Find companies:
Conservation Services Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Conservation Services Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place, now BAD and getting worse
Middle Manager (slave) (Former Employee), WestFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: horrible management, terrible work/life balance, bad software products
This company is on a downhill slide and should be avoided. Management is chosen on the basis of who is liked and your efforts and talents will not be rewarded if you don't' fit into the clique. Constructive criticism is NOT allowed and will get you put in the "going nowhere" trough quickly.

Some great people work here and the "mission" is worthy, but – more... the company is in desperation mode, seeking only to make money and work employees until they drop. I was amazed at how unheathy everyone in mid-management looks when I went to a corporate event..unusual for a "green" company, but not when you realize that the emperor has no clothes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not like management
Energy Advisor (Current Employee), Lombard, ILJanuary 2, 2014
not very clear or concise directions or leadership. Performed residential energy audits and made suggestions on ways to become more energy efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fall River, MADecember 16, 2013
Pros: good pay, vacation time.
Cons: short breaks sometimes no breaks. managment not so good.
best part of the day was leaving. co workers are great. management is not so great. must have a thick skin to work for this company.
management is constantly pointing out the negative and NEVER recognizes the hard work people do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, forward thinking company
Contact Center Representative (Former Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 13, 2013
This job was demanding and I learned how to manage my time well in order to complete all of the tasks expected of me daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace enviorment
Residential Energy Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 21, 2013
My days consisted of being on the road conducting residential energy assessments. I learned a lot about how homes consume energy and where they could easily save. Each assessment would take around two hours and when completed i would sit with the homeowner and go over areas that need improvement in there energy consumption through retrofit upgrades – more... and tell them the incentives/tax credits that are available through there utility provider. Being a field worker there was not much face to face interaction with management most was done through email from my home office. The hardest part of my job was being out on the front lines generating production for the company but each appointment i went to i was going in blind so i had no idea what to expect. I learned to deal with a very diverse customer base. The most enjoyable part was to sell customers a great service for there home and in some cases save them some serious money for the lifetime of there home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance to a glass ceiling
Coordinator (Current Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: good co-workers, advancement to mid-level, great benefits, poor oversight
Cons: low direction, no training, schizophrenic management, low pay
CSG is a great place to start at the bottom and build your way to the middle. Many employees have started as temps and grown into mid-level employees which will forever change their business prospects. Co-workers are wonderful people who try very hard to be make the program successful despite the best efforts of management.

Oh the management! The majority – more... of our office's management were hired with no background in our field and possessed little interest in learning about what the company produces and how it runs. Management is universally accepted as reclusive, rarely responses to communication and needs to be cornered to receive information vital to fulfilling your job functions. Decisions are made from the top down with little consultation from the middle or concept of resource management. Rather than applying the resources to do a few things well, management would prefer to do many things poorly. Moral was crushingly low with employees openly looking for other work from their desks.

Salaries and willingness to promote have grown progressively worse. The only way to increase your salary is to be promoted. Salary increases used to be merit based but each year they have tightened into becoming cost of living and currently less than. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Promised Land: Beware of Landmines.
Title Withheld for Privacy of Both Parties (Former Employee), Location Withheld for Privacy of Both PartiesSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: socially responsible company, good work-life balance, good benefits
Cons: mediocre pay, tricky management
There are a lot of things to like about CSG:
-The work is all about helping homeowners (and renters) save big money and reducing the demand on resources without sacrificing comfort. It's hard not to feel good about that.
-It is a "9-to-5" type job and it is exceedingly rare to be called on to do overtime.
-The company makes an honest attempt at being – more... a friendly, collegiate environment.
-Great benefits such as low health insurance premiums with good coverage, a decent amount of paid time off and immediate partial vestment in 401k.

Unfortunately it comes with its share of unpleasant surprises:
-After being told the company is doing well financially, you may find yourself suddenly laid off on a Thursday afternoon.
-Critical data and undocumented processes are sometimes hidden in some very strange places. You will be accountable for gaps in your training. This applies to all job positions.
-Despite talk to the contrary, the organization is very siloed. Management may have the best intentions but they each have built and are defending their own fiefdom. It makes cross-team support difficult and job advancement unlikely.

This reviewer felt burned by certain individuals in management but feels the company is making an honest attempt at improving. and so would like to encourage applicants to interview with the following advice:

-Get everything in writing. If a hiring manager strongly implies an agreement with you, make sure you repeat what you thought you heard and get the answer to that explicitly documented. If the hiring manager refuses to clarify then they are almost certainly setting up a bait-and-switch in which they will claim you misunderstood.

-Ask your hiring manager about the level of feedback they wish to receive and how they have handled bad news in the past. Ask for specific examples. Press for other specific examples if they give you something you feel is a weak example.

-Ask about the process of requesting help from a colleague who reports to a different manager. Some colleague examples are : IT support (for desktop support and network issues), IS support (for software help/improvement requests), program coordinator support (they know the business of home modeling and funding), and support from a counterpart handing a different area of the country. Interaction examples: Can I just call them up, submit a ticket, or who would I need to talk to first? (Get that in writing too).

-Ask about interactions with the customers, your expected level of interaction with customers (for non-CSR positions), and some examples of interactions and feedback (both negative and positive).

-Think very carefully about your desired compensation and work environment; take nothing for granted. Again, press for specifics.

If you are satisfied with the interview and are hired, be sure to establish a good rapport with HR. Do not be afraid to ask what constitutes "other duties as assigned" versus out-of-title expectations; it is a known issue. Again, the company is earnestly seeking improvement and is worth your time.

This reviewer wishes you the best of luck and a positive experience at CSG. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Energy Advisor (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: working outside, fast paced
Cons: lots of driving
Great people to work with and as long as you manage your time well you will do well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing working atmosphere
Energy Advisor (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: vacation time and benefit package
Cons: lots of driving
Everybody has a job to do and minds their own business. As long as you are completing your work on time they pretty much leave you alone and do not micro-manage you. The hardest part of the job is managing your time and using it effectively. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexible schedules and meeting a lot of nice customers that are interested – more... in saving energy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Energy Specialist (Former Employee), Westborough, MAAugust 28, 2012
Pros: paid training, great compensation, wonderful staff
Cons: traveling
I appreciated my opportunities with CSG so much, but I quickly realized working on the road is not for me. From management, to office organization, CSG really has it together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for!
non-manager (Current Employee), Westborough, MAAugust 13, 2012
I've been at CSG since May 2011, and I've enjoyed every minute of it. For the first time in my career, I have truely enjoyed coming into work everyday. The employees are awesome and super friendly. Things are always buzzing and CSG and it's never boring! There are also great opportunities for improvement. I would recommend anyone to CSG!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serviced base
Energy Auditor (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAAugust 1, 2012
would carry a contract with southern California Edison to educate its customer on basic electricity and problems with their bills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Westborough, MAJuly 30, 2012
Pros: feels like family there
Cons: slow to move on new technology
Excellent management and development team staff. IT operates really well on limited funding, lots of creative people that are able to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Project Manager (Former Employee), Louisville,KY.July 19, 2012
Everyone is easy to get along with and all about helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, great culture, important work
Non-manager (Current Employee), Westborough, MAJuly 2, 2012
Pros: positive workplace, great mission, opportunities for training and advancement
Cons: since they work with energy utilities and government programs, some clients tend to prefer more traditional processes
CSG is a very positive workplace. My managers are great, they promote a great work/life balance, encourage open communication and internal training to improve the skills of employees. As a non-profit company who promotes energy efficiency, their mission is something you can feel proud of.

It was extremely refreshing to work at CSG, I've worked for – more... other companies whose sole purpose was to maximize profit at the expense of overworking mid and low level employees - and CSG is nothing like this. They're in a high-growth industry, there is tremendous potential for new employees to advance their careers, and they are willing to recognize and appreciate employees for hard work. Highly recommended. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work balance
Clerical/ Data Entry (Former Employee), Iselin, NJMay 30, 2012
I really enjoyed working with them because of the work loads. I learned a lot about how solar energy panels are being brought by contractors to save money. The co workers were all so helpful and friendly. Overall, the position was great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and friendly place to work
Field Manager/ Massachsetts RCS Program (Former Employee), Westborough, MAMarch 27, 2012
Pros: comfortable relaxed atmosphere
Cons: can be hectic and seem disorganized at times
I started from the bottom and worked my way to middle management.
There can be plenty of opportunities for advancement.
People/Coworkers are friendly and helpful
The most enjoyable part of the job was the diversity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overly image conscious
Technical Trainer (Former Employee), Westborough, MADecember 26, 2011
Pros: enthusiastic coworkers
Cons: duplicitous management
Mediocre management spends too much effort on their own job security creating an atmosphere of insecurity and tension. When bi-yearly contracts expire, large numbers of employees are terminated without warning. Company always attempts to deny unemployment insurance by using a variety of legal causes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great year end bonuses and mission focus
Program Design Information Specialist (Former Employee), Portland, ORMay 17, 2011
Pros: year end bonuses, company potlucks, mission focus
Cons: advancement, culture
Excellent non-profit company to work for. Great company for young professionals who have technical or non-profit backgrounds.