Find companies:
CONSUMER SERVICES INC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

CONSUMER SERVICES INC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a non-profit company with family atmosphere for its' employees
Billing Coordinator (Current Employee), Mason, MiAugust 6, 2014
Pros: decent base pay
Cons: no raises and no room for advancement.
The most enjoyable part of my job was investigating delinquent claims and finding out why claims were not paid.

the hardest part of the job was the work environment.

I learned about insurance verification, rules and timelines. I learned how to electronically upload and process claims. I also learned how to effectively manage employees to continue – more... their work with payees and third party payers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible agency management wise
Case Manager (Former Employee), FlintJuly 31, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: everything!
Although the agency does help mentally ill population, the agency is ran horribly! Unless your a family member your voice will not be heard. Nepotism is wide spread. So if your a kiss butt person which still doesn't get you anywhere then this jobs for you. The CEO is rude and treats workers like they are beneath her, so sad for a social worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Direct care worker (Former Employee), Mason, MIMarch 24, 2014
I was responsible for the clients getting to and from appointments and passing out the medication and helping them reach their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealist Demands
Case Manager (Former Employee), MICHIGANMarch 4, 2014
Cons: no mileage reimbursement, lack of supervision, lack of acknowledgement, poor pay, unrealistic expectations.
If you enjoy kissing butt and doing extra work for free, then this is the job for you!

Advancement is low and few move up into management, unless someone leaves because of the high turnover rate and low pay.

Management seemed to always be in a hectic panic-seeming as if they may need mental health services also. Which was always fun to laugh at.

Lacks – more... Master Degree workers who have been in the field or completed the job accurately. Organization procedures are terrible. Management is often related to family so there is no negotiation.

I did learn to stand up for myself in this position, separate myself from interoffice relationships and identify that advancement is available in different agencies and careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good thus far
Therapist (Current Employee), Hillsdale, MIFebruary 11, 2014
I have only been employed a short time with this company. So far, I have had a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover.
Case manager (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MINovember 5, 2013
Pros: the reward is helping the severely mentally ill improve their lives.
Cons: ineffective leadership, management focus is not on quality patient care.
As a contract worker you will be expected to: buy your own laptop, cell phone, business cards, attend hours of meetings per month for which you will not be reimbursed, have no benefits, have on call requirements, demanding mounds of paperwork for which you are not reimbursed, you will continually have to redo much of it to meet a standard that is a – more... moving target set by various evaluators. You will be expected to be out in the community at least 50% of the time and you are not reimbursed for travel time nor mileage.

Although you are contracted you will be treated as if you are an employee without the normal freedoms a contractor would expect. Management style is from the top down, punitive, unsupportive and not encouraging. Income can be randomly withheld with no notice. Training is minimum as you are expected to pull caseloads that were left by previous case managers in addition to picking up new clients.

CSI misses out on a lot of positive changes by being closed to ideas by staff. There is a constant feeling of living on the edge of being written up over trivial things and false accusations that are commonplace. Favoritism and nepotism are rampant from the corporate office in Mason to the GR site. Accountability in management from the corporate office down to the satellite locations is rare. Corporate mentality is one of reluctance in accepting wrongdoing and constructive criticism.

You will start in the position feeling competent in your skills and in a short time you will be questioning your abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing Behavioral Health Services in a skill-weakening, condemning environment fraught with nepotism and questionable ethical practices.
Support Staff (Former Employee), Grand RapidsNovember 5, 2013
Pros: caring and hard working therapists, doctor, and case managers. friendly office staff
Cons: poor management, low pay, no recognition, no authentic advancement opportunities, inexperienced leaders.
This company serves clients with behavioral health disorders. Services provided include Case Management, Psychiatry, Medication Management and Therapy,
Servicing persons with mental illnesses can be extremely stressful. However, at this company, challenges presented by clients often pale in comparison to those encountered as a result of inexperienced – more... and ineffective management.
Workers at every level are given little to no direction or idea of individual responsibilities. There is practically no training, and people work here for months without being informed of critical aspects of their jobs. The culture is a punitive one, rewarding nepotism and favoritism while discouraging or ignoring ingenuity, creativity, and initiative.
Sadly, this company does not focus on improving the quality of services for the very needy population it serves. Instead, the focus is on serving the whims of current leadership, pleasing funding sources, maintaining unethical relationships with drug vendors, and advancing unqualified family and friends into higher paying positions.
Ultimately, client care suffers as evidenced by rapid turnover of case managers, 2 and 3 hour wait times for the doctor, lack of employment and housing resources for clients, and extensive billing errors that often affect contractor and therapist reimbursement.
The hardest part of this job was seeing and hearing clients being disrespected and criminalized by certain staff. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning about, working with, and providing comfort to individuals as they tried to cope with their afflictions (the clients). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive company that always offered room for advancement.
Program Supervisor (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 25, 2013
Pros: lots' of freedom
Cons: not enough vacation time
There was always enough work to keep each staff busy so, you learned to work alone.
Management was good and because I ran the program so well and staff were all supportive of one another, we were looked upon as "Self Sufficient" with minmal request/suggestions.
The hardest part about being the program supervisor for this paricular company was not having – more... enough vacation time. The most enjoyable part was having clients that completed the program successfully while working as a team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant/Support Staff duties
Administrative Assistant/Support Staff (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 26, 2013
Working under the director of the company, preparing agenda's for board meetings, sometimes conducting board meetings. Handling Case Managers problems and billing issues. Making sure the Case Managers that I was assigned to that their clients insurances were active, the charts were in order and any documentations that were missing to contact the Case – more... Manager and let them know that they needed to get them turned in. I learned that every Case Manager is not the same and how to approach them when needed. My co-workers were a delightful to work with. They were always nice and respectful to me when i talked to them and when I needed something from them. When Audits came up because everyone would freak out and I knew that we had our Audits under control due to me auditing charts all the time to make sure that all charts were ready for any Audit that may come up. I enjoyed working the crew that I had. We always had funny things to say to each other, and when one of them was dealing with any kind of crisis we were always there for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment, working with severely mentally ill.
Case Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMay 16, 2013
Pros: contractual
Cons: no medical benefits
Contacting clients to link them to community services. If client is in crisis assess to see if additional hospitalization is needed. Supervise staff and communicate with hospitals and doctors to ensure stability. Reports and paperwork must be completed in a timely manner. Field visits in the hospital or homeless shelters. The hardest part of the job – more... is losing a client to suicide. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing a client stabilize on medication and receive permanent housing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community mental health agency
ICI, Crisis Home Clinical Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMarch 4, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: upper management
Responding to crisis clients on a daily basis. Managing staff of paraprofessionals, home managers, and nurses. Gained management skills, and honed diagnostic and counseling skills. Co-workers were supportive of one another but struggled with support from upper management. Hardest part of the job was dealing with upper management. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was working with staff to create a healing and supportive environment for clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced office environment
Assistant Director (Current Employee), Flint, MIJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: great health insurance plan
Cons: no 401k offered, no retirement packages
Consumer Services Inc (CSI) is a great place to work. The environment is friendly and warm. A typical day at work includes monitoring caseload productivity of each independently contracted Social Worker, coordinating with subordinates (supervisors) regarding their observation of each social worker that they managed on their team, monitoring quality – more... of care of consumers assigned to the program to include reviewing progress notes, quarterly reviews and discharge plans. Additionall duties includes working directly under the direction of the Program Director and CEO to ensure stragetic plan goals are being met as well as operating in alignment with the agency's mission statement to include "quality of care" of each consumer serviced, managing company budgets, participating in audits, training on Medicaid indicators as it relates to funding and compliance, facilitating trainings on Medicaid standards, managing Peer Support department and marketing.

While being employed with CSI I have learned how to manage people, work within a diverse group of coworkers and consumers, assess client needs, measure client strengths, weakness and abilities and use these indicators to assist consumers in developing attainable goals. I also learned how to complete a Psychosocial Assessment, use the information to develop a treatment plan as well as a discharge plan to ensure After Care alternatives were available to all consumers. I also learned how to work with duall diagnosed consumers. During my time with CSI, I have become a Certified Dialectical Behavioral Therapist (DBT).

The hardest part of the job was being promoted to Assisant DIrector because I really missed working with the clients. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with a great team of Social Workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a care giver
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 5, 2012
I enjoyed working with people with mental disabilities, the people that I had a chance to help were wonderful. I was also able to work along side with lifeways
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee), MichiganSeptember 27, 2012
I have worked for Consumer Services Inc. for several years and it has been a rewarding experience as I really feel like I am making a difference in the lives of others. The leadership team goes out of their way to thank there staff for a putting forth hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Training Specialist (Former Employee), Mason, MIAugust 22, 2012
If not for having moved to South Carolina, I would still be working for this wonderful organization.

September 29, 2012

I worked for this company in the capacity of Child Case Manager for over 2 1/2 years. This companies job culture is toxic and they continue to use and take advantage of the independent contractor in more ways than I can list on this post. Don't work for this company!

June 21, 2013

The work atmospher is horrible. I worked for this company and felt like I was a third wheel around coworkers by the manager unless unwanted work and all late shift was shoved on to me. There is no pay increases and little chance of getting 40 hrs let alone doing any overtime.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring place to work long hrs
Support Staff (Current Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 31, 2012
Cons: no breaks long hrs boring little pay no raises
I learned to communicate better learn to work as a team
A day at work begins by taking care of older ppl with mental disorders cooking cleaning and passing meds

About CONSUMER SERVICES INC

Mission As a cutting-edge, not-for-profit organization, our mission is to provide excellent, coordinated behavioral healthcare – Read more