Find companies:
CONSOL ENERGY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

CONSOL ENERGY Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sweeper (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 19, 2015
Pros: people
Cons: none
a great place to earn a living great co-workers.some of the supervisors are great and will take your input as serious. the hardest part of this job is them wanting you to work fifteen hours in one day. best part is having a job at a great establishment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Underground Coal Miner (Former Employee), Mavisdale, VAMay 12, 2015
Hard work, didnt like using equipment for some jobs they would rather use manual labor. A clear seperation of boss and employee not allowing for a joint work force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction to a large industry
On-Site Drilling Engineer / Foreman- CNX Gas (Former Employee), Indiana PAMay 9, 2015
Lived on drilling location 26 weeks/year working 12 hr shifts.

Got exposure to most drilling procedures in northeast basin. Managed 10-15 contractors every day. Maintained safety and environmental compliance in all activites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old company turned new.
Downhole Drilling Engineer (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PAApril 27, 2015
consol has been very good to my family. i loved working for such a great company. just happen that the decline in natural gas prices, had eliminated my position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Electrician/Fireboss (Former Employee), Oakwood, VAApril 20, 2015
Pros: Great pay and benefits
Cons: Management favorites and lack of family time
Company morale could use improvement. Overall day not bad. Everyone works hard and seems to enjoy working there but management has there favorites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different challenge each day
Associate Production Coordinator (Former Employee), Jane Lew, WVApril 14, 2015
Manage daily operations consisting of organizing Well Tenders and Roustabouts each day.Hardest part of job was all the different things that came up each day.Enjoyed my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Water Plant Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Oakwood, VAApril 12, 2015
Good company is good to work for, the pay is great, benefits are good. management cares about the employees. unfortunately it is impacted by the market conditions, and is constantly evolving in order to improve itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and great pay.
Coal miner (Former Employee), Wind Ridge, PAApril 7, 2015
Pros: Good pay and paid lunches.
Cons: Having so many upper management. To many bosses telling you to do too many things at one time.
A typical day at work included all types of labor. I had my assistant mine foreman papers so I did a lot of fire bossing. I also did a lot of roof bolting and other labor jobs. I learned to work in a team environment and how to reach your goals and meet time sesitive jobs on time. Management was intelligent and also hard working. My co-workers were all hard workers and i got along with all of them. The hardest part of the job was working 7 days a week plus overtime. The most enjoyable part of the job was of course the good pay but also learning a great deal about hard work, team work, and what it is like working for a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
COAL MINER (Former Employee), waynesburg paMarch 16, 2015
really friendly people. good place to work. .................................
would work for them again if the work pick up.........
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Great Work Environment
Deckhand (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 5, 2015
Pros: healthcare, 401k, overtime
Cons: traveling consistently
A typical day out on the river as a deckhand was to be gone for two weeks at a time, with one week home. I absolutely enjoyed working for Consol Energy all four years and was challenged everyday. My management and co workers were great to be around and made it the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest job unfortunately was to be away for two weeks and one week home, especially when I started a family not long ago. Altogether, Consol Energy was an outstanding company to work for, however the traveling consistently was not working out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, wonderful people to work with.
SECRETARY (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PAMarch 2, 2015
Pros: great people to work with, many benefits
Cons: a good bit of pressure for some in management (not me)
CONSOL is a very good place to work, however, at times can be extremely stressful. At one time I had an extremely difficult boss, but that was the only negative.

The company is interested in helping the communities where it has offices and mines, also is interested in helping its employees in many ways. Wonderful benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Land analyst
Land Analyst (Former Employee), Bluefield, WVFebruary 1, 2015
Reviewed gas leases and input royalty amount into royalty accounting system.

Great place to work, great benefits, great pay rate!

Great job! Too bad job was outsourced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opertunties for advancement.
Experienced Underground Miner (Former Employee), Blacksville, WVJanuary 15, 2015
it was a nice place to work, good money, nice people, safe place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe and pleasant co. to work for
electrian (Former Employee), Mavisdale, VAJanuary 6, 2015
Pros: very good work enviroment good people very good equip.
Cons: work a lot of hrs.
was very satisfied with job . went to dominion coal more money and advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To work
Senior Administrator (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PASeptember 16, 2014
Repaired Coal mine networks and computers. I would handled Belt monitors and systems i also repaired the mine tracking systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field work job
Completions Engineer (Former Employee), Waynesburg, PAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management changes mind often and uses employees as scapegoats
- 12 hours on/12 hours off, 1 week on/1 week off, & they could call you in at anytime
- management is indecisive, uncommunicative, and lacks leadership
- benefits are the best part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with amazing benefits. Traveled many miles to various jobsites while juggling full-time schooling status
Industrial Engineer (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PaAugust 5, 2014
Time studied continuous miner, and long wall panels. I have assisted with various projects, life line, Federal MSHA Inspectors, DEP State Inspectors, mine tours, hazard training, don and transfer classes. I have also assisted with the mine engineer at Robinson Run to prepare the mine maps with ventilation updates and mine gas well permits for the yearly mine inspections. I have traveled to Bailey, Enlow Fork, Shoemaker, Blacksville, Robinson Run and Loveridge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Booming industry, great company benefits and compensation
Engineering Trainee (Former Employee), Waynesburg, PAJune 18, 2014
Booming industry, great company benefits and compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Management (Former Employee), Cameron, WVMay 22, 2014
Long hours worked
Learned management skills
people make the job enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Roofbolter (Former Employee), Bickmore, WVMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, incentives
Cons: laid off thanks to obama
Great People to work for. Great benefits Great Pay. Enjoyed working here

1 2 3

About CONSOL ENERGY

CONSOL Energy consoles its customers with coal. CONSOL is one of the US's largest coal mining companies, along with Peabody Energy – Read more

CONSOL ENERGY Salaries

Foreman
$95,000 per year
Supervisor
$98,000 per year
Underground Miners
$75,000 per year