Find companies:
Coney Island Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Coney Island Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The in-patient unit is a freindly atmosphere that provides a balaced work flow for staff and patients.
Activity Therapist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: sensitive, caring, friendly, respectful, holiday parties
Cons: lack of communication and appreciation conveyed by administration to staff members.
My current workplace enviorment is friendly and incudes all walks of life. Thus as an organization our main goal is to ensure all clients are treated with honesty, respect, integrity and ensure their well- being is being met adequatley. In addittion as an activity therapist a vast amount of knowledge is learned via communication with all diverse cultures – more... and in-services.Nonetheless, it is imperative that management includes staff' members in thoughts, issues, and concerns in order to create and implement a strucutural and well-balanced organization. However the hardest part of the job is the unpredictableness of the patients which can be frightning at times. However the most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I was able to help a client succeed in meeting their goals and expectations and reintergration into the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Specimen Transporter (temp) (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 9, 2014
Im working thru an agency but overall staff is great and job is easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent places to be hospitalized
Volunteer (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 20, 2014
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: unfriendly staff member
Someone I know worked here for a long time. She got her business management degree while working there and they never moved her up in position...

A staff member insulted me when I went to reactivate my health insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding and exciting work place
Internship/ volunteer (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 8, 2014
Pros: continuous experience and learning
As an intern in Coney Island Hospital, I was part of the Nursing Department in Main building, administratively assisting inpatient units to achieve positive patient experiences. I also had additional experience in the Human Resources Training Department. While in the units, I was able to develop my skills, knowledge, and beliefs related to health care – more... delivery, specifically in acute care setting.
The objectives of the internship was to be able to identify trends and issues related to system practices, understand laws and regulations that impact healthcare organizations such as employment, Joint Commission, HCAHPS, patient consent, and confidentiality. I was able to understand the major ethical issues affecting health care and the structure of health care organizations, describe the roles, responsibilities, and functions of various services within the healthcare organizations including risk management, financial services, materials management, and facility management. Also, I get to understand the importance of measuring the quality of services, how to apply general approaches to improve quality services, utilize the jargon and language of health care organizations. In addition I was able to learn how to develop daily plans which include; defining problems, using and interpreting data, and evaluating results and impacts. I also develop how to manage day to day organizational activities such as handling the informal, on-going flow of activities, manage time, and develop priorities. Finally and also interesting part, I learned how to develop relationship with people by team building, accomplishing daily goals, motivating and persuading, and resolving conflict, also I was able to identify the different sources of operating revenue with third party payers, Medicaid and Medicare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Service Aide (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 29, 2014
it's a great place to work.
nice team.
funny thing is sometimes it's getting very busy, so you not even realize how time if flying...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospital life
Nurse's Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 3, 2014
Pros: one hour lunch
It was a great learning center. I learn a lot at this job and the patients made my day. The pay was ok for the work that i was doing but at the end of the day patient's smiles was a great reward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CIH stands by their patients
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 17, 2014
Coney Island adheres to the mission of HHC, providing Better Care, Better Health, Lower Cost.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided assistance to the Nursing staff in the Health Career Exploration Program (HCEP).
Clerk and Nurse Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 12, 2014
Assisting the nurses and taking vital signs was the best part. It was fun to learn and be in that environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is never a delivery that is the same, unique speciality
Staff RN -Labor & Delivery (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: grieving family
Starts slow then the day can be very busy to the point you need roller skates to keep up with the deliveries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience
Lead pharmacy technician (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Cons: late night shifts
Working in Coney Island Hospital gave me a huge set of knowledge of the pharmacy operation, including drug administration and evaluation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healing Hands
Certified Nurses Aide - ER Department (Former Employee), New York,NyFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: the door is always open for free advice and someone to listen.
Cons: careless people
Typical day at work is always challenging especially working in the E.R department in which have grown to love with much admiration and compassion. My fellow staffs,director of nursing and all the doctors I have grown to know has inspired me everyday to fight harder,work with care and compassion but most importantly always work as a team. I have learned – more... so much by working closely with Dr's, Nurses,Supervisors it was a privileged and a honor to know how important making a difference in someone life..Every minute and second count in order to save life whether it was critical or non critical. The best part out of it all is to know when my shift was over at the end of the day ,I made a difference today. i wiped someones tears away and made them smile, I comfort the one that needed me the most, i held someone hands today, or i provide food for them when they were hungry. Knowing i was able to do all of that ,it was all the many reasons I go home with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
CLINICAL INTERNSHIP IV- Student Intern (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: manageable case load and friendly working environment
Cons: hard to find parking around the area.
Evaluate and treat patients in outpatient and inpatient setting. Can get busy at times and require good time management skills at work. Friendly environment and staff members are pleasant to be around with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot at this hospital
Nursing Student (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: learned alot in pediatrics and maturnity
Cons: not much patients in labor and delivery to learn much.
In this hospital I have learned OB-GYN/ Maturity, Psych and Pediatrics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: administration
Beginning from the Administration, to the staff and the Directors of each department, the work ethics and culture is very unprofessional. The human resource department is very lousy, they got fined 1million dollars in 2013 for not keeping records up to date. The Administrators and executives only care about how much money they make. They do not care – more... about their staff or patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Student Nurse / Clinical Rotations (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 25, 2013
Pros: good breaks, great co-workers, great learning experience
-Learned how to provide care for patients on ventilators.
-Learned medication administration, through IV, IV push, Oral, Injection and topical.
-Learned to provide wound care and had a great preceptor who is also the Nurse Educator in the hospital.
-Observed a colonoscopy and the preparation procedure prior to test.
-observed pre-op and post-op care.
-Also – more... observed two surgeries in the OR, ileostomy reversal, and hemorrhoidectomy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent group of staff members
Nuclear/CT Technologist (Current Employee), BKLYN, NYDecember 24, 2013
There is a high volume of patients, but we work efficiently and provide outstanding patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience as a nursing student
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 4, 2013
Working at Coney Island Hosp. were a great experience just like Caledonian Hosp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work, and is culturally diverse
Per-diem/home care Nurse (Current Employee), brooklynNovember 22, 2013
Pros: i made a difference in patient lives
Cons: that i'm highly sensitive to the patients needs
Everyday is a different challenge and me and my co-workers always expect something new which overhall make our job more exciting. I"ve learned how to multitask, deescalate most situation. My co-workers are very helpful, and work as a team. The hardest part of my job is when I have a patient that are terminally ill and I could only offer emotional support – more... as much as possible for the short time. The most enjoyable part is when the patient is being discharged to home and says to me that I was the best nurse that he or she encountered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace and learning enviroment
Volunteer (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 20, 2013
Pros: free lunch, helpful people
Cons: not enough time to discuss methods with supervisors
• Assisted and applied my chemistry skills on microbiology and biochemistry lab
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, everyone is excited to teach you
Psychiatric Social Health Technician (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 6, 2013
Its a great hospital. Coney Island is a teaching hospital so your learn a lot there. Im sad that I had to leave

1 2 3