Concern for Independent Living Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, can improve compensation
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 5, 2017
Most days was easy, except when there was a crisis with clients. Working with the most of the clients was rewarding. Some of the staff issues were petty. Upper management was effective.
Pros
Worked with limited supervision
Cons
Difficulty getting holidays off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Medication Counselor (Current Employee) –  Riverhead, NYJuly 31, 2017
Great place to work for. Follows state regulations. I've learned about administering and managing psychotropic medications. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the residents
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exhausting
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Medford, NYMay 18, 2017
As with all companies, your experience will largely depend on your supervisor. Mine did not seem to like me, ridiculing me for things like my make-up which was ok'd by upper management as being completely work appropriate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Riverhead, NYMay 10, 2017
Great place to work. Salaries are low for living in Suffolk County, NY
benefits are great. Workload can be heavy at times as with an average place of work. Workplace environment great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to develop your skills and abilities
Weekend Counselor (Current Employee) –  West Sayville, NYDecember 20, 2016
Love the residents, they need caring, loving people to help them get through day by day. The staffs are flexible and I would definitely recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for
Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 28, 2016
Concern is a great agency to work for. Caring staff including the CEO, room for growth, tuition assistance, great benefits and much more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for.
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Medford, NYJanuary 4, 2016
I've been with the agency for a little over 7 years now and can attest that this is one of, if not the best, mental health housing provider/programs on Long Island.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 17, 2014
Great Job. I have learned a lot while working here. Company is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization/Poor wages
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Medford ,NYMarch 6, 2014
Concern is a good place to work; the clients are great. Management and co-workers can be great too. The downside is the wages are below average even for graduate level positions/degrees. Discussing raises/pay is a taboo!
Pros
Hour Lunch period, can be fun place to work at times, good trainings
Cons
expected to perform mulitple dutities outside of job description without proper compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Rapidly Expanding Non-Profit
Medication Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 22, 2013
Concern for Independent Living is big on trainings, there are ample trainings you can attend. Most are packed with informative and current information and are very enjoyable. I learned a great deal about psychotropic medications and how to appropriately supervise independent clients ingest them. My Co-workers and support staff are great! Paperwork is the hardest part of the job, often there is more paperwork then there is time to complete it; overtime is not in the budget. The most enjoyable part of the job is educating and empowering our clients.
Pros
Great Trainings
Cons
Small budget
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace that cares about clients
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Medford, NYOctober 16, 2012
This company is a growing force in housing peoples with mental illness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Concern for Independent Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Concern for Independent Living Reviews by Location