Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay rate an time schedule
Night Stocker (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDOctober 21, 2017
I worked nights mostly for 13 dollars an hour and it was great because my schedule never got mixed up with my school schedule. I also liked how the employees respected each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Food Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cordova, TNOctober 20, 2017
I provided excellent customer service serving drinks, pizza, hot dogs. I learned how to work the register. Management was fair and accommodating if we needed time off. It was a good place to work, people were friendly. The hardest part of the job was when the lines get long, you hustle more, whuich I feel is part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was receiving my pay.
Pros
An occasional smile from customers
Cons
not being able to keep up with the lines sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company Great benefits
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaOctober 20, 2017
costco is a great place to work for. great benefits which are the reason most stay as well as the good pay. sometime management sucks but that can be anywhere. Overall a Great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYOctober 19, 2017
This has been absolutely the worst place to ever work for. It is the most dysfunctional and bipolar set of managers and supervisors I have ever worked for. I wouldn't even recommend this job to a homeless person.
Pros
Nothing outside of a paycheck which isn't that good anyway
Cons
Worst managers and supervisors you can imagine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work day
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 19, 2017
fast paced day at work
learned new products
very busy
enjoyed greeted every customer and helping them throughout the store with their shopping experience in our store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, fast environment
Membership Representative (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYOctober 19, 2017
A work day is extremely fast paced, but the pay is rewarding (especially if it's a first or second part time job). People, management are friendly but there seem to be "too many cooks in the kitchen" and it becomes difficult to listen to all of the managers and supervisors at once. No discounts for employees, but free memberships are offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fast paced with lots of work
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAOctober 18, 2017
Work was busy and stressful.
Learned a lot about retail management
Hardest part of job was dealing with customer complaints and appeasing management at the same time
Pros
Decent pay and meet lots of interesting people
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTOctober 18, 2017
Costco makes it enjoyable for employees while working. I've learned exceptional member service, how to maintain my time, how to drive sales and how to work independently or as a team. Costco is a fast paced company, which teaches their employees how to work sufficiently and in a timely manner.
Pros
Benefits, free membership, enjoyable atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress but good pay
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Littleton, COOctober 18, 2017
Costco does know how to treat their employees right. Right off the bat they are one of the best out their when it comes to starting pay and they go above and beyond with their benefits which more then makes up for the havoc that the swarm of members cause everyday.
Pros
good pay, good benefits
Cons
Chaotic, too many levels of managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mo ey and benefits are good
Baker (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAOctober 18, 2017
The money was good. Is the only thing good about Costco now. Since him sinagel stepped down its been downhill . They have there favorites for advancement . It's all politics at costco.
Pros
Pay is goid
Cons
Management is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Creative Home Remedies Interior Design (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CAOctober 17, 2017
Fair company. Only worked part time. Empoyees and customers are friendly. Jobs are high paced and keep you on your toes. Must have good customer service skills.
Pros
Clean environment. Enjoy customer interaction.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding but good wages
Cashier, and helped stock merchandise (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAOctober 17, 2017
Unfortunately there is no discount, we just get a free 2% costco wholesale membership card while we work there and can put up to 3 more people on our account.
Pros
free membership, time and a half on sundays
Cons
never a consistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a great place to work
Cashier, Stocking, Customer Service,supervisor (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIOctober 17, 2017
It was alright but I resigned due to health and many other issues! There isn't anything else to say about working there, it was very stressful. The employees were fantastic but the workplace itself was to much.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Need better management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coscto wholesale
Ranned the floor cleaner (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 17, 2017
Costco wholesale is a fast and quick to workplace
what I learned at Costco wholesale was you need to be fast at what you are doing that day and understanding all the safely
Pros
Part time for a couple years
Cons
great people and family cared
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, fast paced workplace
Bakery Wrapper (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTOctober 16, 2017
We do the same things everyday. Wrap baked good, stocked shelves, answered phones. Management just cares about their bonuses and just sets us up to fail everyday at work. The hardest part of my job would be the managers always setting me up to fail and leaving me with thousands of things to do at night before we close so then I would be there till 11 still doing things. I didn't enjoy the job due to the lack of management.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
short breaks, managers don't care about their jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really care for the employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXOctober 16, 2017
they really take care of their employees and customers and just everyone this is a wonderful company to work for. If my job wasn't seasonal I would still be there today.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Temp Worker (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAOctober 16, 2017
Overall Costco was a fun place to work. Breaks are a big thing, and the managers don't over work you to hard. Pretty easy laid back and occasionally free lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going work environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Elkridge, MDOctober 15, 2017
fast pace when busy, busy overall easy working environment. enhance your customer service experience, improve your people skills, and teaches you about securing data and information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment at work
Meat Department Clerk (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYOctober 15, 2017
Great teamwork and excellent management, its really a nice place to work
Pros
Private Insurrance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIOctober 15, 2017
Awesome company that cares for its employees. You will not end up doing the job you were hired into, though. Expect to take part in most aspects and positions within the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,941 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0