Find companies:
Corizon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

Corizon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job, however it is a very unorganized place to work
LPN (Former Employee), Bartow, FLJuly 11, 2014
A typical day at work is very busy from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave my housing unit held over 350 inmates/patients on a day to day basis.
I learned no matter who your patients are you should always be professional and listen to your patients concerns and provide feed back to the patient.
Management is very unorganized and unethical – more... at times.
My co-workers were the best part of this job great teamwork.
The hardest part of the job is the management.
At the end of my shift it felt very rewarding with the thought of hoping I made a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison
Administrative Assistant/ Dental Assistant (Current Employee), Fulton, MOJune 23, 2014
Pros: 4 days a week
Cons: the drive
I work in a medical unit at a Prison and Treatment center. Love my co-workers and Boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job really loved the position
Psychiatric Technician (Current Employee), Florence, AZJune 18, 2014
overall I enjoyed the job but it was very nerve wrecking working for a private company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credentialing Coordinator
Senior Credentialing Coordinator (Current Employee), Brentwood, TNJune 11, 2014
Pros: having the site management help you out to get the credentials and reach out to the providers
Cons: constantly have to keep on the sites, and providers to send me the updated credentials even though they know they have been expired
Working at Corizon has taught me to take the initiative to do things on your own. I have bulid a working relationship with the employees. Out of the seven years that I have been working here I've learned that you have to take control for yourself because here you won't find out anything unless you ask questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Wrightsville, ARJune 7, 2014
Pros: incentives
Cons: being on your feet all day 12-14 or 16 hour shifts
Correctional nursing at a maxium security prison. You learn how to give care to the incarcerated population. Improvising and developing new skills to provide treatment and care to 23 hour lock down inamtes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
potentially good job
CERTIFIED MEDICATION AIDE (Former Employee), annapolisJune 3, 2014
Pros: co-workers, pay
Cons: inexperienced management, unrealistic expectations, condescending management styles
This job started out ok. As management changed to new and inexperienced people that environment went downhill. High turnover, the quality of new hires was sketchy. Workplace began to become highly stressful and depressing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Therapeutic Recreation Therapist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 23, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: no supplies, upper management
I worked for Corizon as a Therapeutic Recreation Therapist from June 2012-August 2013. Let me start off by saying Corizon pays really really well. I'll say that again they pay really really well. However as a Recreation Therapist I needed supplies to do my job. For over a year I was told that supplies were on there way. I never receiced anything except – more... for a few packs of construction paper and a box of colored pencils. So it was really hard to have therapeutic sessions with the inmates when you have no supplies to do anything with. Upper management seemed to change monthly. It seems like the company gets people in the door with the good salary but then offers no support so people find jobs elsewhere. Also it took about 3 months to get my direct depost set up. Like I said very unorganized. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrections Facility Healthcare
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALMay 6, 2014
Pros: room for movement in the company
Cons: management
Providing healthcare services to inmates in a State Correctional Facility. It was a fast pace environment that required you to be very attentive to your work and your surroundings. Although the management was not up to par the job itself and the other co-workers was a very fun job and at times had its rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse, PRN (Current Employee), Boonville, MOMay 5, 2014
Pros: the don and adminstrator make it a good place to work.
Cons: the atmosphere of the prison is somewhat oppressive
The work is basic nursing and right here in town, and it is a good place to work, with great nurses and supportive administration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
LPN (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 30, 2014
Fast paced, excellent customer service and solution resolution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
direct care nurse (Former Employee), Madison, InApril 28, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits.
I really loved my job and the people I worked with. However, my mother fell ill and I needed different hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work, due to HSA that's very unprofessional but able to get away with it
nurse LPN (Former Employee), St Clair in Springville AlabamaApril 19, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: horrible and unprofessional management( hsa) that's currently there
I worked there for about 3 years and we had a great team.We had the best management.They treated us with respect and very professional attitudes.The currently HSA was hired as the DON with no correctional experience at all, than least two months he became The new HSA! very strange how corporate do things. Since he's been there the turnover has been – more... terrible! He is a know it all, no respect to the staff, very unprofessional, use profanity towards his staff,he huffs and puffs in your face with like a kid having a temper tantrum.majority of all of his behaviors and unprofessionalism has been reported to corporate, but nothing is done.corporate refuse to do an investigation. He will lie on you, to make corporate believe anything he says, and they do! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay, patient load 100+
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Ocala, FLMarch 7, 2014
Pros: no lunch provided
Cons: lucky if you get to have a lunch, no breaks allowed
The only Nurse responsible for 48 inpatient + 60 outpatient,+ sick calls, treatments, orders, admissions, discharges, medication administration for 100+, including, injections & diabetics. Take off orders, process, order meds, assessments, plus… Definitely putting your license in jeopardy working for this company. Compensation is the lowest, $17 hourly. – more... Currently working there seeking employment elsewhere – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANAGEMENT
LPN (Former Employee), Perryville , Goodyear AZMarch 3, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: the fha and don
Loved working for Corizon. The only issue was the DON and Facility Health Administrator at the Perryville Goodyear AZ site. The FHA was hired with no medical health administration experience and it shows in his management style. The DON should not be working there as she has 5 DUIs with the last 2 being aggravated. Why the State of AZ Board of Nursing – more... has not suspended her license let along revoked it is a big mystery. With both of them in the mix there is a high turn over of nurses because of their mismanagement. Over all a good company to work for but stay away from Perryville until Corizon takes steps to rid itself of the FHA and DON currently in place there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management. supervisors were not qualified to be in supervisor positions.
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: management unprofessional and incompetent. non supportive management team.
Promotions were based on personal relationships versus qualifications. Management was unsupportive. Management was very immature and unprofessional. Policies were always changing and inconsistent. HR was unwilling to help with work place issues. Constantly threatened and harassed by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work environemnt
LPN (Former Employee), Jefferson City, MOJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: flexibility with work schedles
Cons: infallible management
can be a very fast paced work environment but everyone pulls together to get the job done efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Psychiatric Technician (Former Employee), Kuna, IDJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: strong sense of comradery
Cons: corporate rules
This job allowed employees to find new ways of implementing programs that are most effective. I worked in a maximum security prison with all males. I enjoyed every part of this job, from the psych staff, medical staff, and correctional officers. I disliked that benefits available to employees and the attitude of the corporate office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic, unfair time constraints, no productive communication by management
RN position in a clinic setting at ASPC-Winslow (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: steady job
Cons: management does not listen or problem solves issues
Overworked, supervisors don't listen, unfair time clock policy, denies request for sick when really sick. Management yells at employees and berates employee in front of other employees. Management talks negatively about other employee to other employees. No respect for hard work done under unfair time constraints. Typical day: 25 sickcall requests to – more... process and triage, 10-20 transfers out to process, 10 to 20 intake chart to review and schedule appts for, Security counts to do 2 times a shift, narcotic to count 2 times a shift, and Med pass to 3 yards that takes 2 hours. Also constantly monitoring radio traffic for any medical emergencies/respond to any emergencies, triage and transfer to higher level of care when needed. Nice part of job ; worked alone and fast pace would have been nice if able to complete all required duties with time constraints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
RN (Former Employee), Reno, NVDecember 14, 2013
Pros: i left
The pay is not worth putting your license at risk. Overworked, management always wants more. Management never seems satisfied.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY BUSY
RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST (Current Employee), Cameron, MODecember 2, 2013
Cons: no raises
VERY BUSY WORK ENVIRONMENT, I ENJOY THE JOB BECAUSE WE SEE THINGS YOU WOULDNT TYPICALLY SEE IN A HOSPITAL SETTING

1 2 3 4

About Corizon

Prison inmates can't really shop around for health plans, but depending on where they are held, they may have access to Correctional – Read more