Find companies:
Consumers Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

Consumers Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for employment
stock keeper (Former Employee), Bay City, MINovember 6, 2014
Pros: good hours, great pay, great co workers, great training for emergencies in any situation
Cons: non even being on call 24/7 was compensated
Worked with public in this job. I retired from this job to care for my Husband who had terminal health.
Would have chosen to continued to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid, personable Utility company
Talent Acquisition Intern (Current Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: in office fitness center, cafeteria, coffee bar, solid employee culture, good relationship with unions
Cons: needs a stronger intern program to compete in the upper echelon of business
I worked supporting Meter Reader hiring and testing mostly, but picked up side projects like compensation benchmarking, transaction error analysis, and criteria development for employee ownership within the company. The management was very knowledge and worked well in teams. They even were willing to trust me with bigger projects that impact the business. – more... All of this taught me more about addressing some of the grey areas of HR while applying my classroom lessons in the field. My coworkers were very collaborative and supportive of each other. This company is known for having "lifers" and it shows with their devotion to the company. The hardest part of my job is getting through some of the transactional work to establish myself as a viable candidate for and make time for more strategic work. The most enjoyable part for me is being able to present my work to HR Directors and managers and including feedback to create a high quality deliverable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the most part I enjoyed my work at Consumers Energy
Gas Damage Claims Administrator/Risk Management (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIOctober 7, 2014
Pros: exciting but demanding job
Cons: straight 40 hour day job, great benefits
This position was filled with a lot of customer contact, It was my job to try to collect money from people or companies who damaged customer gas lines & determine & if necessary pay for damages Consumers did to a customers property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end job
Corrosion Technician (Current Employee), Bay City, MIOctober 2, 2014
Pros: queit place to sleep
Cons: everything else
Boring, mundane, repetitive. I spend my days transferring useless info from one computer system to another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Program Manager (Former Employee), Royal OakAugust 29, 2014
Typical call center experience, stressful but manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drafting and up dating Maps
Techical Specialist II (Former Employee), Jackson, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: staff support and very informitive.
I would post as builts to the maps. I would also insure that the electrial overhead equipment was correct. Worked closely with the engineers. Co Workers were Wonderful and supportive. Management was very supportive. I cannot say any thing negitive it was a wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Snacks
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MIAugust 9, 2014
Pros: possible free lunch
Cons: does not pay enough
You receive snacks anytime you meet your stats or make a ASP sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no work/life balance
Customer Representative (Former Employee), LansingAugust 3, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits.
Cons: everything else.
None of the Call Centers managers should be in management. They micromanage even the best employees (200% of goal consistently) to the point where people have to make repeated union complaints. you can look forward to 80 hour work weeks plus a pager. There is no personal life with Consumers Energy. You are constantly force to work Over Time due to poor – more... planning and poor management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice company to work for
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 30, 2014
Pros: very understanding
I liked my job at Consumers. Everyone was very helpful. They let you own your job with confidence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center business working enviroment
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: healthcare, great commission
Cons: too many hours
Typically on a daily basis I would handle incoming calls from customers regarding their utility bills. The issues ranged from payment arrangements, billing concerns, moving in or out of a new home. We also received calls regard appliance repairs, as we sold customers an appliance repair service. I would handle roughly 50-60 calls in a day and also for – more... about a quarter of the day I would be doing administrative tasks i.e. data input. I would also be asked to fill in as a temporary manager when our management would have meetings. I learned quite a few things working there and I now pride myself on having a good work ethic and strong communication skills. I learned how to follow and also lead. The management at Consumers Energy was above average we had great team leaders, but we also had some that truly weren't qualified to do their job on a daily basis. The people that I worked with were all very nice and we were always professional in the workplace. The hardest part of the job was really the hours we were at a mandatory 60 hour work week with forced overtime based on seniority. I think the best part of the job was just the benefits that they provided, we would sell the appliance repair program and receive quite a bit of commission. The salaries that they paid were on par with that type of work and we received great healthcare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Technical Writing Intern (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 13, 2014
I gained knowledge and experience in creating and implementing corporate security procedures and process maps. The internship provided me with several opportunities to do some field investigations as a job shadow and I learned what my writing skills were bringing to the company through action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
gasv utility worker (Current Employee), MIJuly 11, 2014
Pros: breaks and lunches are included in a 8 hour period
the job is extremely great ,very interactive with supervision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporation with competitive salary and benefits
Administrative IT Analyst (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJune 17, 2014
22 years at Consumers Energy starting out at entry level and given many opportunities for advancement. That was the old-school way to advance from within. Now the new school rules and a degree in a STEM field is absolutely required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Technical Analyst Lead I (Former Employee), Jackson, MIApril 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long days
A very good place to grow and increase your IT experience. Ability to do community service in various counties with in the state of Michigan. Very communicative staff, and good collaboration on teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Great incentives, management was involved and helpful about employee needs and concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Supervisor, Call Center Advisor (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: work life balance
The company itself is slow to change. However, when working in conditions such as storms or major outages the company has a unique culture that pulls together in one triumphant sync.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly but above average pay
Meter Reader (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: good pay great benefits
Cons: no breaks, vacation but your never able to take it. no tolerance for any illness, no tolerance of family events, issues, or illness
Walking 6 miles a day on average, dealing with difficult customers. Most of my coworkers are friendly, management is unfriendly and very disorganized. Luckily for the most part I work alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1979-2002-Great Company to work for:2003-present:Not so great.
generating plant electrician (Current Employee), MICHIGANFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: hourly wage almost makes up for all the daily chaos.
Cons: having to work for managers without experience managing, but are good at mis-managing.
A typical day at the plant is infused with chaos, since the majority of the management staff have minimal experience working at power plants. Many have come from a closed down pharmaceutical company. Most of the trades people from the same company are very good to work with, though. From my perspective, with almost 35 years working in power plants, – more... this company doesn't seem to value experience, so they end up doing things without seeking information first, and end up being the root cause of major blunders. They aren't very receptive to helpful information from subordinates, because the prevalent attitude, at least in my department, is "I'm the boss". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for to enhance skills
Certified Auxiliary Operator (Current Employee), Erie, MIFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits for family
Cons: not at home durning the night with family
Nothing but good things to say about this company and my job, the olny thigs is that the company has to meet EPA regulations by 2015 and have decided to close plant and invest into a newer generating site
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Commmercial Industrial Gas Service (Former Employee), KalamazooJanuary 19, 2014
Individuals can learn tremendously while employed here!
Most of my work was individual, on the road-in the field.
Learned a great deal in many areas of the utility field.

1 2 3

About Consumers Energy

Consumers Energy Company makes sure that the energy consumers in Michigan have the power to crank up their heaters and the gas – Read more

Consumers Energy Photos