Core Laboratories Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult enviorment to work in older i get
presser 2 explosive maker (Current Employee) –  Godley, TXJuly 19, 2017
productive,sometimes fun. pressing charges is my favorite job ever.lot of gossiping but mostly good hearts in people.hard part of not climate controlled.fun times employee fun and games day.
Pros
employee fun day once a year
Cons
not climate controlled small, break room no amenities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly intense working environment
Geologist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 13, 2017
Working under strong pressure all the time as the goals were set with little time to spare and with several projects running at once. Sometimes with several staff competing to use the instruments available.
Pros
Job location.
Cons
Very poor work/compensation relationship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core Lab
RAPID Data Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 13, 2017
Core Laboratories is a very competitive work environment. Advanced petrophysical technology and professional work environment. Chance for advancement is rather low.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane
Staff Geologist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 30, 2017
Core Analysis, Petrography, data management, data integration
If you like to handle rocks for your entire career, this is the place for you.
Age and gender discrimination is a significant part of the corporate and management culture.
Pros
Worked with various types of rock analysis, best equipment and labs available in the industry
Cons
Little or no upward mobility if you are a woman or over 40.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off after 10 years
Geologist (Former Employee) –  Broussard, LAFebruary 21, 2017
I kept waiting for that next promotion that was promised to me 3 years ago, but instead, I was laid off. Later I learned that another co-worker deceivingly bad-mouthed me to the boss. It is up to you to form your own judgements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work enviroment
Collection Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 7, 2017
I had 16 wonderful years with this company, I was able to grow a lot and advance. I controlled debt and monitored their daily DSO. We had daily report
Pros
Long length of employment
Cons
lay/off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work.
IT Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 3, 2017
This place is very stable, not a lot of changes, not much in advancement, or training. No cost of living increases in several years.
Pros
Few lay-offs
Cons
Employees morale at a Low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workable
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Midlnd, TexasAugust 3, 2016
I learned many different office skills the years I worked for Core Lab.
It has been a character building experience I shall take with me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable with atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAJuly 30, 2016
I enjoyed working fir the company. However the office was not doing good business and I was laid off.very understanding of my family life. I was always able to attend school functions with my children with no problem.
Pros
Leave early on Friday
Cons
Training happened over the phone bc no one local to teach me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not expect much as an intern
Lab Intern (Former Employee) –  Harahan, LAJune 29, 2016
I was hired as an intern making $13/hour. However the work environment, pay, and benefits are wonderful if given the opportunity to work full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corelab
Geology Assistant/Core Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 21, 2016
I was not at Corelab long enough to be able to review the culture of the company. Management was helpful but sort of a "good ol' boy" type. Co-workers are nice and helpful and the work could be interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much of a culture or structure managment
Core Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 2, 2016
I worked at core laboratories for a few years. Initially, the job was engaging and fun. The novelty wore off soon, and I realized how broken the management, culture, and work life balance was terrible. Safety in the laboratory was not a priority and at times, I felt my life was in danger. This is a great company for getting your feet wet, but I would not stay long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
HR Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 20, 2016
I really enjoy working for Core Lab...wonderful company with many opportunities for advancement. The company is solid from a financial standpoint as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whackamole
Customer Rep (Former Employee) –  HoustonMarch 9, 2016
This is very much a place where the culture is embedded, and any thought provoking ideas are met with disdain. The motto is...keep your head down, and it is there for a reason.

For whatever it is worth, it did provide a place to work, but not a place for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism
QA Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 8, 2016
They pick and choose who will be successful within the company. Nothing is based on how you actually perform. If you perform good they will keep you in the position until you have had enough of the bull.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Core Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 20, 2015
good place give you a chance to show you skills. They give you responsibility and you basically take on as much or as little as you want. They lay off a lot of people have a high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Exchange Systems Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2015
The people made it a fun place to work and to be, company grew fast and provided lots of opportunities to grow in your career and skills
Pros
The Team
Cons
The Traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VP of HR is the worst I have seen.
Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2015
Constant changing course in midstream.
Played favorites.
Picked the worst applicant tracking system against the recommendation of committee and came up short of expectations.
Great co-workers.
Pros
Co-workers were great team.
Cons
See review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Lab Technician II (Former Employee) –  Broussard, LouisianaJune 12, 2015
Had a great time working for this company. The work was interesting and the people were great. Every department had great employees and enjoyable people to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place if you're just starting
Lab Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 4, 2015
Core Labs, is a good place for someone starting off.
They require a lot from their employees and compensation is not great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Core Laboratories. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1