Convention Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Parking attendant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 4, 2015
As a parking attendant you see many things. We had many event days where we had a variety of cultures, languages, and attitudes. I have had to manage working by myself sometimes when people called out, but i did't mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good experience
COOK (Current Employee) –  las cruces convention centerSeptember 1, 2015
I worked their will still in school and hours did vary. The knowledge and experienced gained was highly useful for getting better in my skill-set. The Chef and the rest of our culinary team was great to work with.
Pros
staff meals, good supervisor
Cons
low pay, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Carpenter and Builder,pallet jack (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 24, 2015
This job gave me a chance to gain experience in warehouse and forklift and pallet jack assembly line and production and that what i was looking for at that time so it helped me a bunch but everyone there was cool people to be around it was a little hot but it didnt bother me almost nothing bothers me the hardest part was getting use to it but once i did it was nothing to handle the orders
Pros
low lunch prices
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Active Temporary Worker (Current Employee) –  HartfordJuly 12, 2015
Everyday was a relaxed fast paced fun working environment. Always changing exciting, meeting new people daily. Time goes by so fast at every event.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 8, 2015
Working can be lots of experience for me. I love taking of seniors and being as helpful as I can be. My co-workers are very helpful when it comes to getting something done.
Pros
Lunches//Working in the Morning time.
Cons
Short Brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Messy area
Dish washer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 2, 2015
come in and get straight to work , washing dishes was messy but was fun too. great co-workers everybody made it fun in the kitchen the hardest part was sending the dishes without breaking them, and the enjoyable part was the lunch and the company of others in the kitchen.
Pros
free lunch, great breaks
Cons
the kitchen gets messy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Engineering technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 1, 2012
I learned a lot of technical objects especially when handling the equipment by myself. Management is alright, but there are some people that learned management through experience and didn't go to school. Co-workers are funny, and helpful.
Pros
watching a lot of events, national and international events.
Cons
routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work real nice people
Special Events Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington DCDecember 13, 2012
The work was a good learning exeperience for me i learned alot working with alot of contractors
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start
Cook (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MdMay 15, 2012
I learned how hard it could be to work in food service, The people i worked help me learn something new everyday since ive been there. The good part was me cooking and experiencing time management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
Usher (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 16, 2014
I worked at the Convention Center for three days at the conference it didn't have enough staff working for such a huge place though.
Pros
30 minute lunch breaks
Cons
10 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Janitorial Service (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 27, 2012
Not fun cleaning up after people, but it was a job. I went in each day full of energy but once it was time for my shift to end I was exhausted and could hardly walk. Walking up and down the long halls of the New Orleans Convention Center.
Pros
great location
Cons
not fun cleaning up behind people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first time volunteering and i had alot of fun helping out the Doctors and the hygiensts.
Dental Assistant Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 5, 2012
Great place to go volunteer you could meet potential employers and ask questions about the procedures and instruments there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  PRAugust 26, 2014
I used to work all week in the different types of areas in the center. My job was to keep them always clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had opportunity to see alot of concerts
Catering Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Long Beach,CAMarch 11, 2013
In charge of operations for events from 10 to 10,000. Scheduling,logistics, training, food tastings, menu meetings.
Pros
saw alot of concerts and grand prix
Cons
70 hour work week
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Event Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 4, 2013
Typical day involves setting up and tearing down for events lined up for the day. It is basically cut and dry work once you put everything into place.
Pros
numerous places for lunch.
Cons
can become tedious.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cook/ Preparation Worker (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 28, 2014
I was always busy I love prepping and cooking for the customers. My team and I executed all assignments.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Ask Me Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 7, 2014
I am a Volunteer for the Ask Me Program. I like working with the people and it gives me the opportunity to practice my communication skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on job with with plenty of changes
Custodial Engineer (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAFebruary 12, 2014
a typical day would involve setting exhibit halls or ballrooms, learning different techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and workplace
Janitor/set up (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 21, 2013
I really loved working for the Minneapolis Convention Center.
Pros
cool events
Cons
nice supervisers, friendly people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful people
Banquet server (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 12, 2012
Gained new expirience and met new people. Was comfortable working there.
Pros
met new people
Cons
left me sore
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture