Find companies:
Cornell University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Cornell University Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Course Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYApril 9, 2015
Great employer. They give us great benefits. They encourage us to reach our full potential. In fact, the give us enough room to grow and develop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING WORK ENVIRONMENT
Food Service worker (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYMarch 25, 2015
amazing crew, amazing pay, amazing hours. all around enjoyable. only thing not amazing was working 2.5 months at a clip then having weeks off with no pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Clients Sr. Manager - Part Time (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYMarch 25, 2015
I am in charge of handling customer relations regarding our little company that provides lighting and sound to groups on campus. I have had a great leadership opportunity and the opportunity to see many great shows through this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, fantastic institution, great benefits for full time employees
CIPA Office of Career Management (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYMarch 14, 2015
Opportunities to expand talents by collaborating with different departments.

Hardest part: Long hours
Best part: Fantastic intellectual culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYMarch 4, 2015
The work is handsomely compensated, and you get to learn a lot. Co-workers are fun and the job is very enjoyable. Very good exposure to designing processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring Work Atmoshpere
Undergraduate Research (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYFebruary 28, 2015
I am productive here due to the inspiring and motivating environment that my co-workers supply. There is a constant expectation of quality work that instills a productive and efficient work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position straight out of grad school
Independent Contractor: Technical Writer (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: exciting environment
Cons: location was too cold
Working at Cornell University was a great opportunity to begin my career as a technical writer. Was exposed to several new stasks.oftware programs and
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Friendly.
Account Administrator (Former Employee), New York,New YorkJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: advancement
Processing operation reports to submit correct diagnosis and procedure codes, on claims for correct reimbursement. Call insurance carriers to follow-up payment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, relaxed culture
Event Coordinator & Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYJanuary 17, 2015
Informal, fun bosses, fun place to be! Cornell offers free tuition to employees, wellness programs, and lots of job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work but lacks growth potential
IT Support Asst IV (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYJanuary 3, 2015
Great Place to work but lacks growth potential. Working for Cornell has given me the chance to learn and grow my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University, not so great location
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYJanuary 3, 2015
Great university and program. Ithaca NY, however, is very difficult to live in if you are accustomed to living in a more urban environment or are unaccustomed to harsh winter weather and isolation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Graduate research assistant (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYDecember 17, 2014
Good management.
Good co-worker.
Enjoyable project.
Holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cant review.
Community Educator (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 16, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: .
Grateful that I learned a lot about nutrition and the importance of staying fit. A typical day of work included having your materials ready for going out to the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYNovember 1, 2014
great way to work with professors and get credits. thats all i have to say
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Stein Mart
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYOctober 15, 2014
Loved the atmoshpere working there part time. I actually worked customer service and interacted with happy and angry customers. You learn to listen and make things right to pleases the customer and help business in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Ever
Programmer/Analyst II (Current Employee), Ithaca, NYOctober 9, 2014
Pros: it's fund to walk to work. interacting with the students is interesting.
Cons: if a professor publishes enough papers, he can abuse his employees any way that they want and the university will look the other way.
I work for a male professor who routinely finds it necessary to manually adjust his crotch area when talking to me. Once he even unzipped his pants to do it. He has even done this in staff meetings when women were present. The pay is well below average (around the 25th percentile) but we are expected to work a minimum of 50 hours/week. The professor treats his staff with no respect. He has called an impromptu meeting that lasted until almost 6:00 and several impromptu meetings that lasted 2 hours or more and ran through the entire lunch hour. We are required to cc him on every email that we send, even to each other. Even though we have to write daily work summaries and he generally talks to everyone every day and then have to report on our work at weekly staff meetings, he claims that he needs to read all of our emails so that he can see if we are doing any work! He pressures the grad students into taking the minimum number of classes so that they can spend more time working for him. We never discuss what we should do or how we should do it or how long tasks should take; he arbitrarily decrees EVERYTHING. He'll spend an entire evening working on something but tells everyone that he did it in 40 minutes. Then he will expect us to perform similar tasks in 40 minutes!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close working environment with brilliant academics
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYAugust 19, 2014
As a Cornell Teaching Assistant:

• Organized curriculum into concentrated form for accelerated course style

• Facilitated lectures with one-on-one and group-interactive exercises

• Worked closely with Prof. A. to meet administrative needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYAugust 14, 2014
One of the best research and teaching organizations in the USA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important center of research in the field of chemistry and chemical biology
Research Associate (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYAugust 12, 2014
Chemical department of Cornell University has a strong pool of professors in all areas of biochemistry and chemistry. Many important research projects are initiated here. World class devices are developed using nanotechnology, chemistry, mathematical modelling, biophysics and biochemistry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Later
Research Assistant III (Former Employee), Ithaca, NYAugust 7, 2014
Tell us about:
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job

1 2 3 4 5