Find companies:
Consumer Cellular
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Consumer Cellular Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cellular Company Aimed to AARP Members
Lead Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 4, 2014
A very mom and pop cellular company growing and likes to retain employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment to work in
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Portland, ORJuly 28, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation lunches, kudoughs, net profit share, 401k % matching
I've worked with Consumer Cellular for almost 2 years now. The atmosphere in which we all work in is relaxed and laid back. Most of my co-workers help set that atmosphere and it makes me look forward to getting to work for the day.
I've learned a lot while working here, more than I would at most other jobs. The environment is always improving, even – more... if there is a slight bump in the road every now and then.
The hardest part of the job is keeping up with everything that is going on. Luckily Management is quite attuned to our issues and is hiring quite a few people to help out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
calls per hour not fitting for our senior citizens
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 19, 2014
Pros: was good place to work, medical was free, cellphones were discounted for employees
Cons: how they treated their customers, not having sufficient educational materials for clientele
I worked for Consumer Cell for about 6 months, with the 1st three months learning the ways of this company and the stats weren't held against you. After that for the next 3 months you had to meet all the metrics/stats that come with a call center, adherence, customer satisfaction, attendance and calls per hour(this company's version of ACHT/talk time). – more... Well as the 3 months went by i tried to bring my cph down to their standard which was around 5 to 6 cph......which was actually higher than 6 cph, all my ather stats were met. There were a few other coworkers that had the same issue as I did, so management scheduled a training class for us on how to get our cph lower is to get these customers on and off the phone as quick as possible. Well there was one big problem....these customers were senior citizens and the cell phones they ordered only came with a quick starter guide, how to videos were accessable on-line. And some of these elderly didnt have a computer. Yet this company caters to the AARP people. And as we all do know these smartphones do require some educating to use them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful customer base! Poor stability for those who have sick children and no family or reliable back up childcare.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Redmond, ORJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits/customers
Cons: certain policies/high turnover
I LOVED my customers. i was told often to not be SO nice. I was working on it. :-) The benefits and people there were wonderful. Truly amazing! Although, when it came to needing to miss work, you need to make sure you have a lot of back up care available for WHATEVER could happen to your children. I worked overtime whenever I was called upon and did – more... well as a CCI rep. Unfortunately, when my infant or other children were sick, I had no family to take them to and daycare providers do not take sick children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Recent Reviews Most Likely FALSE
CSR I (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: poor training, feel like a number, inflexible scheduling
I only worked for Consumer Cellular for about a month, and a month was too long. Let me start off by saying that a call center job takes a certain kind of person, that person is not me. I will say that Consumer Cellular does offer some good benefits, which they will definitely sell you on when you interview. Company paid health insurance is a nice perk, – more... it is the main thing that made me want to work here. They do also offer a wide variety of schedules but you have absolutely no choice as to what those schedules will be. You have to agree when you interview to working anywhere from 4:30am to 11pm with open availability at any and all of those times. Once three week training is completed (depending on how you rank in sales) will determine what schedule you get.

For me training was an absolute joke. This was the first call center job that I have ever had, I had come from an extensive retail management background. I really did need in depth training on certain aspects of this job which based on the interview, I thought I would get. Our starting training class was 12, we ended with 8 if that tells you something. The first couple of days our "trainer" seemed okay. She was nice enough but I could see right through her and she just seemed irritated to be there the entire time. We trained for 4 days a week, 10 hour shifts for three weeks. By the end of the first week we seemed like we were more of an irritation to our trainer than a class. She was young, inexperienced and yet again I do not understand how she is in a position of upper management. When certain people in our class would ask questions, she would answer them condescendingly or not answer them at all, with the response,"I already answered that". From day one we were set up to fail. We were expected to be trained on sales, customer service and technical support and provide all three to elderly cellular customers. HA, it's a joke! With that kind of training, good luck to anyone.

I did finish top of my class. I was one of the lucky ones who was pulled aside to "pick" one of three schedules I liked. The way that a few of us were chosen out of the class to pick our schedules was done in a way that it looked like we were the class favorites and caused big time resentment with the rest of the class. Once again a fail on our trainer's part. Once I finally got on to the call center floor I was so burned out by the training experience and sickened that they let someone so incompetent be a trainer that I was already burned out on the company. The 86 call per day requirement was ridiculous especially given the fact that you have to handle, customer service, technical support (with the elderly), and sales (less than 10% of calls). I knew after a week on the floor it wasn't the company for me.

So if you enjoy poor training, being talked down to and feeling like you are just a number, Consumer Cellular is the company for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Awesome place to work
Full Time Employment (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 28, 2014
Pros: bonuses and good pay
Cons: not very much leniency in schedule
The 1st 3 weeks of training may be a little rough but this company certainly takes care of their own and provides extensive training classes. The company ONLY hires full time employees and requires a pretty open schedule of the people they hire due to company need coworkers are awesome, everyone is there to help make you and awesome representative with – more... bonuses – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work and grow as a Professional
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 20, 2014
Consumer Cellular prides itself on the quality consumer service we provide and the consumers are very grateful for that. I was glad to be able to experience the working environment of Consumer Cellular and I can say that I definitely stepped up my Customer Service skills to excellent working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, payments and technical support for cellular phone users.
Sales / Customer Service Representative III (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 16, 2014
Pros: stable job, benefits paid in full for employee
Cons: no flexibility, turnover rate is high
Im a former employee of Consumer Cellular, My direct supervisor is is a great leader and manager, Co-working were great. A typical day would be assistant prospective customer with signing up for service or answer questions, up-selling, assist with answering billing question, solve technical problems, ect. as an more experienced agent.

I definitely – more... consider Consumer Cellular employees Family and the only reason why i left consumer cellular was because i relocated out of state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your reach may exceed your grasp today -- but there's not much you can do about either!
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Portland, ORMay 12, 2014
Your reach may exceed your grasp today -- but there's not much you can do about either! If someone accuses you of greed, just shrug and admit that you've got desires just like everyone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very close quarters with each worker. No separation.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Tygard, OregonMay 8, 2014
Pros: i got to see how my selling skills were
Cons: call center work
I took this job because it was all that was available at that time after the 2008 financial crash. I had never worked in that capacity before. (call center)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Portland Or.May 7, 2014
Really nice company to work for. The only reason I am leaving consumer is because I am relocating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ring Ring.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 12, 2014
To do customer service it takes a careing person whos, cares to here what you have to say when you are on the other end of the phone. And I would say I enjoy customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day
Customer Service (Current Employee), Tigard,orFebruary 11, 2014
Taking calls from Customer Service
Enjoy helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, payments and technical support for cellular phone users.
Sales & Service Representative Tier 2 (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: stable job, benefits paid in full for employee
Cons: na
• Sales of cellular products
• Answer a high volume of inbound calls
• Cell phone troubleshooting and technical support
• Assist customers with billing and account setup
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place to Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 26, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: poor management
The management there do not care about their employees . When employees are asking for help and they ignore to help them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Redmond, ORNovember 23, 2013
Overall great company with strong values. A place to grow and fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Contact Call Center Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix AzOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great benefits, culture, and people
Cons: i'm not there
Addressing the Supervisor and CSR's. Asking how to make it better. What's stopping them from developing the culture to meet the needs of the customers.
Working with other management to help stay ahead of the curve in cell phones applications. Building plans to over come obstacles that slow development of
CSR's from creating the best customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never thought I would give a review like this
Supervisor II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 28, 2013
Cons: terrible managers, micromanagement, no respect, harsh attendance policy, no flexibility, turnover rate is high, poor communication
I started with Consumer Cellular and was so incredibly excited about it! I loved my job, I loved the people I worked with, and I loved my manager. He was absolutely amazing! Almost all of my peers would make fun of how dedicated I was to my job and the integrity I held (in other words, a brown nose!) About a year after my employment, I changed my schedule – more... and with that, had to change managers. As one of the top employees there, I didn't see a problem with this. No more than 3 months after starting with my new boss did I start to question their methods. I will sound crazy as I never believed in this, but I was a victim of a bullying boss. I felt sick every day that I came in. I questioned myself, how could someone who just had a flawless annual review with a raise be told that she is a terrible example for her peers and employees? I tried so hard to build a relationship with this person...but failed. Towards the end, I watched as this company attacked and fired one of my employees for no apparent reason other than disliking her. Unfortunately for me, I defended her and her actions. In doing that, I came in randomly one morning and was asked to be demoted. During that week, I was supporting my husband in the loss of his mother. The manager told me that I had lied about the death, that I was doing nothing but making mistakes, and totally ripped me apart in front of our HR rep and the owner. I was mortified and decided that anyone, who considers themselves as a leader, who could rip someone apart so tastelessly, is someone not worthy of my time. I will say that the owners of the company are some of the most passionate people you will ever meet. But in saying that, do not work in the Phoenix office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 16, 2013
Pros: didn't have to pay for my medical insurance the company paid it for me.
Cons: strict attendance policy
Well i worked amazing people so with great personality so even if a call got stressful they where there to lighten the mood. I had a hard working manager which didn't let you learn off what he knew but show you how to discover them for yourself. The calls could be overwhelming sometimes but it made the day go faster. From taking payments, which was – more... the easiest task, to technical support calls, which are the longest and most difficult since most of the people calling in where senior citizens whom had never owned a cell phone or just purchased there first smart phone.Yet it was rewarding helping people. Now we did have sales call as well. I learned that everyone learns differently but we can all work together with the proper communication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be a robot or hate your life
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tigard, ORSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: fully paid medical, dental, vision, 401k, overtime opportunities, growing business
Cons: scripting, maximum of 6 minute handle times, 10 hour days with half hour lunches, metrics mean everything.
Scripting, maximum of 6 minute handle times, 10 hour days with half hour lunches, metrics mean everything.

About Consumer Cellular

Consumer Cellular is the exclusive wireless provider for AARP members and a top-rated carrier that provides no-contract cellphones – Read more