Find companies:
Cosmo Prof
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Cosmo Prof Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers...Horrible Upper Management & Store Management
Store Manager (Former Employee), Freeport, IlJune 3, 2014
The customers that shopped with us were amazingly awesome people...however there is a lack of good customer service from all ends of the company. There are a good deal of things I view as ethically wrong but my definition and someone else's may be different. I enjoyed my job and loved my customers but the environment is to unstable and there is no real – more... management and no one ever gets terminated for poor customer service. Cosmo Prof's problem is they are still fresh and they don't know how to control what they have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with a friendy atmosphere.
Retail Sale Associate (Former Employee), Monroe, MIJune 2, 2014
Pros: perfect hours to work.
Cons: distance of how far it was from my house
A typical day at work would consist of greeting every customer that walks through the doors. Making sure that person feels welcomed, and asking them if they need any assistance in finding anything today. I learned how to tag keep track of inventory, take care of shipment. Also would take care of customer orders and make sure they were ready when they – more... were picking them up. The most enjoyable part of my was interacting with all the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to expand your knowledge in professional beauty products
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNJune 2, 2014
Pros: free professional products
Cons: stand all day and shipment
it is busy job with lots of projects to do plus make customers happy all the time and there's shipment to put away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too little pay for the workload and hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), North CarolinaMarch 23, 2014
Pros: employee discounts on products
Cons: pay far too low, terrible upper management
Pay was not much, $8.50 an hour (minimum wage is $7.25 here), and they will work you to death. I was full time and each month I was scheduled to work 10 days in a row, 8-10 hours a day, but wasn't paid overtime because of how I was scheduled so that it wouldn't be over 40 hours in *their* workweek, legal but sneaky and made it impossible to have much – more... any personal life at all, and very exhausting. Co-workers were nice enough, but the manager was very micromanaging, immature, drama queen and condescending towards staff. Hardest part of the job was the poor manager. Learned about new products. Most enjoyable part of the job was the original staff I started out with (who started leaving once they'd had enough, there is a high turnover rate). After six months you get a 19 cents and hour raise, which isn't even a cost of living raise, and you don't get another raise for another year after that - and it's another 19 cents. I'd recommend working as a waitress (which I've done) over this place, you'll make much better money and it's about as physical. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and clean store
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Brandon, FLFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: discounts on products.
Cons: wages were $11, 000/yr for full time, had to pay for health care that i never used, worked us very hard with not many breaks and didn't pay us mileage to go to the bank for deposits.
A typical day at work would be to open the registers by counting the money for each drawer and getting the store ready for opening by checking anything that needs stocked. You would answer the phones and help customers with their salon needs and go to the bank before11:30am. You would unload the truck on Tuesdays with many baskets onto the floor. You – more... would work non-stop getting items on the shelf and check customers out whenever needed. I learned many things about the health and beauty retail and I was training for assistant managers position. The management was decent at best. My co-workers worked very hard and they were very kind. The hardest part of the job was long hours with very little pay. The most enjoyable part of the job was customer service with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, horrible management
Cashier (Former Employee), Hamilton, NJFebruary 21, 2014
On a typical day I would start up the cash registers, and make sure both registers had the correct amount of money in them. Throughout the day I would straighten shelves, add inventory to shelves where needed, check customers out, process credit cards, and make customer orders.
The manager was not the best. She would talk about the other employees to – more... one particular person about job performance. Instead of informing the employee the task wasn't done correctly she would complain to another employee about it and make them do it again. The manager also made a lot of personal phone calls during store hours.
I didn't have any issues with my co-workers. They were generally nice and hard working.
There was no part of the job that was particularly hard to do.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I was running the store by myself, and dealing with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun, great first job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Huntington Beach, CAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: not good pay for the work that went into this job.
A typical work day was clock in, look at your tasks for the day, take a look at breaks and lunches. What I learned was that there are going to be people who are hard to deal with, but you have to keep calm and be very patient with them and they will be patient with you. Management was not very professional at all. Didn't like it, but i am sure it could – more... have been worse. Felt ganged up by my managers that they would set me up for failure then talk to me about what i did wrong and not let me know when they saw me doing something right. Co-workers were friendly, very nice. Got a long with all of them.
Hardest part of the job was learning to be patient in what you needed. The most enjoyable part of the job was just being there and helping people when they needed help or had a question. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with perks and benefits.
Customer Service (Current Employee), Austintown, OHFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: discounts
Greeting customers as soon as they walk through the door. Helping them out with questions about products.

Just recently I have had the pleasure of meeting our new manager. It takes hard work and dedication from other co-workers and myself to make the day run smoothly and efficient.

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing I helped a customer – more... with his or her needs. Making someone smile! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Corona, CaJanuary 22, 2014
A typical day at work included greeting customers, handling the cash register, stocking shelves and cleaning.
My manager was amazing and dedicated to teaching us how to be the best employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very fun to work at
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Hayward, caDecember 19, 2013
Pros: lots of free products
Cons: the salary or pay
ring up customers and work with hair products most of the day. I learned a lot on this job. I learned how to do scheduling, training, product knowledge, and how to do a managers report each week and for the month. I learned how to do inventory and how to check all the shipment that came to the store weekly. The hardest part was the shipment a lot of – more... merchandise came into the store and needed to be put away prompt. The most enjoyable was being able to use the products and have a lot of product knowledge on entire inventory of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Retail Sales Rep (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VADecember 9, 2013
I loved the hours and management at this job. I learned so much about the industry and it really was very interesting to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure who to blame....
Sales Representative (Former Employee), West Seneca, NYDecember 5, 2013
I thought at this job I would be learning a ton of new awesome stuff. But it seems like all I was ever allowed to do was stock shelves and not ask questions. I do not want to blame the company because it seems like they do want their employees to have fun and be knowledgeable about what they are selling. But the store manager I worked for would constantly – more... withhold information from her staff. Communication was practically frowned upon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a easy job but it wasnt enough of a challege for me
Cashier (Former Employee), Milford, CTOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good emplyees.
Cons: the management smoked in the building
my co-workers were amazing they made the job worth wild. Management was bad they were more worried about there own personal life then with the store. they smoked inside the building and refused to stop even after being told it bothered the employee's. the hardest part of my job was dealing with the managers. the most enjoyable was the team member's. – more... I learned that some people will listen to you but will not care what you are saying and that's when you have to make the choice if the job is right for you or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy but stressful work
INSIDE SALES- (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: free trial product
Cons: had very limited bathroom breaks.
I would help customers. Customers always come first, and then i would start my daily list. Which ranged from stocking to rearanging the store completely. I loved my coworker, but my Boss stressed me out to the max. I felt the management was run extremely poorly. But i did learn alot about retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: the product and friends i made!
Cons: bad managment
I dealt with hair dresses, so it was always a fun environment. Made a lot of close friends with the customers and with my employees. We were always smiling and laughing. The district manager was a little rough to work with but definitely a lesson learned!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dalton, GAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: the hours and the rewards
Cons: the pay rate
I learned a lot about hair and hair prroducts. The management team and the co-workers are good people to work with. The hardest part of that job was being able to learn so much then be ready to sell any product to the customer yet explain how they are saving money and still work better for their customers. The most enjoying part of the job for me was – more... being able to greet my customers everyday with a positive attitude knowing i did my best to help them save money everytime they wallked out the door. i was told that i could sell a bald man a good comb and brush lol or some good clippers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, and very quiet environment.
Sales rep (Former Employee), Willistion VtJune 14, 2013
Pros: hour lunch breaks
Cons: no benifits
I ran the store alone most of time, while my boss did stuff outside the store. I ran the registers and cleaned up the store and kept people happy. My boss and I had a very professional relationship that we could laugh and I could tell her almost everything. What I like the most about working there Is she would compliment me when I was doing things right – more... and wrong which was hardly ever. The hardest part of the job was working alone and working 12 hours a day that was the not so enjoyable part. Overall it was a awesome job!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Give it 2 stars
Work cashier (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 10, 2013
would not work with me about going back to school and had experience to be assistant manager but the manager or district manager did not want me to be assistant manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Roselle, ILMay 24, 2013
I was a sales associate and worked with about 3 other people, including my manager. I would recommend products to customers and stock items, as well as place and accept orders, take inventory, and set up sections of the store according to plan-o-grams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge mess in many ways.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Eau claire, WIMarch 23, 2013
Pros: free trial products
Cons: not very good management
Always a huge mess with the schedules , even though the DM supposedly gets sent one, it actually needs to be looked at better, or maybe the TM needs a copy also. We are staffed with people that can only work between 10 and 15 hours per week. It hardly replaces the 35 and 40 hour people that we lost. Scrubbing the floor and dusting seem to be the top – more... priority. – less