I like the duties of this type of position such as taking to patients and tending to their health, I feel like there is really nothing hard, I guess that I have had harder jobs than being a medical assistant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBO Workers are treated like sweat shop workers with no social life.
Deposit Preparation Specialist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 24, 2013
Pros: flex-time
Cons: stress, production and goal driven envirnoment, socializing will get you written up, and often short-notice manadatory ot
Production, Production, PRODUCTION!=Goal w/ payout <1.5% quarterly. There is a 5% payout if the annual goal is reached, but each quarter the goal gets harder and harder. Also the raises are not good. There is no cost of living increase either.

Concentra is owned by Humana, but the employees still have normal insurance premiums (no discount).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 22, 2013
Not a bad place to work. Typical working environment for a large organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Referral Coordinator (Former Employee), Lombard, ILAugust 22, 2013
I liked working at Concentra, however there was a lot of favoritism towards some employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp assignment
Field Service Representative/Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 19, 2013
I was not with this company long, they closed location. After only being in role for a few months, the employer closed office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Burnout
Physical Therapy Operations (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 18, 2013
This is a great company to work for if you are complacent doing the same thing everyday with ever increasing responsibility for no additional pay. There is no room for advancement and even when blatantly discussed about longevity and the desire to promote, it lands on deaf ears.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Workplace
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee), Atlanta areaAugust 17, 2013
Pros: scrubs are provided for you.
Cons: lack of support by management.
A typical day at his work place is very stressful. I have learned a lot for example wound care, drug screens, how to administer injections, blood draws, etc. Management is a political game, and need tons of improvement. There are some good hard working co-workers, then you have your hefty share of lazy ones. The hardest part of this job is getting management – more... to understand how stressful it is to work in this environment and and not having the tools we need to make Concentra what they want it to be. The most enjoyable part of this job is when I see the patients health improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Urgent Care Center
Physician Assistant (Locum Tenens) (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 11, 2013
Pros: staff efficient and helpful
Cons: too many workman's comp cases for my taste
Good company to work for as a locum tenens. Co-workers and management were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, great company and employees.
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAAugust 8, 2013
A typical day at work evolves soley around patients whom I sometimes grow close to depending on how often they return; as well as being apart of a wonderful team of colleagues. Having management as part of the team serves great purpose as well, seeing that we can work together to reach mutual goals. At Concentra we strive to meet the patients needs – more... in the best way we can while still being compassionate and genuine. I would say the hardest part of my job is not being able to treat everyone who walks through our doors. Although sending them to better care, such as the E.R. which is better equipped to treat certain illness, will help them. The most enjoyable part of my job is giving treatment to my patients and receiving their gratitude and appreciation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), St LouisAugust 1, 2013
Need to have more Medical Assistants other than just two, but other that that a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Training Programs, Extremely high turnover.
Front Office Receptionist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 31, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: no time for breaks other then lunch, hardly time to use restroom, short staffed, and poor training.
A typical day at work, we work very hard and at a very fast pace. Our days would be much more pleasing to patients, and staff if we had proper training, and if we were not changing management and staff daily. I learned how to handle urgent care through centricity, and I learned how to use occusource. My coworkers were good people, poorly trained though, – more... and very stressed out daily because of it . The hardest part of the job is keeping the patients happy when they are waiting way longer then needed, because we are always under staffed, and poorly trained. The most enjoyable part of this job, I must say was working with the patients when we had enough staff on and off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strategic & Challenging Atmosphere for Day to Day Operations
Center Operations Director (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2013
I oversee a 7 day facility that helps patients for immediate care, preplacement physicals, drug screens, immunizations and injury care at work.

We currently see over 150 patients a day and have maintained and built an established repor in the downtown Chicago area.

The hardest part of the job is trying to coach and teach the team the importance of – more... why they are here and what they are expected to do daily to facilitate excellent customer care and service.

The most enjoable part of my job is seeing patients smile and making sure the staff is equally as happy too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work and utilize assessment and multi tasking skills
Occupational Health Nurse (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 23, 2013
Concentra Medical offered the ability to utilize skills, be self directed and motivated. Offered flexibility in hours and a great place to network with other companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Worker's Compensation Claims Adjustor (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 17, 2013
Good company with good employees and good management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
broaden my horizon on how billing in an office is done
Cash Posting Specialist I (Current Employee), hapeville, GAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: learned to post payments from checks, credit cards, worker's compention, insurance companiesl
Cons: advanced my speed in posting
leaned how to do data entry from health insurance claim form, worker's comp insurance, injury and non injury, send out bills and learned to use 10k adding maching and gain speed, worked closely with co-workers and gained knowledge on short cuts in doing the job as billing specialist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Front Office Lead (Supervisor) (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 15, 2013
Very busy stressfull work environment. But all worth it at the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing healthcare for work related healthcare
RMA, (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 1, 2013
Pros: working with staff
Very busy and faast past, but very rewarding. Working with many organizations and businesses in providing healthcare needed for their employees

About Concentra

Concentra Managed Care, Inc. is the leading provider of healthcare management and cost containment services to the workers' compensation, – Read more