Find companies:
Correctional Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Correctional Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and a room for growth (only to dedicated ones)
Gender and Youth Coordinator (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPMay 29, 2014
Pros: get exposure
Cons: cutting of budget
It is a governmnet sector that gives one an opportunity to grow if u have ambition in life. there are policies in place that guide people how to manage funds and resources allacated to you. a challenge is to mobilise people and make them understand the objective and also pursuade them to folloew or attend programmes or events. the most enjoyable part – more... is that you meet great ideas and diverse people. co-workers are supportive and dedicated to their jobs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good enviroment stressfull at all times
Human Resource Development Practioner (Current Employee), Bloemfontein, FSMay 27, 2014
stressful

stereotypical every day

management low standard

just to earn salary

always do the work of your manager and also your own as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a go-getter
Assistant Director (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPMay 19, 2014
Pros: adventurous
Cons: time constraints
I enjoy being in the field conducting investigations. A typical day at work, im busy supervising my junior staff, conducting investigation as part of the team, exchanging some views on current trends regarding investigation. The hardest part is when i'm conducting investigation inside the prison cells.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Supply chain intern (Current Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNApril 23, 2014
Pros: free flow of information
Cons: overtime not getting paid, salary
Good and bad days
I hv learnt so much and i have grown to my very best it feels like i have been here for almost more than year
I have good managers. they adjust to accommodate our needs and cultures
The hardest part of the job is dealing with co workers in other ares because they fail to meet deadlines
The most enjoyable part of the job is when we – more... go out of the office to visit other offices of the region because by that we learn to on how to communicate – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Secretary II - Casual (Former Employee), Truro, NSApril 12, 2014
Pros: ability to learn new things daily
Cons: hard to see clients who struggle through life
Correctional Service was an interesting place to work due to the nature of the position. Learning opportunities at all times. Management back you up 99 per cent of the time. Great co-works. Hardest part of the job was seeing people in need not able to get the help they needed. Most rewarding was being able to join a Volunteer Program with Probation – more... which I held for 10 years. It was very rewarding knowing people looked up to you and respected your knowledge and the ability to help them become better citizens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good department with morale boosting and motivating department with ethical values
asset clerk (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPApril 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
typical days are when we were doing asset verification of the whole building to compile our financial year report.i learned more about logis (logistical information system).i can place orders manage stores,do the payments and also the asset management.my supervisor mr pooe is the most brilliant person i ever worked with.walking the whole building doing – more... vitrification.capturing because i enjoy and have a good understanding of the systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice workplace
Senior Typist (Current Employee), Paarl, WCMarch 27, 2014
Pros: nice working hours
Cons: no work satisfaction
Type from investigations and general correspondence.
Trained the Correctional Officials in Basic MS Office 2007 in our Management Area
Relieve Switchboard
Relieve Registration
Relieve Area Commissioner Secretary and type correspondence for Area Commissioner
Administration of S&T claims.
Administration of discretionary deductions and the capturing thereof/ – more... the administration of data integrity / the administration of capturing of allowances.
The administration of Departmental Housing allowances.
Capturing of yearly leave on Persal System and recording of leave in G102 register
Design a brochure for Allandale Management Area – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
secretary (Former Employee), Krugersdorp, GPMarch 6, 2014
Pros: friendly boss
Cons: working with offenders
it was when I organize an event of donating school uniforms to the disadvantage children, I have learned that I should help if I see someone need and I have all support from my management because I had 3 managers working with me and also my co workers supported me with ideas like I have to ask for donation, the hardest part it was when I dint have enough – more... money to buy school shoes and went to one of my managers and he went to Woolworth to ask for donation, the enjoyable part is when we give those kinds their uniform they way they smile and seem happy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
SENIOR BUYER (Former Employee), GPJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: free lunches and presents
Cons: long hours
i enjoyed my work because i was able to communicate with senior management on a daily basis because of the nature of my work. my coworkers were very helpful becuase they were a helping hand in ensuring that we accomplished our task. my hardest and enjoyable part of the job is my weaknesses and my strengths wich include:
My greatest weakness is my perfectionism, – more... I take longer than the average person in getting the work done, but I deliver only the best quality of work.I become restless when coming to deadlines; I will rather do the job myself than delegate.
My strengths are that I have positive attitude. I am confident in an assertive way. I have the ability to get work done no matter what it takes. I have commitment to see task through from start to finish and as well as my ability to learn from other people. I believe in planning and proper management of my time even though i am able and enjoy working under pressure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At first it was great, but became stereotype
Typist (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: secure salary. no working on weekends.
Cons: work started to bore me. they couldn't keep me busy enough.
I would come in 07:00 in the morning. Sort out my desk. Start typing the work received. Lunch break would be half an hour and then back to work. Many meetings that did not really concern me. Typing untill 4:30 in the afternoon. Payment was good at the time, because it was a stable income every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate about training
Transport Officer (Former Employee), Bloemfontein, FSDecember 27, 2013
Pros: enough space to make decisions independly
Cons: policies made nationally, and sometimes do not respond to practical situations that arise on a daily basis.
Keeping records updated and conducting inspections to check the cleanliness of vehicles.
Listening to complaints around the conditions of vehicles, and attend to them where immediate intervention is required.
Interact with colleaques to do daily planning of vehicles allocation.
Process invoices and fuel slips.
Check vehicle accessories such as jacks, – more... wheel spanners, spare wheels, and triangles.
Attend to enquiries from merchants/service providers.
Gathered lot of experience in the area of Fleet management and Labour relations
Enjoy the support of co-workers, and find it easy to be part of the team.
The hardest part of the job is to keep the transaction report files up to date,due to the fact that we are managing a fleet of eighty(80) vehicles that are running daily. For as long as a vehicle runs , there is going to be a transaction to account for.
The Organisation is managed by a team of skilled individuals who on average goog in empowering their personnel.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the space to work independently, as well as the exposure to new challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always work as a team,good communication,solve any conflict with my co-workers.
Financial Accounting (Current Employee), Bethal, MPNovember 18, 2013
Pros: if worked extra hours, arrangement will be made for free lunch.
Cons: extra hours.
Independence
team work
communication
job knowledge
year end fuctions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive by making too many toolbox talks,both safety,health in general and to ensure that injuries are minimal and employees become informed in all
SHEQ Coordinator / Safety practitioner (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPNovember 5, 2013
Pros: no free lunches, you have to provide yourself.
Cons: working from 07h30am to 15h00 and working on alternative weekends.
I plan my work for the month as part of my programme,daily routine inspection from all components,
I learn the different behaviours from the employees and offenders,
I discuss all challenges wether good or bad side in order to build common understanding regarding compliance to the legislation,
Co-workers mostly they respond positive but others they – more... are just negative just to test your strength,
The hardest part is frustration due to no allocation of budget for health and safety matters because you want to implement but no funds to purchase some educational programmes for safety,
Enjoyable part of the job is when the labour department intervene by enforcing the law to the employer and most of the other issues relating to safety are being done and the employer started to respect you as safety practitioner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and productive invironment
case officer coii (Former Employee), Empangeni, ZNJuly 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch hour and departmental rugby
Cons: inconcistency with promotional policies
Reporting on duty
Unlocking and counting of offenders
Serving of 1st meal
Taking comlaints and requests
Managing case files
Managing daily stuctured programmes
Supervising 2nd meal
Locking up of offenders
Lunch
Unlocking of offenders
Supervising bath routine
Counting of offenders
Supervising 3rd meal
Re-count of offenders
Locking up of offenders
Reporting – more... off duty – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people i am working with can tranfer skills
HR Officer (Intern) (Former Employee), MeyerdaleMay 25, 2013
I have learned a lot from the department as an HR Intern, i know feel confident to apply for HR positions. i would recommend them to other interns. the mith of saying goverment sectors are not working it not true, i worked hence i am confident know to apply for hr positions. There for i would rate them 10 over 10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rehabilitation and correction
Administration Clerk (Current Employee), PretoriaMay 8, 2013
Pros: have to work for what i get
Cons: normal working hours
Develop the policy to be submitted to the Regional and Management Area for implementation.
Capturing data from all the management areas
Learned about the policies and procedures, Correctional Services Act, Financial Management Act, The Bill of Rights
My collegue are hard working people with good people skills. They like to work as a team.
Visiting an – more... offenders who are sick and different organisational culture.
Being able to apply your knowledge and express your feelings. My manager(s) are open people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fun
Intern in Food Service Unit (Former Employee), Eastern CapeMay 1, 2013
Cons: 8 hours
Typical day at work: there was no steam, no electricity, we as correctional officials had go & cook at Mdantsane Correctional Centre.
What you have learned: to forgive, to respect, to be patient, to be wise in thinking, to comply and complain later.
Management: you must always have a second option, you have to be transparent to your sub-ordinates and – more... to your clients, you must be trustworthy.
The hardest part of the Job: Lots of complaints and shortage of stock( when orders are not received).
Most Enjoyable part of the job: when we receiving lots of compliments and when we going out of the center(prison). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISSIPLINE REQUIRED
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Current Employee), KITCHEN DUTYApril 8, 2013
Pros: paid lunch
Cons: normal hours
IF YOU DO NOT WORK TOGETHER WITH YOUR CO-WORKERS, THERE WILL BE NO DISSIPLINE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very productive at work
manager employee relations (Current Employee), cape town portevilleMarch 30, 2013
Pros: even forgot to take lunch
Cons: the way i enjoy my work i cannot even feel the longiness of hours
New things each day at work but they all based on sound and employee related work. I learned about how to interact act with stakeholders. the behaviour of the co-workers always needed to be monitored. The hardest part of the job is to apply discipline across the board even to your close and family workers and it is done successfully. The most enjoyable – more... is to interact with all stakeholders and to train employees on employee related policies and resolutions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-disrciminational workplace
HR Office (Current Employee), Kokstad, Kwazulu NatalMarch 25, 2013
Pros: provide lunch for myself
Cons: working 8 hours and only from monday to friday
Far work when you are able to do my things like for an example iam studies now at UNISA