Converse College Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Happy
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMay 8, 2012
There is no opportunity for growth and the pay is very low. I cannot afford to live off the hourly wage they pay. Everyday is routine ranging from mopping a dance studio floors to delivering packages throughout the campus. There is a great deal of micro-management which we are always being watched. My fellow coworkers are very negative minded people and do not try to encourage anyone. I have to stay to myself which helps prevent me to become a negative person. The overall job is very easy but we just get overwhelmed with additional work. There is not any enjoyable part of this job.
Pros
three weeks vacation a year, holidays and safety days.
Cons
extremely low pay, expensive benefits, short breaks and no chances for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Women's College Plus More
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 27, 2016
It's a federal work study program and I loved staying in an environment such as that. I love the college. I love what they stand for. I love their traditions. A job at a culture rich college is a rewarding job.
Pros
less travel time
Cons
have to attend college or have a degree to work their
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowering Environment
Director of Recruitment (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 25, 2015
Working at Converse College, amidst all the amazing students she attracts, is an incredible experience. Working within the Admission Office has allowed me to refine previously acquired skills while learning new skills including public speaking, leadership and management and data analysis. The realm of recruitment and enrollment offers one to experience a wide range of opportunities, requiring flexibility and adaptability which are skills necessary for the ever changing world we live in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Communications Freelancer (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 4, 2015
Smart, driven team of communications professionals. Converse College is a wonderful place to work. The communications office is a great place to learn more about higher education best practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employee
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCNovember 6, 2013
All of the below was very important to me.
(1) Accuracy was of the upmost importance
(2) Team Player
(3) Learning to lift packages in the correct manner
(4) Coming in on time and staying late (if needed)
(5) Switching hours with another employee, if needed
Pros
Team player, accuracy
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to teach
Adjunct Double Bass Professor (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMay 26, 2014
I enjoy teaching at Converse College. My associates are very helpful and they make sure that my student and I do not fall through the cracks. I have learned patience with my students while teaching here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun campus life
Projects Staff (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 15, 2013
I did a little bit of everything from pressure washing to clean up and mail delivery. Not much that was hard the job just didn't pay well.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
not great pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Community Advisor (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg,scJuly 13, 2013
I had a blast as a CA, however, it seemed like I never had access to the information I needed about residents.
Pros
free upgrade on dorm room, leadership experience
Cons
communication with supervisor is rough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Annual Fund Caller (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCDecember 6, 2012
Nice enviroment. Clerical skills learned there. great employees
Pros
great employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Converse College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
3.3

Converse College Reviews by Location