Find companies:
Cooper University Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

Cooper University Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Support Services Associate (Current Employee), Camden, NJAugust 29, 2014
A typical work day was from 3pm-11:30pm Fast pace always having something to do no matter what. I learned a lot of people skills, how to deal with sick patients and there family. I also leaned how to be more respectful, and give a helping hand when needed. The management was good and my co-workers are great to work with. For me there wasn't a hard part – more... at all because i enjoyed leaning new things each time i went to work. The most enjoyable part was working in the floor with all the nurses and techs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviroment
Security Officer (Former Employee), camden, New JerseyAugust 11, 2014
A typical day at work would be securing rooms. Talking to guest. Helping to better the working place with a positive attitude. Unlocking and locking doors for other employees. Relieving other officers for breaks and activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN, PROFESSIONAL, EXCITING, ENVIRONMENT
Phlebotomist/ekg technician (Current Employee), Camden, NJAugust 6, 2014
Pros: we were a team, managment, staff, everyone. we were professionals at what we do. the hours
Cons: it was not in florida
I LOVE WORKING AT COOPER IT IS MY IDEAL PLACE TO WORK. EVERYONE IS FRIENDLY AND IS VERY PROFESSIONAL AT WHAT THEY DO. WE ARE TRULY A FAMILY. MY ONLY WISH AND I ALWAYS TELL EVERYONE IS THAT " I WISH I COULD MOVE MY JOB TO FLORIDA" I WOULD HAVE THE PERFECT LIFE. I HAVE TRULY FOUND MY NICHE WORKING AT COOPER, FROM CEO TO THE JANITORIAL SERVICE PERSON. – more... WE ALL KNOW EACH OTHER BY FIRST NAME BASIS. THERE ARE TIMES THAT IT GETS CHALLENGING. BUT SOME WAY SOME HOW MANAGEMENT FINDS A WAY TO RECONIZE OUR HARD WORK. WE HAVE GONE 5 MONTHS WORKING SHORT STAFF AND WE MADE IT WITHOUT PROBLEMS AND AT THEE END OUR MANAGEMENT SHOWED THEIR APPRECITATION BY MAKING US A PICNIC OUT OF THERE OWN POCKET. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Hopsital, horrible management
boiler operator (Former Employee), Camden,NJAugust 4, 2014
The Boiler Room Supervisor doesn't want to hire anybody. He has already rid of a few experienced boiler operators that he mainly paid hourly. He is willing to find any excuse to fire his new employee, while maintaining 40 hours of overtime for himself. He will hire a boiler room operator, simply out of compliance to his boss. However, after being hired, – more... the atmosphere that the supervisor creates is far from friendly or comfortable. The first 2-3 weeks will be spent mopping the floor and do nothing related to the actual boiler room. You will be asked personal questions, and scrutinized for completing tasks you are not specialized to complete under the supervision of a moody, unpredictable boss. Cooper itself is a wonderful place to work, but the management will turn your employed life into a personal dystopia where you fear for your job on a daily basis. No matter how hard you work, or extra tasks you do, none of it will be good enough. No matter your credentials or experience, your position will be secured for a couple weeks (maybe months), and you will be disposed of, in order for the Chief Engineer to keep his 40 hour overtime.The interview is great, and the supervisor appears friendly and eager to welcome you to the Cooper team, but once a few weeks pass, the offer really is too good to be true, as you will fear the best opportunity the supervisor gets to cut you loose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place for Growth
RN, BSN (Current Employee), Camden, NJJuly 29, 2014
Pros: educational benefits
There are no typical days as a bedside nurse! This is one of the things I love about my career, but also one of the things that makes my career so challenging.
Cooper is a wonderful hospital that provides excellent benefits and opportunities to its' employees. As a full time RN, I had the opportunity to go to a well known MSN program free of charge.
I – more... now work on a small unit where patients can stay with us for weeks to months. It's nice being a part of a tight knit unit where staff and patients get to know each other and work so well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced learning environment
Clinical Operations Director (Current Employee), Camden, NJJune 26, 2014
I feel I can take the skills I learned here and talk the opportunity to lead others.I feel I need a new challenge and would like to pay forward
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty to long term workers.
Office Manager (Former Employee), Camden, NJJune 25, 2014
Pros: employees are nice
Cons: administrative personel treat employees less than satisfactory.
No loyalty to long term workers and dedicated staff. Never appreciation for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as technician while in school
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Camden, NJJune 8, 2014
Pros: good clinical experience
Cons: many co workers were not communicable
great experience learning workflow and clinical aspects of pharmacy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and to gain a tremendous amount of experience
RN, Med-Surg/Telemetry/Critical Care (Current Employee), Camden, NJMay 30, 2014
Pavillion 6 is a very busy medical/surgical/telemetry unit with a 9 bed ISICU area. There is not much down time on this floor. Working on this floor has provided me to prioritize my time effectively. All of the RN's on this floor work as a team. The hardest part of the job is giving enough time to each of your very sick patients in a 6:1 ratio assignment. – more... I enjoy making my patients smile and providing them with good, quality care during my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Camden, NJApril 20, 2014
this hospital is a good place to work and i have no bad things to say about this hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work enviroment, level one trauma hospital
Operating room Technician (Former Employee), Camden, NJApril 14, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I really enjoyed the work environment and having the experience in working in a level one trauma hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooper Family Medicine
Clinical Practice Assistant I (Former Employee), Camden, NJApril 8, 2014
This job was basically a joke. Managers are extremely strict and have no problem getting physical with you if you don't do as they wish. Managers stand over you when your on the phone and yell at you if you say something they don't like. To the point where patients question what is wrong. Managers apparently have the authority to bring you into the – more... exam room and scold you five times a day. The supervisors don't believe anything you say. I couldn't get off for my aunt's funeral because they didn't believe me. It was only until they found out she was a patient at the practice that they let me go. Managers will make up stories to about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed taking care of patients
Nurse Extern (Former Employee), Camden, NJApril 6, 2014
Pros: taking care of my patients
Cons: burnout nurses
I enjoyed working at Cooper because i enjoyed taking care of my patients so they can get well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Camden, NJMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great place to work. great people, salary and benefits.
I left Cooper Hospital in 2012 when I relocated to Florida to be close to Family. The Managers and co-workers that I worked with were the best.
I worked a three day, 12 hour shift in the Emergency Department Xray room. The hardest part of the job was seeing patient's discomfort. The most enjoyable part was feeling that I helped ease some of the discomfort – more... by carefully placing my xray plates and talking to the patient's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Camden, NJMarch 21, 2014
to safely and securely transport patients in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over the last dozen years coporate culture has become top heavy.
Histology Technician 2 (Former Employee), Camden New JerseyMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Cons: 2% pay raise is all you can hope for
When I first started there the company was coming back from the brink of bankruptcy people really cared and did the best with what you had, outstanding team work and cooperation. Now they think that they are a big shot organization and want to emulate their competitors. The problem is that there is more emphasis on being a cheerleader than doing the – more... job. My coworkers were a lot of really outstanding people who work very hard and get very little recognition other than the privilege of coming back the next day and doing it all over again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience for health care workers
Cooper Health Systems (Former Employee), Camden, NJFebruary 20, 2014
Enjoy my career at Cooper. I learned so much and was blessed to meet such great people serving the community of Camden, NJ.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PACU
Business oriented/Six Sigma certified: CSSMBB (Current Employee), PACUJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: team -works together
Cons: every minute is busy/critical care, never enough beds inhouse for all patients
Triage type PACU for Level I trauma. PACO =about 60 surgical cases a day. 12 hour shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy practice with numerous job responsibilities
Clinical Secretary (Current Employee), Camden, NJNovember 21, 2013
Pros: very nice people to work with.
Cons: no room for advancement
This is a very busy but satisfying job where I perform various duties including registration, billing, coding, precertification of radiology procedures, handling heavy multi-line telephone system, scheduling, EPIC, Flowcast, prescriptions, filing, faxing, scanning, patient relations, typing, proofreading, keeping minutes of meetings and recredentialing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers and docters
Surgical Technician (Current Employee), Camden, NJNovember 14, 2013
Pros: scrubbing all type of cases
Cons: short break
i love coming to work i have great docters i work with and also my coworkers are great

1 2 3

About Cooper University Hospital

The Cooper Health System keeps folks¬†along the Delaware River shoreline¬†feeling fine. The not-for-profit organization includes – Read more