Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 2,885 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mindless job but a lot of physical work
Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 25, 2017
The jobs themselves are easy. However management makes it a lot more complicated then it needs to be. Theres no planning a head of time. Payroll is always short no matter what department. Managers are scheduled ten hour days but stay 12, come in on their days off, and come in on holidays.
Pros
great pay/benefits
Cons
inexperienced mangement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work pace and abusive customer service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMay 25, 2017
Costco takes care of its employees if your there for longer than 10 years basically. Managment is very demanding and not very understanding. Very busy everyday with lack of remorse.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and terrific Benefits
Membership and Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 25, 2017
If you are looking for a company with growth opportunities then Costco is you place. They offer support to the worker and a dynamic work place. Great place to work!!
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco
Customer Service Front End (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXMay 25, 2017
The location was fast paced and always busy. Scheduling was flexible. Employees were friendly. Overall it was a good place to work and I would recommend it to friends.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Pallet Jack Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GeorgiaMay 25, 2017
Start of the day unloading trucks on the pallet jack, then assist inventory auditor to scan all inventory on the floor being shipped. Safety committee member.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply to the Bakery!
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXMay 24, 2017
bakery life was too difficult and the management was messy. They didn't train me at all and expected me how to work the ovens. I had to close all the time by myself which was ridiculous because that is barely a two person job because there is so much to do. No one tries to help you out and they expect you to do everything at once. They treated me like a child and if I was stupid, but I would still apply to other departments because it is less stressful.
Pros
pay is amazing, hours vary
Cons
over worked, no help closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fast paced
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYMay 24, 2017
Costco is a great place but it is always moving those first weeks are crazy but go by very quick always being on the move. Management is cool and keep things moving great.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotion is within the company.
Receiving/Return to Vendor (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAMay 24, 2017
I find working at Costco extremely stressful. Higher management promotes employees to better positions through unfair preference treatment. There is no equal opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid job with good benefits
Food Merchandising / Front End (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAMay 24, 2017
Costco is a good company to work for and I enjoyed my time there. But the experiences may vary based on the competency of you mangers. I loved my job but had an awful. rude and un-organized GM.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and respectfull Place to work
Merchandising Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  MarylandMay 24, 2017
The member are the #1 at Costco.
You need to be on time, do not call out for no reason.
The benefice pack is really good.
Great place to work, always work hard and responsible and you will see the appreciation.
You have a strong open door hot line, I believe is fair for us employees if we need some help that we cant resolve with our managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and outstanding work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Merrillville, INMay 23, 2017
Great job to have while completing my college degree although the closing shifts 5 out of 5 days a week is not a beneficial factor for me to stay with the company.
Pros
Great pay vacation and benefits
Cons
Late shifts no good work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced working environment.
CASHIER ASSISTANT (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAMay 23, 2017
I really liked working at Costco Corona. Management was great and employees are productive. So sorry it was just a seasonal position but I would work there again any time.
Pros
Free lunches for the holidays
Cons
Hard to find a parking close to the building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Retail Solar Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kapolei, HIMay 23, 2017
Great place to work. Very fast paced. Lots of benefits. I learned a lot about the retail industry. The leadership is very seasoned and does a great job training and supporting staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Cumming, GAMay 23, 2017
hard job at the food court, unacceptable management, too strict on closing, made me feel silly, inflexible, impossible to get days off in advance, and fired me for being sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Office Manager/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAMay 22, 2017
All interactions with Costco employees and customers were always pleasant. Each day at work was enjoyable and there was never anyone that seemed like they weren't having a good day. Working in a busy environment helped with customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTMay 22, 2017
I loved working here every one was so friendly and if you didn't know what you had to do someone is always willing to help. The pay is perfect for a beginner
Pros
You have the choice of a cosco card
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Photo Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Westlake Village, CAMay 21, 2017
Good company even for part time work due to the fact that you receive health benefits and 401K. You can transfer to another location in the event you have to relocate.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
depends on Supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College Job
Gas Attendant (Current Employee) –  Fort Oglethorpe, GAMay 21, 2017
Works well with school schedule, but other than that, hours suck. Advancement is difficult, and efforts often go unrecognized. Management here is not optimal. There are a couple good managers.
Pros
Good pay for retail, great benefits
Cons
Most managers, hours/schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Deli associate (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 20, 2017
Challenging work load
demands need to be met
Friendly staff & management
Decent flexibility in schedule
Hardest part is not slowing down or you will fall behind in work
Pros
Great benefits for full time or part time employees
Cons
Need years of seniority to move up in management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Tire Sales Technician (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KSMay 20, 2017
Working at Costco is great, the benefits are fantastic and they are very flexible with scheduling, especially if you are a student. It starts off part time ans is slow to get bumped up to full time.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Dealing with over spoiled members
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,052 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0