Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 3,013 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail on a larger scale
Cashiers assistant (Former Employee) –  Avon, MAJune 24, 2017
This job is similar to a standard retail store, except for the larger sizes/quantities of items. Wider range of people use the store and it can be difficult to adjust to different types of orders. Everything had to be exact and mistakes were corrected quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAJune 24, 2017
I learned a lot of speed and accuracy working here. Some of the management can be a hag. It is a fast paced moving work establishment. great job to have.
Pros
good pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job while in school
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Parker, COJune 23, 2017
I’ve expanded my skills in time management, organization, communication, and coordination. However, the compensation before investing at least 10 years in Costco is very low.
Pros
Vacation and personal days
Cons
extremly demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Morning Merchant Stocker (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 23, 2017
Costco was an amazing company to work for, great opportunities and benefits as well as a fun friendly environment. I was young and irresponsible during my employment and I wish I could work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you never get bored there is always something to do
cashier, customer service (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAJune 23, 2017
you know how some jobs can be a little boring during slow hour, well not Costco there is always something to do whether its packing someones groceries doing go backs or helping in the food court is it an amazing opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  North Plainfield, NJJune 22, 2017
Great Company to work for, but management can be the cancer for the work place. There aren't much room to improve or move up in older warehouse, maybe new ones.
Pros
Free membership, Benefits
Cons
Hard to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJune 22, 2017
when working at Costco, i learned that it was a very diverse company and they really cared and care for not only their customers but their employees too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Goleta, CAJune 22, 2017
great place to work, great pay, management benefits. goleta location is overall the best work place. GREAT hours everyone works together, if you see an opening i highly recomend giving it a shot at applying, you will not regret it.
Pros
EVERYTHING else
Cons
cant miss work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Disconnect
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAJune 22, 2017
While the culture is somewhat relaxed, their is a survival mode ongoing. You could go at any moment. Granted, I was a seasonal employee, however, I sensed stress in those who were their awhile.
It is very stressful, and people don't seem particularly happy, and that is why I give a 3 stars for the life/work balance.
Pros
It is casual
Cons
A lot of disconnect, and impersonal nature between employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockwall, TXJune 21, 2017
Great place to work. The company's motto basically is "we take care of our employee's so they'll take care of our customers". Great job ops and very competitive wages.
Pros
great work atmosphere
Cons
had to drive 38 miles to closest store
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Cypress, CAJune 21, 2017
never sit and never depend on any one here but your self. Hard work and dedication is what they want. other than that its a good place for people who are going to school
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people to work for.
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 21, 2017
I was with Costco for more than 16 years. Worked in different departments around the store and enjoyed them all. Really great company and they hire good people, which makes for a positive work experience.
Pros
Really good people and benefits.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and fast-paced work environment
FRONT END SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJune 20, 2017
A typical day at Costco is very busy, but it helped me learn how to manage my time better. You also meet many different people, from customers to co-workers, which helps with developing better customer service skills. The best part of the job was the fast work pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company to work for
Night Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MT 59808June 20, 2017
Costco is a fun company to work for, they treat their employees well. The main problem is it is hard to get a job there because employees enjoy working there so much that many will stay until they are able to retire.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WAJune 20, 2017
Great company but the hours are not very good for family life. You are guaranteed 24 hours a week but you will be required to work 5 days a week no matter if you are part time or full time. The employees are great but there is a lot of favoritism there so it can make it harder to move up at times. Also the concrete floors make it hard on your body after working there for many years.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Not condusive to family life
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Merchandise Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mt. Laurel, NJJune 20, 2017
Great benefits, great company, room for advancement. Friendly work environment. Great break room and free membership as well as membership for up to four friends or family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and busy
FOOD COURT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNJune 20, 2017
Always on your feet. Making pizzas, running/assisting the cashiers in the food court area. Prep in the morning is fun. You get to make all the salads, chicken bakes, sandwiches, and make any other prep for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has its ups and downs.
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAJune 19, 2017
i used to work here as a seasonal in oct 2016 to jan 2017. ther is a lot of drama and bull some of the managers were ok but there was one in particular i hated. the co workers were awesome but the members sometimes sucked. the members can be rude and act like they are better then everyone. i only noticed this recurring pattern with the executive members. the place is packed on sundays its hard to maneuver around. the stress is nuts. the hardest part would be front end. which is what i was. i did enjoy the co workers and the freebies.
Pros
good pay. great benefits
Cons
sort breaks and to much drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Issaquah, WAJune 19, 2017
Family oriented company. Everyone knows each other. Great once you get your foot in the door. Lots of growth opportunities in different areas, lots of mentorship opportunities.
Pros
Stability, job security
Cons
Lower compensation than other industries in corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and structure
Merchandising/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Chico, CAJune 19, 2017
The company cares for its employees well but you are expected to work hard. The structure of the management can feel bloated as you may answer to multiple people, which can feel like a waste.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,222 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0