Find companies:
Corner Bakery Cafe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Corner Bakery Cafe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first Job back from school!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2014
LEarned tons from my Manager to help me step into management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ad Fun workplace
Catering Driver (Former Employee), Arlington, VAFebruary 11, 2014
Great people, and management, not afraid to talk to you about what my be happening in you life or what you could possibly do to help produce more in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with friendly co-workers.
Cashier (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CAJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: half off price of food, friendly staff, free coffee.
Cons: compensation, sometimes understaffed.
Generally the work day is routine. As a cashier you come in and help guests, make suggestions, explain the menu and do it with a smile.
I've learned how to be more out going and people friendly from this job and I've also learned to multitask very well.
My co-workers are great. Most of them are very helpful and friendly and do whatever they can to keep – more... our team going throughout the day.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with the guests that are more difficult, like the ones who say one thing to you but insist they wanted something else. For the most part it's not a big deal.
The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling accomplished when I solve problems in the workplace and when I can assist a guest so well that they compliment on the establishment before they leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Fast Casual Concept To Bay Area
Manager Administrator (Current Employee), Foster City, CAJanuary 29, 2014
I enjoy the community and the excitement they have for the opening of this restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you only work
Cashier (Current Employee), McAllen, TXDecember 12, 2013
Pros: comps on food, schedule availability
Cons: no raise after a yr., 20min breaks and you can not leave
This job is great, for people who only work. For students going to HS or college sometimes it is hard because everyone needs days off and needs to study and the managers can not always accommodate for everybody. This place was wonderful when I started working here, but it has begun to become a hassle to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 11, 2013
Pros: great places to work
Cons: need more income
Great atmosphere and great people to work with. Management was wonderful also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feed the Day
Sales/Marketing Director and Community Coordinator (Former Employee), Madison, MSNovember 6, 2013
Corner Bakery Cafe is a wonderful company to work for. The enthusiasm and attention to quality make it a company that you can take pride in associating yourself with. I resigned to pursue higher education and I will definitely pursue returning once I have earned my Master's degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Catering Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: great salads
Cons: short breaks
Good food! Management ok.No decent break.
No Sundays. Catering phones never stopped ringing, even when closing for the day. Could be slightly unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job but its not enough
Line Cook/Catering Production (Current Employee), Pikesville, MDOctober 1, 2013
Pros: friendly work place ok for a part-time job
Cons: doesnt pay well i have to work alot of over-time
I love my job but it doesn't pay that well and no matter hard I work I don't feel like my job is secure. I come in at 5:00 am and I start opening right away. I collect the required tools and set up my cooking area. I dice tomatoes, red peppers, and green peppers. When the customers start to come in, I prepare meals fresh to order. My management team – more... helps me when I asked for it but they get very upset if you don't produce orders in time. The hardest part of my job is speed of service. The most enjoyable part of my job are the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Days
Receptionist/Cashier , Cook (Current Employee), Redlands, CASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: great work place, and half off any food we want, great scheduling
Cons: mmm i cant really think of one but id say short breaks which isnt really but i have to include one.
A typical day at work mornings are usually steady on weekends are very busy. Around 11 a.m starts to get very busy that's when we get our lunch rush we get very busy. I've learned a lot about guest service how to attend and know that the guest is always right. Our management group is amazing my GM is Andy Taylor his great when it comes to ruining the – more... place. He knows how to solve anytime problems that might occur when least expected. Theirs no reason as in to not have what the guest what or need. My co-workers for some I can really say their great in customer service and getting the food out quickly which is our most precious job. Bring out quality and fast food our food isn't fast food related but we do bring it out as soon as possible, and not let the guest waiting loosing their patience. Now the hardest part of my job i would have to say is hot station which practically it relates to what the guest mostly as of where in charge of pastas, hot panini's, and breakfast. On that station we get a lot of orders and we gotta be quick and I'm happy to say a co-worker and myself are the top cook's in that station. To be honest i enjoy every part of my job my manager's and co-worker's are great to work with I have no problems at all there. Just that my passion isn't the kitchen I'm more into office work and using the computer, and dealing with papers I'm extremely organized and neat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Environment to work in
Accounts Payable Accountant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 6, 2013
I loved my time with the Bakery. The people are great, the environment is fantastic, work life balance is good.

This is really a fun, upbeat place to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imbalanced workplace.
Line Cook/Prep/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Glendora, CAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: free lunch sometimes, and understanding with sick days
Cons: slander
Not organized or controlled properly. Difficult to focus on certain tasks because of lack of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but Fun
Cashier/FOH Trainer (Current Employee), Irving, TXAugust 12, 2013
You get to know a lot of people but opportunities to move up in the company are too low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and disorgnized
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 26, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: no health benefits
A very busy restaurant. No formal training for new employees. Needs a better look at managing the crew. Duties not distributed equally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do!
Manager (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAJuly 26, 2013
Pros: free meals for managers
Cons: little to no creative input with anything, nearly no positive recognition, 'you're only as good as your last month' mentality
Over all I would say Corner Bakery Cafe is a 'good' company behind an awesome concept. Their food is very easy to make quickly, the kitchen set up is great, and their goals are on point. The hardest part of the job is maximizing every single second of the day using the least amount of product, labor, and time possible. The company is not rewarding to – more... their employees, hourly and salary, however expect the absolute most out of them. I do enjoy how every day is full of the same tasks, and can expect about the same type of guest on the regular. This is not like any other restaurant company I have worked for/with, and they have a wonderful future as a company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving workplace
Front of House Employee (Current Employee), Newtown, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: no breaks, no benefits, not much room for raises or advancement
The Corner Bakery is a good company to work for, but the way the stores are run vary depending on location. It is a fast moving job, and I will often have a long list of tasks that need to be accomplished. On a busy day, there will be a line out the door for multiple hours so I will have to constantly be on my toes and very alert. It is a great environment – more... to learn how to work with the public and how to work efficiently in a high stress and busy atmosphere. It is also a great place to learn how to problem solve and be self sufficient. Employees are expected to know what needs to be done and to accomplish those tasks without being asked. Unfortunately, it is not a restaurant that has much room for advancement in a timely fashion. There is a lot of turn over in management, so there is often at least one manager working that makes it difficult to work with based on their attitudes. Employees are often not treated fairly in terms of compensation and scheduling; both of which are at the discretion of the general manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with future advancement
Cashier/Certified Trainer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 28, 2013
Pros: 50% discount on meals, flexible schedule, delicious food.
Cons: 20 minute breaks, open during holiday hours.
At corner Bakery, it's always an upbeat fast pace environment where you are given the chance to show your abilities and for future advancements within the company. Staff always there to guide you. Defetnally a new working experience if you want to start in the restaurant business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No day, week, month or year were ever the same.
Training Systems Designer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 19, 2013
Pros: creative environment that supports collabration between training team members
Corner Bakery Cafe and I grew up together.

Training & Development professional with experience in both instructor and self-led learning programs for hourly employees and management in the restaurant industry. Skilled in course design and facilitation for adult learners with an emphasis on experiential learning. Proven ability to meet or exceed brand – more... initiatives and to support company goals using training, operational systems, communications and other diverse materials and methods. Abilities include:
Instructional & Curriculum Design
Training Delivery and Facilitation
E-learning/Distance Learning
Project Management
Graphic Design
POS & Other Technologies
New Restaurant Opening Systems
Culinary Skills
Food Safety Science
Supporting Initiatives:
Risk Management, Human Resources, Marketing, Food and Beverage, Operations, Accounting and Purchasing

New Cafe Openings
Opened 54 Corner Bakery Cafe locations as training team leader (1997-2005)
Saved $40,600 per cafe opening. Wrote and managed new cafe opening training schedules, materials, guides and support documentation including budgets (2004-2008)
Employee Development
Decreased and sustained hourly employee turnover at a yearly average of 75%, with the mid 2010 turnover at 48%. Designed and wrote all training materials for the hourly employee Career Path. Materials include all training guides, job aids, orientation materials, career path components and systems
Manager Development
Reduced management turnover to under 25% over the last five years; an industry leading standard. Designed, wrote and lead team projects to produce the “Stepping Stones” development program for all management levels from Shift Supervisor to Cafe General Manager. Stepping Stones include:
Key Employee and Catering Supervisor programs
Shift Supervisor & Manager: initial training, continued development and promotion preparation
General Manager: orientation, first 90 day plan and continued development
Created, wrote, and facilitated various Continuing Education programs with pre and post assessments and learner testing, including “Train the Trainer”, Coach and Develop, Performance Reviews, Conflict Management, Teamwork and Communication, Culinary Topics, Sanitation Certification and Safe Alcohol Service
New Manager Conference: manager, host and learning subject facilitator (2004-2009)
Managed the Management Training Program in the field (1997-2007)
Developed and supported the Area Training Managers

Operational Support Programs
Increased company average Ecosure scores from 83% in 2004 to 91% in 2010: and achieved the highest ranking among all Brinker concepts from program inception to 2006. Designed, wrote, and implemented the SAFE Program, encompassing the Ecosure inspection program, safety programs and field communications
Increased guest count and reduced ordering and meal delivery times by leading teams and projects, designing materials, managing schedules and supporting both the Point of Sale transition (2007) and Kitchen Display System testing and rollout (2005)
Information Technologies Initiatives: credit card legal compliance, building and managing content on the company intranet site, POS updates and wrote the POS support manual
Marketing Initiatives: job aids and communications
Food and Beverage: Systems for product testing, support materials, operational systems, results reporting, job aids, training guides and more. Includes a complete redesign of recipes and culinary materials
Facilities: assisted in the design and rollout of cleaning and maintenance programs
Franchise: designed the Franchise Sales and Welcome presentations
Developed and conducted HR and Operational audits for units
Organized and conducted Employee and Manager Focus groups – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont care about employees only business
Cook (Former Employee), Bala-Cynwyd, PAMay 15, 2013
Pros: cool co-workers
Cons: no benefits for hourly employees, no breaks.
If you want a job that doesnt care about your personal life this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work but worth it
Training Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 2, 2013
You wear many hats in this company but overall you will become a much stronger manager after working here. This company has great potential.

About Corner Bakery Cafe

The bakery does seem like a logical place to start looking for a sandwich. CBC Restaurant Corp. operates and franchises more than – Read more