Find companies:
Consumers Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Consumers Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no work/life balance
Customer Representative (Former Employee), LansingAugust 3, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits.
Cons: everything else.
None of the Call Centers managers should be in management. They micromanage even the best employees (200% of goal consistently) to the point where people have to make repeated union complaints. you can look forward to 80 hour work weeks plus a pager. There is no personal life with Consumers Energy. You are constantly force to work Over Time due to poor – more... planning and poor management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice company to work for
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 30, 2014
Pros: very understanding
I liked my job at Consumers. Everyone was very helpful. They let you own your job with confidence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center business working enviroment
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: healthcare, great commission
Cons: too many hours
Typically on a daily basis I would handle incoming calls from customers regarding their utility bills. The issues ranged from payment arrangements, billing concerns, moving in or out of a new home. We also received calls regard appliance repairs, as we sold customers an appliance repair service. I would handle roughly 50-60 calls in a day and also for – more... about a quarter of the day I would be doing administrative tasks i.e. data input. I would also be asked to fill in as a temporary manager when our management would have meetings. I learned quite a few things working there and I now pride myself on having a good work ethic and strong communication skills. I learned how to follow and also lead. The management at Consumers Energy was above average we had great team leaders, but we also had some that truly weren't qualified to do their job on a daily basis. The people that I worked with were all very nice and we were always professional in the workplace. The hardest part of the job was really the hours we were at a mandatory 60 hour work week with forced overtime based on seniority. I think the best part of the job was just the benefits that they provided, we would sell the appliance repair program and receive quite a bit of commission. The salaries that they paid were on par with that type of work and we received great healthcare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Technical Writing Intern (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 13, 2014
I gained knowledge and experience in creating and implementing corporate security procedures and process maps. The internship provided me with several opportunities to do some field investigations as a job shadow and I learned what my writing skills were bringing to the company through action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
gasv utility worker (Current Employee), MIJuly 11, 2014
Pros: breaks and lunches are included in a 8 hour period
the job is extremely great ,very interactive with supervision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporation with competitive salary and benefits
Administrative IT Analyst (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJune 17, 2014
22 years at Consumers Energy starting out at entry level and given many opportunities for advancement. That was the old-school way to advance from within. Now the new school rules and a degree in a STEM field is absolutely required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Technical Analyst Lead I (Former Employee), Jackson, MIApril 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long days
A very good place to grow and increase your IT experience. Ability to do community service in various counties with in the state of Michigan. Very communicative staff, and good collaboration on teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Great incentives, management was involved and helpful about employee needs and concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Supervisor, Call Center Advisor (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: work life balance
The company itself is slow to change. However, when working in conditions such as storms or major outages the company has a unique culture that pulls together in one triumphant sync.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly but above average pay
Meter Reader (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: good pay great benefits
Cons: no breaks, vacation but your never able to take it. no tolerance for any illness, no tolerance of family events, issues, or illness
Walking 6 miles a day on average, dealing with difficult customers. Most of my coworkers are friendly, management is unfriendly and very disorganized. Luckily for the most part I work alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1979-2002-Great Company to work for:2003-present:Not so great.
generating plant electrician (Current Employee), MICHIGANFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: hourly wage almost makes up for all the daily chaos.
Cons: having to work for managers without experience managing, but are good at mis-managing.
A typical day at the plant is infused with chaos, since the majority of the management staff have minimal experience working at power plants. Many have come from a closed down pharmaceutical company. Most of the trades people from the same company are very good to work with, though. From my perspective, with almost 35 years working in power plants, – more... this company doesn't seem to value experience, so they end up doing things without seeking information first, and end up being the root cause of major blunders. They aren't very receptive to helpful information from subordinates, because the prevalent attitude, at least in my department, is "I'm the boss". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for to enhance skills
Certified Auxiliary Operator (Current Employee), Erie, MIFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits for family
Cons: not at home durning the night with family
Nothing but good things to say about this company and my job, the olny thigs is that the company has to meet EPA regulations by 2015 and have decided to close plant and invest into a newer generating site
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Commmercial Industrial Gas Service (Former Employee), KalamazooJanuary 19, 2014
Individuals can learn tremendously while employed here!
Most of my work was individual, on the road-in the field.
Learned a great deal in many areas of the utility field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good relationship with other departments and employees
System Controller (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: no breaks, long hours, sacrafice of famiy life, no reward from management
Isolate damage equipment, on distribution, transmission lines, low voltage distribution substation, and High voltage transmission Substations. Call out proper personnel to identify, isolate, repair and restore power. Monitor 13 different computers and prioritize work. Each day was different. Trained personnel in Swtiching and Tagging, for the entire – more... Company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job in the world
Production scheduler (Former Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 30, 2013
Pros: early in and early out
Cons: driving 150 miles per day- monday through friday
6am - 3 pm! set up for the next few weeks. great management and co-workers. assessing load and weather for the next few weeks.
being right
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Plant Electrical Engineer (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIDecember 15, 2013
A typical day involves going to work, handling the projects, dealing with the contractors, electricians and operators.
Anything can go wrong at anytime in the power plant and we have to be ready for the restoration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Low Voltage Distribution Dispatcher (Former Employee), Saginaw, MINovember 25, 2013
Great place to work, work well with personal schedules. Did the best they could for work life balance. Military friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in the IT security department.
Cooperative Assistant (Former Employee), Jackson, MINovember 11, 2013
I reset firewalls and routers and did some spreadsheet work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Electrical Engineer Co-op (Former Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 24, 2013
Good company if you are interested in the Utility business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Fortune 500
Meter Reader (Former Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 16, 2013
Pros: fortune 500 company
Cons: dealing with the outside elements
My typical day would involve walking and driving alone through neighborhoods and reading the costumers of Consumer's Energy gas and electric meters. I learned how to give an accurate read of a customers gas bill, time management and working without supervisors present. The hardest part of my job would walking through the routes that would be up to 4 – more... miles long and watching out for hazards such as animals, weather and other dangerous situations. the most enjoyable part was my free range to complete my job in my own orderly fashion. – less

1 2 3

About Consumers Energy

Consumers Energy Company makes sure that the energy consumers in Michigan have the power to crank up their heaters and the gas – Read more

Consumers Energy Photos