Cost Plus World Market Employee Reviews

Found 325 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Job if you are up for the task
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CAJanuary 15, 2017
There are many things to do as an employee so you have to be prepared. The managers, in my experience, are professional and very friendly. They are there when you have any questions or if you are dealing with a very upset customer. My advice is to start out during the season (Halloween preferably) and work hard. Pay attention to the employee manual, study the little note pad they give you, and walk in with a smile, and eyes on the customers as if they were your personal guest and you were the host. Pick up any merchandise that's on the floor, or just not in it's spot, answer any questions you can, and if you find yourself with nothing to do, the floors will never not need to be swept. It's a good job, but requires a lot of multi-tasking and patience. Good luck!
Pros
Great experience, lots of fun things to look at (merchandise), and a great team
Cons
I never had eight hour shifts, and some customers are impossible to please
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work !
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 12, 2017
Best place i have ever worked ! I met so many people from all over the world and learned so much about other cultures. I got to learn about foods and fun from around the globe. Nothing bad to say about my time at World Market.
Pros
discount, wine testings, food testings, the people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Keizer, ORJanuary 11, 2017
Typical day went by very quickly. Management was poor, not much direction, get told to do something by one manager and then told to do something else 5 minutes later by a different one, got let go with no warning, reason, or notification to look for work elsewhere, very unprofessional. The customers were the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Discount and the customers.
Cons
Poor and unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attracts great customers, fellow employees are great, but very rough as you advance
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 9, 2017
Customers are as wonderful and eclectic as the products! The employees you will work with tend to be amazing as well. When you start to work your way up and understand upper management, things get really rough. It is a corporation so things are very, very corporate. Creativity the company used to let thrive is diminishing quickly because of that. Managers tend to overlook personal needs of their store in order to meet corporate demands, which puts pressure on everyone ESPECIALLY middle management. I'd recommend this job for anyone who would like something fun that is part time or if you know you can walk into a general management position. If you are the middle man, at all, you will carry the weight of the entire store and the constant movement, demands, customer issues, etc that comes with it.
Pros
Great customers, awesome discount, eclectic environment, fun coworkers
Cons
short breaks, corporate regime, wears you down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 9, 2017
Great place to work! This company has great teams regardless of location! When walking in the door, you are instantly greeted by our staff! In addition, no other store has as many unique gift and home ideas! Working at World Market is fun which makes the time go fast! We get a great discount on all the neat stuff in our store as well as Bed, Bath and Beyond and Buy Buy Baby!
Pros
Great discounts, good breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAJanuary 8, 2017
Hard work and a horrible store manager. Customer service is lacking and if you try to make better they don't support you. Love what the brand stands for but the leadership should be better. DM isn't involved and does nothing with the employees to make them better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting retail
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAJanuary 7, 2017
Very enjoyable work experience with a well trained staff. Learned so much and tried so many different positions. Management was a bit obscure but overall and at the end much more reasonable.
Pros
Balanced scheduling
Cons
Certain bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood Heights, UTJanuary 7, 2017
A typical day at World Market was filled with laughs, helping customers, and learning something new. Management was the best. I learned a lot about customer service, how to build furniture, approach problems from different angles, how to design/organize displays and about products from so many countries. Honestly the only hard part was dealing with difficult customers.
Pros
Aware of sales a week in advance, employers discount, decent break time, good coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace!
Cashier & Stocker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 5, 2017
Every team member that works here are amazing. It's like having another family when at work. Everyone is always helpful and I recommend applying. Definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place...nice and friendly people
Order Filler/Picker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, VAJanuary 4, 2017
Everyday at cost plus is a good work place to build. I learn how to work with people more. Cost plus is a very clean and a very safe place too work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Cost Plus World Market?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could've been better
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJanuary 3, 2017
Typical day at work was helping shoppers find an item or help check them out at the cash register. Although I was not fond of the way management worked it was still an enjoyable job that had great coworkers.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
No benefits and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly a market of the world
Furniture Head (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 30, 2016
Received all trucks
Worked with employees of wide diversities
Good management
A typical day.....no such thing at World Market
Christmas time is the busiest of the year.
Pros
scheduled breaks and lunches
Cons
healthcare, 401k
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good discount, about it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Englewood, CODecember 26, 2016
Worked really hard, but all higher up positions, other than stock manager, were seemingly more reserved for female employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and nice people to work with
Associate (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaDecember 25, 2016
work load in very heavy in anticipation for what is needed in the next days work load. inventory control and customer service interaction with customers and vendors. management is less then can be expected and needs a shake up. Love my coworkers we all work as a cohesive team. hardest part is the customer interaction being able to balance what is right and what is expected. hiring new associates and the interview process...
Pros
stable place, good employees to work with.
Cons
low salary, no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 20, 2016
its a nice place to work. I enjoyed the people and the atmosphere and the managers made it a comfortable working environment. i would have stayed if i didn't have family health issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a great job for young people!
Main Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, CADecember 20, 2016
you start as a cashier and when the managers believe you can do more they put you in your desired position or a position that suits you best. You learn valuable skills if retail is the path you want to go down.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
short breaks, not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time after school job
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 18, 2016
Very friendly environment. Easy going and flexible hours. The employee all seem to get along and consumers are always surprised of how clean the store looks; very fascinated first timers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Night Stock Crew (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CADecember 14, 2016
Management is patient and my coworkers are always willing to help. It is a laid back environment yet full of hard workers. I also appreciated management being understanding of my schedule when I had to work two jobs.
Pros
Free bagels in the morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in amd great customer interraction
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 4, 2016
As a cashier i saw lots of customers daily. Worked as a cashier and cook. Worked in the priduce and meat department. Kept up with daily chores as instructed. Looking to learn more on other fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy schedules and ragged workers
Stock Crew (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZDecember 2, 2016
Stock crew were expected to perform manual labor starting at 3:00 in the morning, stock during day hours with customers, and act as a customer service representative. This was not just during your stock shift, but also during daylight hours when they would schedule you for work midday. The skillsets are not the same, and it is impossible to develop any reasonable sleep schedule due to changing shifts. Plenty of minumum wages jobs are cushier and healthier for your mental.
Pros
Cool management
Cons
Cold, customers, schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cost Plus World Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7

Cost Plus World Market Reviews by Location