Consumer Directed Choices Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 16, 2017
I worked for them for 2 years helping a wheelchair bound woman, They did offer health benefits for part time or full time workers. I would recommend this business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in the home of consumer
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 12, 2017
management was lineant towards certain employees, hardest job was going to work with bronchitis and not being able to have coverage to cover my shifts, most enjoyable part was the christmas bonuses
Pros
heathcare, bonuses
Cons
no lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 28, 2016
Thought it was a gteat opportunity to progress inwork.and also have a steady work place but instead by dishonest people i lost wages and the lack of communication. And blaming that went on disgusted me which allowed ne to make the choice to quit due to these circumstances after going thru correct procedure with there compliance officer.
Pros
Great location
Cons
Lost wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great as a secondary job.
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYSeptember 11, 2016
I love working for this company. It has such a great concept letting the patients (the consumers) themselves decide who they want helping them with their care. Unfortunately the compensation does not solely pay the bills but great for someone just looking for extra work.
Pros
Flexible Hours, Alot of fun working with the Consumers
Cons
low pay, very hard to obtain fulltime work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice,easy
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 29, 2016
took care of the elderly in their home worked for only one client for many years not 20 a day
i have learned to cook italian
The clients family hires you or fires you not consumer
their is no hard part of consumers
I enjoyed helping my client was great and she was a blessing in my life
Pros
enjoying time with others and their family
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like being family
Personal Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 8, 2016
This company was just where you gave them your info and the consumers or their family hired you. The family I worked for was like family. We went where families could go. This is what I loved about this client and his family.
Pros
He went to church with me.
Cons
Had to make sure that he was not agitated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day can varrie
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 7, 2015
Often people work just 20 hrs.
Hard to get more hrs.
Co-Workers can vary.
Pay rate is based mostly on medicaid budget of consumer
You do meet a lot of different people
Pros
Overall a good company to work for
Cons
Health Insurance is unavailable unless you are 30hrs or more ( hard to get at times)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great work place
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYApril 1, 2014
A typical work day would be helping the client with daily tasks such as eating, bathing, toileting, and house cleaning.

I don't have co-workers or deal with management I work in the client's home.

I enjoy my job because I enjoy helping people.

Not really a hard part to my job to be honest.
Pros
Client is easy to get a long with
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most rewarding Job I've had so far
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 5, 2014
I have the opportunity to work with children who have multiple disabilities through this agency. I work directly with the child in their own home. I have learned how to provide proper medications, what to do in situations of emergency (allergic reactions, injury), toileting, and patience. I do not work with coworkers, although the parents are typically home. They are considered my supervisors, however. I have worked with only one child through this agency and it has been nothing but great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 13, 2013
I have worked there over the past couple of years and enjoy working with the consumers.
Pros
No job security
Cons
excellent pay to start and benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok to work here.
Personal Care Asst (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYOctober 16, 2012
not much management or job security. u either hit it off with the client or not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 29, 2012
I was always busy. A typical day would be preparing meals for patient. Taking him to all appointments. Dealing with his insurance company and doctors and also completing his daily Physical and Occupational Therapy
Pros
worked from home
Cons
can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to be micro managed and belittled, you will want to work here
Staff member (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 18, 2012
Great program, wonderful staff. They could not pay me enough money to go back and work for the company as long as the CEO is there.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
paranoid pessimistic ceo
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Consumer Directed Choices. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Consumer Directed Choices Reviews by Location