Find companies:
CONSOL ENERGY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

CONSOL ENERGY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Great Work Environment
Deckhand (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 5, 2015
Pros: healthcare, 401k, overtime
Cons: traveling consistently
A typical day out on the river as a deckhand was to be gone for two weeks at a time, with one week home. I absolutely enjoyed working for Consol Energy all four years and was challenged everyday. My management and co workers were great to be around and made it the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest job unfortunately was to be away for two weeks and one week home, especially when I started a family not long ago. Altogether, Consol Energy was an outstanding company to work for, however the traveling consistently was not working out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, wonderful people to work with.
SECRETARY (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PAMarch 2, 2015
Pros: great people to work with, many benefits
Cons: a good bit of pressure for some in management (not me)
CONSOL is a very good place to work, however, at times can be extremely stressful. At one time I had an extremely difficult boss, but that was the only negative.

The company is interested in helping the communities where it has offices and mines, also is interested in helping its employees in many ways. Wonderful benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Land analyst
Land Analyst (Former Employee), Bluefield, WVFebruary 1, 2015
Reviewed gas leases and input royalty amount into royalty accounting system.

Great place to work, great benefits, great pay rate!

Great job! Too bad job was outsourced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opertunties for advancement.
Experienced Underground Miner (Former Employee), Blacksville, WVJanuary 15, 2015
it was a nice place to work, good money, nice people, safe place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe and pleasant co. to work for
electrian (Former Employee), Mavisdale, VAJanuary 6, 2015
Pros: very good work enviroment good people very good equip.
Cons: work a lot of hrs.
was very satisfied with job . went to dominion coal more money and advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place To work
Senior Administrator (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PASeptember 16, 2014
Repaired Coal mine networks and computers. I would handled Belt monitors and systems i also repaired the mine tracking systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field work job
Completions Engineer (Former Employee), Waynesburg, PAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management changes mind often and uses employees as scapegoats
- 12 hours on/12 hours off, 1 week on/1 week off, & they could call you in at anytime
- management is indecisive, uncommunicative, and lacks leadership
- benefits are the best part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with amazing benefits. Traveled many miles to various jobsites while juggling full-time schooling status
Industrial Engineer (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PaAugust 5, 2014
Time studied continuous miner, and long wall panels. I have assisted with various projects, life line, Federal MSHA Inspectors, DEP State Inspectors, mine tours, hazard training, don and transfer classes. I have also assisted with the mine engineer at Robinson Run to prepare the mine maps with ventilation updates and mine gas well permits for the yearly mine inspections. I have traveled to Bailey, Enlow Fork, Shoemaker, Blacksville, Robinson Run and Loveridge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Booming industry, great company benefits and compensation
Engineering Trainee (Former Employee), Waynesburg, PAJune 18, 2014
Booming industry, great company benefits and compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Management (Former Employee), Cameron, WVMay 22, 2014
Long hours worked
Learned management skills
people make the job enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Roofbolter (Former Employee), Bickmore, WVMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, incentives
Cons: laid off thanks to obama
Great People to work for. Great benefits Great Pay. Enjoyed working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Miner (Former Employee), Fairmont, WVFebruary 23, 2014
Great people in a challenging environment. Fast paced job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work meeting many different types of personalities
Shift foreman (Former Employee), PAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: production bonus, great pay, safety incentives
Cons: long hours, dangerous job
Great company to work for, many different incentives to make more money>
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated, goal oriented, ability to adapt
Continuous Miner Coordinator (Current Employee), Dallas, WVFebruary 4, 2014
Able to identify obstacles and eliminate or work around to achieve common goals.
Team first attitude with the ability to motivate multiple personality types.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Educational, Fair
P.M. Truck Operator (Former Employee), Williamson, WVJanuary 16, 2014
Great working environment couldn't imagine better, company works with your needs and doesn't discriminate in any form or fashion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
IT Project Management/Emerging (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: strong leader in the industry
Cons: weak management pieces within certain departments
A typical work day would consist of reviewing projects currently in progress and decipher the project plan that would need attention for that day while handling any other requests and/or issues that may have been present.

In this position, I was able to build a large network within the 12,000+ employees that I would eventually work with in some fashion. This let me understand the business processes needed through the company and industry.

I was able to obtain and fine tune of expertise under the aggressive deadlines and large bracket projects I would manage. I was solely responsible for all of the IT projects (Building a budget, assembling a team, creating a project plan, vendor evaluation, etc..)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminal on the Patapsco
Control Room Operator (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, excellent scenery
Cons: constantly shifting schedule, mandatory overtime
Typical day is loading Vessel and unloading coal trains to the yard or to those vessels. lots of moving parts and large machinery. Very strict safety standards. hard part of job going back and forth between day and night shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Central Control Clerk (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PADecember 13, 2013
Pros: health & safety #1 always
Cons: i was laid off with the reduction-of-force
Consol Energy was my dream job. I appreciated the aspects of what I was taught, my learning experiences gained, education on being safe & At Zero policies and procedures. I appreciated every day that I was at the company & it will be a part of my heart and soul for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Staff Auditor (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PADecember 9, 2013
ok place to work if all you like to do is work. don't know what else to say and this won't let me continue until i say more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid energy company who puts safety as their number one priority
SHIFT FOREMAN (Current Employee), West VirginiaDecember 5, 2013
Consol Energy puts safety and compliance at the top of their core values. There are opportunities to learn and grow throughout the company.

About CONSOL ENERGY

CONSOL Energy consoles its customers with coal. CONSOL is one of the US's largest coal mining companies, along with Peabody Energy – Read more

CONSOL ENERGY Salaries

Foreman
$90,000 per year